We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jekyll Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jekyll Island Campground
Save
You added Jekyll Island Campground to your Saves list
1197 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Land O Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The campground is very rustic. It is a well shaded, but as a result, dirt and leaves abound. There is virtually no privacy as you are backed up to people as well as beside people. Thankfully we travelled with a screen room (which I would highly recommend) as the mosquitos are out from dawn to dusk. Very convenient to beach areas. The island itself is beautiful. Campground could use some amenities such as a pool. Did not check out the bath area as we were travelling in a fifth wheel. Staff was very friendly. This was definitely not a favorite for me, but for those of you that truly like to camp, those would be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This Campground is nice and unique. We've never camped in a campground that had spanish moss hanging everywhere from the tall tree canopies. We camped in a hybrid so I can't attest to the showers but the restrooms were relatively clean. We brought our kids and they had a blast riding their bikes all over the area with easy entrances to the seashell sidewalks of the Island. The campground staff was nice and the bird sanctuary added a lot. Horton House was very close by. It was a nice campground to be in with lot's of surrounding history and not more than 10 minutes by car to the beach access near the convention center. Our family with young children would definitely go again. We had a constant slight breeze so we had not issues with bugs. Very dog friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We love this campground... It is the best we have stayed in! Always feels comfortable, like home. My only complaint would be, not kid friendly, they need a pool or swing set at least. Don't bother going in the winter though unless you are over 60, it turns into an old folks village, and they will be ugly to your kids. A few are very nice though. Even with that said I still love this place!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was only able to spend one day and night at the Park, but the whole experience was great. the beaches, campground, and park in general was beautiful and well maintained. Mrs. Jean was our host at the campground, and she couldn't have been more welcoming. She helped us to the campsite, set us up with wood, information about the park, and even hooked us up with a lighter to start our fire. Great Host. The sunrises and sunsets on the driftwood beach are gorgeous. Only complaint is that it was a bit expensive to camp (6$ to get in the park and $21 dollars to camp), but it seems that they use the money well to maintain the park and hire great staff.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray: It is the Georgia coast after all. But with bug spray we didn't have too many p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons Falls, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I can't believe the amount of bugs and Mosquitos. Yuk! The campground is nice but it is hard to enjoy with all the bugs. We couldn't sit out without getting eaten alive. The pier was cool as was driftwood beach. Too bad bout the bugs. The staff was also very friendly. Probably won't be back due to the bugs, and also after two days of touring, there really isn't a lot to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently spent a weekend here tent camping with our family. The grounds are nice, facilities clean, location is great. I had made my reservation by phone and had already paid in full, so check in should have been a breeze. I walked in to the store/check in and found 3 girls working behind the counter. Two of them seemed to be working on a computer issue, and the other one was texting from her cell. Not one of them acknowledged me standing there directly in front of them. Finally I interupted the one with the cell and told her I needed to check in...though it was obvious..and she acted like I was bothering her. Once we were checked in, we found our campsite to be nice. Lots of kids, good family atmosphere. The light from the laundry room across from our site was a bit annoying, as we were in a tent and it was hard to sleep. We also found the security man who rode around on the golf cart to be a bit rude as he would ride around shining his flash light in the faces of guests. This seemed to be happening to everyone he passed not just us....maybe it's policy? All in all it's a ok place to camp. We enjoyed it. If the staff issues were corrected it would be great. We would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great campground, super employees and peace and quiet, too. We stayed in our Sprinter RV and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The mosquitos ARE the state bird of Georgia, but with the advice of locals to get Avon Skin So Soft bug repellant/sunscreen, we were fine. We had lunch at Fin's one day (just down the beach) and spent one day over at St. Simon's Island...lunch at Barbara Jean's, a great place. Also, don't miss the Sea Turtle Center!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jekyll Island Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Campground

Address: 1197 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Jekyll Island
Number of rooms: 199
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Campground Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.