We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Lady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 Including Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Grand Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Like a grand old lady with grace and style that has only gotten better with age best describes the jekyll island club. If you love grand old hotels, , which I do, , this is a must destination Moss draped oaks grace the landscape, a croquet lawn and a pool, what more could you want. Sitting on the veranda in a rocking chair sipping a glass of sweet tea enjoying the salt air, ah not to be missed. ......

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    154
    52
    39
    24
See reviews for
139
330
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went last summer! It still has left a great impression on us. We just drove to Amelia Island for a visit. We passed by Jekyll Island and wished we would have went back to Jekyll. A very romantic island.
The Concierge was wonderful.... Very helpful. One of the bartenders in the little pub is very sweet. She has worked for the property for many years.

Things to change.. Beds and bedding. I felt like I was sleeping on my grandmothers bed with an old bedspread.

Needs a late night dinning option.

I felt like I was taken back in time staying at the Jekly Island Club Hotel. The staff seems so happy to be apart of the team. Kuddos to management.

Updated gift store items would be nice. A little more trendy and fun.

Offer a few more resort activites during the day and eveing.

Bathrooms could be updated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I have returned to this hotel every summer for more than 5 years. The charm, the location, the service--all of it plays a role in our annual return. The staff is extremely attentive, and the food is wonderful (expensive, but it's worth checking out the Crane Cottage at least once). Rent a bike and spend a day pedaling around the island, go to the beach, hit a few balls at the golf course--you will find something you love. It's true that the old building has its quirks: there are weird creaks and the rooms come in all sizes with no apparent standard, and if you go in the summer the air conditioning with battle with the heat and humidity to keep you cool, but there's always the pool for that. Take the afternoon tour of the building to learn about the hotel's history, and if you're in the area for a few days, try to take a trip to Cumberland Island to see even more examples of the era when the Rockefellers and Carnegies (among others) used the coast of Georgia as a playground.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Fantastic architecture, history, and furnishings. Friendly, professional staff. Shopping, location, grounds - it couldn't have been better! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding in May, 3 days Friday through Sunday. The grounds large, well manicured, and beautiful. The hotel was comprised of many very old turn off the century buildings set apart and converted into hotel rooms and public spaces. It looked by far to be the nicest hotel on the island and had many amenities. For the price rooms left a lot to be desired, ours had paint and paste coming off the wall, fixtures were aged and very plain, our air conditioner didn't shut off for three days and room never reached 73 degrees. I recommend renting a bike and pedaling around the island for a couple of hours it was gorgeous. In all this was a beautiful hotel with a lot of history but for the money I didn't think the value was there for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I LOVE the Jekyll Island Club! My husband and I visit every year with our best friends to "just get away". The Sunday breakfast (get reservations) is a must as is a stroll through the Millionaires Village. The Easter Egg Hunt is perfect for children...and fun for the adults, as well! I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: *ask for a room facing the river *this is NOT a beachfront property....but they do have a shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

All that you need is a bathing suites, running shoes, and one or two dresses. For the guys that love golf bring your clubs the courses are some of the finest to play. Side pool bar make crazy good chicken salad, and the drinks are made with a smile. The grounds are amazing and the history makes it more memorable. Take a long weekend or a week either way you will relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.