We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending an event at the convention center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Duluth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Attending an event at the convention center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this property and were quite happy with the experience. The staff was very accommodating and provided everything we needed when asked. The breakfast was delicious and more than is usually served at hotels that offer free breakfast. The property is located within close proximity of the Historic District, several restaurants, and across the street from the beach.
Room was nice size, beds comfortable. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were away from the street side so noise was not noticed. However we were there in December and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful response about a recent stay with us. Many of our guests enjoy our fresh waffle maker! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your future travels to Jekyll!

"Proving Southern Hospitality Still Exists"
Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    69
    46
    34
    46
See reviews for
91
62
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by without reservations off season. The room was cheap and across the street from the beach. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Room was worn, but I felt it was clean enough. Had a very strong musty smell (old and at the beach), but it didn't bother me much. I felt perfectly safe the entire time. Free breakfast, free wi-fi, and a fridge in the room finished the bargain.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Jennifer C, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about a recent stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your great experiences and hope to see you on your return trip.

"Proving Southern Hospitality Still Exists"

Sincerely,
Deborah Exum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Inside room temp was over 80 degrees! I complained a total of 3 times, but each time I only received an excuse. This hotel uses the outdated "chiller system" of heat & a/c. Every room is somewhat controlled by the front desk. You have NO independent control of the air temp in your room. The outside air was cool, so the "chiller system" was set to blow only "warm to hot" air. So if you like a cooler room, you are out of luck on a cooler evening. Every room gets the same choices. Our room was HOT all night long. Very frustrating!! On Saturday morning I complained again at the front desk, and the lady told me that I was the 3rd complaint that morning about hot rooms!! She said that unless the outside air temperature increased, the "chiller system" would not be lowered for the entire day. I was forced to spend my entire 3 days in a warm/hot room, with no control of any kind. This system needs to be updated.
The hotel is old, but clean. Updates need to be made all over the property.
Jekyll Island has so many hotels, and this one does not measure up. I purchased this room on Hotwire.com. They had high recommendations for this location. I disagree!

Room Tip: Get a room with full heat and a/c control....not the ones on the "chiller system". We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Marv024- I am truly sorry that you were given excuses rather than actions to rectify your issue while staying at our hotel. Contrary to your belief, our front desk does not have control over the temperature of your room. That temperature is controlled by the temperature control setting in each individual suite. Rather than each room having a separate condensing unit, we do operate on a larger scale unit; however, each room has individual air handlers. Our system is very far from being outdated. A new 35 ton Carrier Unit was installed May 2011. This system is very similar to what hospitals utilize because it deals with humidity more efficiently. Again, I want to apologize for the misinformation you were given and I have discussed this matter with my staff. We hope to have you return for an uneventful stay with us again in the future. - Deborah Exum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I describe this hotel as "older but not trying to hide it." I think that sometimes reviewers have unrealistic expectations on what they get for what they pay. We had a very nice stay here. I think for under $100 on Jekyll Island getting a clean, one bedroom apartment was a darn good deal. Yes, the hotel is older and the furnishings are older but were in fine condition. I thought the breakfast was very nice with many options. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful. If I return to Jekyll I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a one bed room apartment. I couldnt believe how big and nice it was. We really liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was absolutely GREAT! They meet my requirements with no hassle from staff. We'd asked for two rooms next to one another and for them to be on the first floor...they made it work.There was a mix up with my card for double payment but it was fixed within 24 hours. I would say this..they really need to upgrade a few things. Jekyll is considered a resort island so this hotel need to upgrade a few things. The tubs are not something I would call in good shape. I stayed at some Quality Inn hotels that were twice as nice. Also, there should be a tv in every room in the two bedroom suite. These are just my opinion. There a few other negative things but I will past on describing. Overall it is an average hotel but should be more up to date for Jekyll. The staff was GREAT!

Room Tip: Be sure to see if there is a more updated suite if you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your response about a recent stay with us. Updates and Upgrades are coming- keep an eye on us as we grow. We truly appreciate you sharing your experiences and hope to see you on your return trip.

"Proving Southern Hospitality Still Exists"

Sincerely,
Deborah Exum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Two large bedrooms and a pull out couch in the sitting area; small kitchen, but adequate. TV. On ground floor. Free breakfast which is average for all motels these days. I would stay here again. The price was definitely right for all of us in the party. We were four senior citizens celebrating our friendship over the past 40 years. Were previous college roommates.

Room Tip: Nothing unique about this place. Like all the rest of motels, but was clean and a good location on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a wandering trip thru Florida, we decided to visit Jekyll Island. We looked on TripAdvisor and saw the reviews.. All of the hotels have good and bad ones.. But for the price paid and the size of the room.. (we looked before we paid for the room) We chose to stay at the Quality Inn & Suites. We had a large one bedroom suite with a full size kitchen. Our room was very clean and smelled fine. We chose to leave our door propped open for a few hours and of course it began to smell a little humid. But I understand I am in South Georgia in a hotel made of blocks that is about 50 plus years old. As long as the room is closed and air is running the room smelled fine. Across the street from the beach, free hot breakfast, (loved the blueberry waffles), and we saved $30 cheaper than any of the other hotels on the island. I think we made the right choice. It is definately not the Ritz but who can afford to stay there for 4 days. Not my family.
The staff at this hotel made me feel like I was visiting friends. I have never felt such an inviting and welcoming atmosphere. Yes, the hotel is older. Yes, it is clean. Yes, it is across the street from the beach. So if you need an affordable place to sleep and want to be on an island with good people.. visit Jekyll Island and choose to stay at the Quality Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: One Bedroom suites are worth the upgrade they are huge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.- Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 700 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Jekyll Island
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.