We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J P Morgan was right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 with Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“J P Morgan was right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Yes, JP made a good decision when he and his buddies got together and bought Jekyll Island during The Gilded Age. The fact that the subsequent owners of the Jekyll Island Club had the good taste to preserve its refined elegance is also fabulous.

What can I say? I think the Jekyll Island Club is wonderful from any perspective. I should however say, in the interest of full disclosure, that the Southeast is one of my favorite areas and the fin-de-siecle is one of my favorite historical periods. I also love preserved, beautiful buildings, so consider the source here. That being said, the location of the Jekyll Island Club is great: an easy hour's drive from Jacksonville and only a short bike ride--the island's only 1.5 miles wide--from the uncrowed ocean-side beaches. The local restaurants are also nice for a change of pace: sit outside by the salt marsh with a beer at sunset or have some shrimp and grits at a good local place.

The hotel itself is extraodinary. So much of it's original structure and turn of the century elegance has been preserved (Our room still had its original double hung windows!), but it's still extremely comfortable, e.g., there's an elevator if you need it. The staff "meets or exceeds" the high overall standard of excellence: unfailingly helpful, pleasant and courteous. The pool and the pool bar are great as well. I hope it's apparent that the sooner I get back to the Jekyll Island Club (hopefully with my grandkids), the happier I'll be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    173
    56
    40
    24
See reviews for
147
373
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a magnificent, peaceful, luxurious place to stay! We had a gorgeous room in Cherokee cottage. We ate in Crane restaurant for two nights and had a really lovely waitress both nights. The food was fab. Breakfast in the grand dinning room was a treat and the staff very friendly. The pastries and coffee in the little cafe were delicious. I have not stayed anywhere before where I have felt so relaxed and peaceful. The beautiful trees festooned with Spanish moss and the jasmine lined pathways were idyllic. There is so much to do at the club house hotel. The trolly tour gives you a good insight into the history of the club house and you can view two of the 'cottages' in the grounds- one owned by the Rockerfeller family. There is also the turtle centre which is well worth a visit. The pool and bar are great place to relax after a bike ride or walk. The staff were helpful, especially Jenny ( I think her name was) who was very helpful when needing to print off directions to the condominium we were heading to on the next stage of our trip. We look forward to staying here again - soon I hope!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Jekyll Island Club is a truly beautiful property and just oozes history. Once a retreat for America's ultra rich, the facilities are now owner by the Jekyll Island Authority and privately operated. While stating there recently as part of a conference, I was surprised to find that I had been upgraded to a king suite in the Cherokee cottage. This delightful two room suite was very large and very comfortable. As big as many first homes, this room has a large sunroom, a butler pantry with refrigerator, and a jacuzzi tub bathroom.

While very nice, and appointed with nice historic touches such as antique lighting fixtures, it's certainly not perfect. There are cracks in the moulding, old water stains in the hardwood floors, and places where the paint and tile are showing wear. Most bothersome are the old floors throughout the building that creak loudly when anyone moves around the building, either in common areas or in the rooms above. But all of these "flaws" just add to the charm of the property in my opinion.

The grounds of the expansive club are meticulously maintained and the pool area, croquet court, and putting greens are neat touches. But dominating the landscape are massive oak threes draped In Spanish moss. There are tons of activities available, from bike rentals and carriage rides to the nearby beaches. While I was here traveling on business, I fully intend to come back for a couples getaway.

If you are fascinated by America's history, 1920s and 1930s architecture, or coastal Georgia, you will love the Jekyll Island Club.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the rooms in the cottages are very special. But some of them are noisy because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just such a wonderful experience we keep going back and it just gets better each time. The dining experience is the greatest and the whole staff is wonderful to deal with. They're all friendly, cheerful, and efficient. You feel great from start to finish......Katha in reservations makes you want to be able to be there every week-end.... Can't wait for the next trip.

Laura from Daytona Beach, Fla.

Room Tip: It's so lovely I don't think it makes a difference what room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
840 reviews 840 reviews
238 hotel reviews
Reviews in 300 cities Reviews in 300 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Travelling down the driveway towards the hotel you just have to stop and marvel at where you are.

This is a gorgeous olde worlde place to leave the cares of the modern world behind. Stroll the grounds, rent a bike and travel at a slower pace.

My suite was absolutely gorgeous and expansive with views out of the shuttered windows onto the grounds.

There's a lot to do on the grounds: the Sea Turtle Hospital, trolley tour of the historic district and the museum to name a few.

Every Sunday there is a blow-out brunch that people come from near and far to attend. It's over the top and if you have an hour or three you may be able to do it justice...it defeated me.

This is a standard out property with history oozing from the walls and that rare feeling of privilege that used to only belong to the über wealthy.

Come here and stay for a while and pretend you belong!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUYTON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel was magnificent. My wife and I felt so relaxed being there, we enjoyed every minute of this jewel of the south. Realizing the famous turn-of-the-century captains of industry (Rockefellers, Vanderbilt, Pulitzer; etc.) that once inhabited these grounds made it all the more exciting for us. To be able to stay in a place so quiet and beautiful and clean was a delight. It also felt really good walking, sleeping and eating at this club hotel, where only an exclusive group of millionaires were members. Loved it and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is full of history; it's where the Federal Reserve system originated. Also the first transcontinental phone call was made from here in 1915...a four-way call which included New York, S.Francisco and Washington DC. It's a great place to take your kids to learn of the rich history of this area. There's also a turtle sanctuary....and lots to do. My son had a college golf tournament on Jekyll Island, so our days were spent at the lovely golf course. The only negative is that we didn't have to enjoy all of the amenities this hotel has to offer. We'll have to return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.