We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel/restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 Including Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Covington, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and consider it a large part of the treat of going to the Georgia-Florida football game every year. While the hotel and staff are great, the restaurant is the real reason we visit. It is our favorite restaurant anywhere and we have been over about half the world. Actually we live outside Atlanta and have found no restaurant in Atlanta that compares. Stay at this hotel at least once, take dinner and the Sunday brunch buffet in the restaurant and you will find classic Southern charm and atmosphere like you see in magazines. Wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    154
    53
    39
    24
See reviews for
140
336
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After visiting Jekyll Island for the first time last year I HAD to stay at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. It was well worth the money and anticipation. The hotel and grounds are southern beauty at its finest! We sat on the veranda and enjoyed the view of the river and live oaks. The food was superb. Do not let the prices stop you from enjoying the breakfast buffet.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and wiling to help the guests. We enjoyed the shuttle service to the beach as well as having chairs and an umbrella set up for us (unlike having to lug everything with you if you are staying at the Hampton Inn). I recommend renting bikes and exploring the grounds. We spent half a day pedaling around the river side of the island.
My one complaint (sort of) was my surprise at the lack of concern when the bathroom vent/tile fell on me when we came in from dinner one night. Water was pooling above the vent and a previous patch job must have entailed sticking towels in the ceiling. The weight from the water soaked towels caused it to fall, a random coincidence that I walk in when it fell. We called the front desk to have someone address the issue. No one asked if I was o.k. and the wait time was quite long. Considering a huge liability issue, I thought having a vent/tile falling on guests would take priority. This issue would not stop me from returning.
I recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to unwind and take in the charms of the South.

Room Tip: Splurge to have a larger room. Our room was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Club Hotel is a bit pricey but we were able to take advantage of a 40% off special offer so our room was a "mid-level" accommodation in the exclusive Sans Souci which had a huge bedroom with a round turret and working fireplace, large bathroom, and expansive covered balcony on the second floor. The balcony is actually shared with the room next door but the occupants never came out there when we were there. Even if they had, it wouldn't have been a problem because the balcony was so big. Everything was extremely clean and well-maintained and every staff person, from the receptionist to the bell boy to the housekeeping staff to the restaurant staff to the grounds maintenance crew was friendly, helpful and extremely polite and courteous. There are several dining options: the Grand Dining Room where we had several breakfasts, a Sunday Brunch and afternoon Victorian Tea; Courtyard at Crane which serves Mediterranean inspired meals; Café Solterra which offers sandwiches, pizza, bagels & pastries (their version of "fast food") and the Pub, which was promoting Oktoberfest with some german-style fare (we opted for bratwurst with brown mustard and sauerkraut on a pretzel roll and delicious german potato salad) plus room service. There is also a bar and restaurant on the adjacent wharf. All of the food was delicious but the dinner we had at the Courtyard at Crane was extremely memorable--the filet mignon with lobster and Havarti mornay sauce literally melted in your mouth! It was a bit pricey--our bill came to $91 (and we didn't order any alcohol or wine) for 2 entrees which come with a salad and bread and 2 desserts--but well worth the splurge. Amenities are many and varied--there's a pool, bicycle rentals, tram tours of the historic area, horse-drawn carriage rides, trail rides along the beach and in the palm forest, 4 golf courses, a private beach pavilion with snack bar and scores of boat trips/charters and that's not all. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary with a 2nd honeymoon and this was the perfect place. Only one real complaint--if your are looking for quiet at night, avoid being there on the weekend. The noise from the live music at the bar on the wharf was overwhelming at times and one night we had to turn on the TV to drown it out in our room. There were also two weddings which produced a few loud, stumbling drunks on Saturday night that were interesting and entertaining to watch from our 2nd floor balcony but didn't really promote the romantic ambience we were trying to conjure on a perfect moonlit evening.

Room Tip: If you can splurge a little, try to get a room in Sans Souci which was originally built as a 6 apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Jekyll Island club Hotel for two nights at the start of a southern trip. While the room was small, it was clean, attractive,and richly colored. The lack of closet was made up with an armoire with a safe. The bathroom was big enough but lacked a fan. There were sufficient plugs for all the electronics and a decent size wide screen TV. The dining rooms (a separate, airy, round room for breakfast) were refined and provided wonderful Southern cuisine. There were several outdoor porches with long banks of rockers and seating to enjoy the Spanish moss and palm trips. There was a small but centrally located bar that beckoned a crowd. The exercise room was very disappointing. The equipment was old and the room was not air conditioned but serviced by several oscillating fans. There is an outdoor pool if you don't want to trek to the beach. It is a great spot to step back in bygone elegance and explore by foot the island's historic district with "cottages" inhabited by this country's millionaires and shop the neat boutiques with many local products.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house as people in other buildings complained about the walk for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The historic district on Jekyll island, including the hotel, hearkens back to the Gilded Age. Walking around the grounds, which are immaculate, and viewing the "cottages" made for a great afternoon. We enjoyed the ambiance immensely. Our room was in the main building and was very comfortable (although a bit small), with a lovely view of the water and entirely modern plumbing, The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is complimentary valet parking if you need it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a lovely experience we had at this historic hotel for one night. The grounds are beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful, and our dinner in the grand dining room was filled with southern charm and excellent food. This is a place to spend a day exploring a time gone by - steeped in history.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a view of the pool and the river/inlet beyond. Beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Yes the rooms are smaller, but ours was beautiful and clean. Perhaps we were in the renovated section of the hotel. We had a lovely view of the water and the grounds are perfectly groomed. We didn't eat in the hotel but loved the ambience of the property.

Room Tip: We called and asked for a room with a view. Off season now so you should get a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.