We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 Including Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a room with a living room, and 2 fireplaces. It was a cold weekend and the fireplaces were super, the sounds helped induce sleep, the beds were cushy. Negatives, the Internet was iffy at best, wireless, the TV in the living room didn't work. The "romantic picnic" was less romantic and more high school "cheap". Turtle farm was fun, but very warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    154
    53
    39
    24
See reviews for
140
336
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel and the island are so unique and truly beautiful. So glad that a friend sent us there. We stayed in very nice new addition, but I'd love to know about the old wing rooms and those in other mansions nearby, all part of hotel.

The turtle farm is well worth stop and shops near the club are fun and reasonable.

Room Tip: Investigate room options ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Jekyll Island Club Hotel is a charming turn of the century hotel in a beautiful setting. High ceilings, hardwood floors, pianos and armchairs throughout. Catch the morning sun or sunset on rockers on the wraparound verandahs. The main dining room is not to be missed. Service is impeccable. Breakfast is more than reasonable, and dinner, although a little upscale, is not unreasonable. Did I mention the service was impeccable? Rates are very reasonable.

The island itself is idyllic with waterscape all about. There is a wonderful driftwood beach on the north side, and families shrimp on the south end. There is a sea turtle centre which we will be visiting tomorrow.

The only negative aspect was that we were assigned a room with no view. Otherwise, it was great.

Room Tip: 2217 has no view to speak of. It is a handicap room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's a visit to times past and so enjoyable to stay at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. The gentleman at the registration desk ( I think his name was William), was very kind and helpful and even called my cell phone to let me know my room was ready. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately well kept. The rooms have that old timey charm and it's fun to imagine yourself living a hundred years ago, being extremely wealthy, and spending the winter at the club. Last time I stayed in the San Souci building and this time I was in the main inn. Next time, I would like to stay in the Cherokee cottage.
If you require constant entertainment and lots of action, don't stay here. But if you are like me and enjoy nature, walking, relaxing on the sun porch with a good book, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Check out all the room choices, you may decide you like one cottage better than another, or you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently celebrated our 45th anniversary here and staying where some of the pioneers of our country visited made for a real trip down memory lane. The Club is beautiful with many porches, a turret in which we "took tea" in a portion of The Grand Dining Room. The tea was perfect and we were delighted to meet a man whose grandfather's picture was hanging in one of the cottages nearby and was one of the founding fathers. What a wonderful beginning to our adventure. The Cafe Solterra is a quaint little shop with delicious pastries and a perfect reuben sandwich. The one disappointment was our anniversary dinner in The Grand Dining Room Saturday night. The salad and wine were perfect. The steaks were properly "done" but arrived cool. The coffee was just okay (cool) and the key lime pie was tasty. My creme brulee was sub par. There seemed to be glue and gunk under this lovely glaze which was a huge disappointment as it is one of my favorite desserts. The waiter was excellent and a charming young man. Our room had a beautiful view of the river and we sauntered around the grounds which were impeccably groomed and the entire "Club" area was superb. The staff were very attentive and the relaxing areas were cozy and warm. You could picture Rockefeller sitting by the fire and discussing the latest duck hunt with his fellow hunting acquaintances.

Room Tip: We had a third floor corner room overlooking the river, some beautiful grounds and the pool. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a wild party or to be entertained 24/7, this might not be the vacation that you have been waiting for...If you are looking to rest and relax this just might go down as your best vacation ever. I am not saying that there is not a ton to do there or that it is boring or even that there arent a plethra of things to do but this is more of a relaxed hotel located in a near perfect setting. Although you will be relazed and laid back, the hotel staff is busy making sure that you are taken care of in many different ways from the way that they prepare their fantastic breakfasts to how helpful they are to setting you up with things to do on excursions. One definite draw back is the distance from the hotel to the beach although they even find a way to make that enjoyable. One of the great things about the setting is where it is located on the water so that ships could be docked nearby. There is a lot of history of who used to make this is vacation spot that is fantastic to learn. To get to the beach, they have several vans that shuttle the hotel guest to and from the ocean. The shuttle drivers are as engaging as you would like them to be and have a lot of knowledge about the island. If reading a book by the pool is your cup of tea, you will enjoy the pool setting as it is near perfect for relaxing. The afternoon/evening breezes making walking under the old live oak trees with hanging spanish moss something near to perfect. The grounds are incredible making this an obvious spot for weddings and gatherings. We try to make it down to the hotel once a year to recharge and I am sure that you will enjoy as much as we have!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nearly two decades ago we stayed one night at this Club as our first adventure into Georgia, and then settled into Savannah as a new home. It is possible memory has failed, and while our memories are most pleasant of the first visit, this weekend seemed as though many improvements have been made and the Club now a true gem.

While we selected a special weekend package, the room prices seemed most reasonable for a four star hotel. It should be added we stayed in the older section, which is surely the best on the premises. The grounds were immaculate. Elevator landings living-room-like. The bars with couches and piano player. Staircases were wide and beautifully done with hand-turned wood balustrades.

The bedroom was large and most comfortable. Our view, as we had requested when making the reservation, was out through the pool and the river beyond and quite lovely.

But the highlight is the dining room. I would consider it the finest room I have seen including the Boca Club, the Cloisters, the Breakers, the White in West Virginia, the Hotel Monasterio and others.

The hostess Christy was a pro, even searching a response to an unanswered question overnight and remembering who the questioner was. The same waitress, lively Zoe, was assigned both nights and she followed up on many conversations as if we had become friends.

The food was excellent. Beef tenderloin one night was probably the best I have ever had. The award winning shrimp and grits was true to form, although I would have preferred a mushier grits. The sauce was perfect. Mrs. B. is asking me to mention that the dining room lighting is very flattering. She also wants me to add that the clothes closet in the room is tiny and would only fit a few hangers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.