We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Abounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“History Abounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic long weekend at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. I booked this about 2 months ago for a birthday weekend for my mother. I took my 9 year old son as well. We arrived about 5 pm on a friday and were checked in quickly to room 4207-Sans Souci. Beautiful double double room with a large turret alcove and veranda. Bathroom was quite spacious with an abundance of towels. There was no storage area in the bathroom and that would have been nice, but we made do. The beds were a bit dated and felt like a hammock. My mother was unable to sleep on the last night due to the sagging bed. But we were all together and the atmosphere and ambiance almost made the awful night disappear-almost! We had no problems with noise except for a cat fight one night and that was just downright funny! The heat was difficult but we just turned it down while getting ready for bed and slept with it cold-very toasty covers. I should note that the hotel was almost completely booked with various organizations and a few weddings but I never felt like it was too crowded, or that the service was lacking.
The history at the Club is fantastic and I would definitely do the hotel tour next time we visit. We had breakfast in the grand dining room twice and the sunday buffet-all were outstanding and the service was wonderful. We also had dinner in the Grand Dining Room and that was super as well. The wait staff and very courteous and I felt exceptional in their service. We did have dinner at Crane Cottage one night and of course it was excellent as well.
We rented bikes - they had any kind of bike you needed including one for infants and toddlers to ride on the back as well as a type of tandem one for parents and a 5 or 6 year old to ride together if the child is unable to ride a 2 wheeler. Cheap too at $9 for a half day. This was such fun-and we had a lovely time riding around looking for 'island treasures'.
Next time I would definitely choose to stay in a king suite in Crane or Cherokee. They have weddings in these cottages every weekend so they may be full of wedding guests.
The historical village is located all around the club and it was so much fun walking and shopping and sightseeing.
What made the weekend even all the more fantastic was our room rate-$126./ night. !!!!!
Completely worth every penny. The dining costs were standard for a fine restaurant.
We have decided to make this an annual January trip! Highly recommend!
** I am 44 and my mother 68 and there were many 20 somethings at the hotel. However if you are looking for night life try Jax Beach. My 9 year old had the time of his life and cried on our flight home because he wanted to go back to 'Jekyll Island'.

Room Tip: Look at the floor maps online. All rooms, even though they may be labeled as the same type of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    182
    59
    40
    25
See reviews for
157
387
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Older place that could use some freshening up. We visited jekyll Island for lunch and the hotel on the outside was in need of a little help. Didn't go inside so I can't answer that. Overall, the hotel was loaded with older folks from the 60's and up. Not much to do on the island itself for the younger crowd. Couples with small babies would be good for the backside of the island where the beach is in the summer time.

Room Tip: Good for elderly couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Awestruck as we drove up to this magnificent inn. The grand dining room was not only beautifully decorated for the holidays, but the meals were just wonderful. Had a beautiful fireplace in our room, which we used, but was disappointed in the hefty charge for a young man to bring 3 "grocery store" pressed logs up & light them... The balcony off our room was in desperate need of a paint job! The bedding is in need of an update as well (3 pillows on a king bed), but, all in all, it was a delightful weekend.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Well-aware of our love and appreciation for the grand, old hotels (bastions of history and culture),our children gave us a trip to Jekyll Island Club Hotel as a Christmas gift (Heritage Tour Package). Upon arrival, we were greeted with the news that the Jr. Presidential Suite that we had previously booked was undergoing renovation and that we would be moved to the Presidential Suite for our three-night stay at no extra cost. The Suite offers old-world charm complete with fireplace and antiques as well as modern amenities catering to the needs of the most discriminating guests. Chilled Champagne and assorted chocolate delights served on doilies arrived shortly after check-in. The Hotel's signature turret is located inside the Presidential Suite and is readily accessed by a spiral staircase leading to inside and outside landings, gateways to amazing views . My husband and I giggled as we carried (carefully) our morning coffee up those winding steps to the top of the turret where we encountered a breathtaking morning view of the Jekyll River and surrounding wildlife. The bird population is abundant here, and Jekyll Island serves as one of the 18 sites along Georgia's Birding Trail. We would have enjoyed this serene ambiance longer but thoughts of the forthcoming buffet breakfast directed us towards the Grand Dining Room. We were not disappointed. It was a breakfast feast with my favorite hand-ground grits, sausage gravy and piping hot biscuits, fresh fruit, and yummy bakery goods plus bottomless gourmet coffee. I commented to a staff member that "breakfast was as pretty as it was delicious." Next on our agenda was the personally-narrated tram ride through the historical district. Our tour guide was fun and funny and knew many of the particulars of the "rich and famous" residents who once vacationed here (1888-1942). Her stories highlighted little-known antics of the Rockefellers, Vanderbilts, J.P. Morgans, Cranes, Pulitzers and others. Many of the mansion-sized cottages of these celebrated, financial giants have been renovated and now house guests. I especially enjoyed the actual "Club House" that reflects privileged life during "the Gilded Age". The tour of the Hotel was equally informative and interesting. Our knowledgeable guide, the concierge, shared stories and anecdotes relative to the Hotel's vast and often colorful history. There was an excellent variety of restaurants and eateries suitable to a range of budgets. We had dinner at the Courtyard at Crane, an alfresco restaurant that looks like an Italian Renaissance Villa. No one seemed to notice our casual dress and the food and service were outstanding. We also visited the Hotel's bakery-delicatessen, Cafe Solterra, for quick, yet tasty meals. A trip high-light, oozing with southern hospitality, was the Hotel's afternoon "High Tea". A spread of delicate finger-foods including petite cucumber tea sandwiches, scones with fruit compote, and dainty confection-concoctions lending themselves to "Lemon Curd" or Devonshire Cream, graced the table. A large selection of traditional and exotic teas complete with Sugar Swizzle Sticks was available. I vowed to introduce our granddaughters to the glorious "High Tea" and next time we will all be wearing hats. Our last night at the Hotel, my husband and I treated ourselves to dinner in the Hotel's Grand Dining Room, beautifully restored in the Victorian mode with its Ionic columns and expansive views of the Jekyll River. Our meal was exceptional (I ordered Cottage Crab Cakes) and our waiter was professional without being stuffy, friendly and funny while being attentive and efficient. Jekyll Island offers a wealth of leisure activities ranging from golfing (The historic Grand Dunes Golf Course with original links laid in 1910 is located on the ocean), boating and fishing excursions (Our grandsons would love this), Dolphin cruises, swimming, horse-back riding, walking, and my favorite, croquet, an outdoor activity I loved as a kid. Jekyll Island is a paradise for shoppers. All of the stores are unusual and boutique-like but my favorites are "Jekyll Books in the Old Infirmary" and "Santa's Christmas Shoppe". A visit to Faith Chapel which features two inspiring stained glass windows, one bearing the name of Louis Tiffany, is a "must-do" activity while on the Island.This incredible Chapel is not included on the tram tour and might be over-looked.Before leaving Jekyll Island, we visited the Georgia Sea Turtle Center, a dedicated hospital for ill and injured sea turtles. It is the only hospital of its kind in the state of Georgia and many visitors choose to contribute to its admirable mission. We were reluctant to leave Jekyll Island. We agreed that one of the great factors in making our trip so enjoyable and memorable is the over-the top service of the Hotel's pleasant and helpful employees who love the Hotel and take pride in its impressive history and heritage. Each guest is made to feel valued and special. The Hotel is an excellent choice for special celebrations, family vacations, and true retreats from busy work schedules and daily pressures. My husband and I take advantage of seasonal rates, promotions, and hotel packages which often include meals and activities. We are not shy about pricing accommodation upgrades. While the Jekyll Island Hotel was once available only to the financially and socially elite, it now invites and welcomes ordinary individuals to be an important part of its extraordinary heritage and hospitality. This Hotel is "Wow" in all areas.

Room Tip: While we had booked the Jr. Presidential Suite which was undergoing renovation while we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here 21 years ago when I proposed to my wife so we were excited to be back. At first glance our room seemed nice but once we settled in we noticed many things that were disappointing for a room of this price (a little over $300 per night after taxes and fees). It was apparent the the room had not been deep cleaned in a long time. The bathroom was not very clean at all. There were some hairs on the sink counter, a huge ugly (mold?) stain on the ceiling and the tile floor was not clean. We had a good dinner at the restaurant on the pier. On the walk back to our room in the Sansuci (sp?) building the fire alarm was going off and smoke smells filled the building. Each room has a working wood burning fireplace and rather than calling the front desk for service S clearly posted by fireplace, a guest tried to start a fire in the fireplace on their own and forgot to open the damper and the subsequent smoke set off the alarms. Needles to say we didn't sleep very well that night. A nice touch were the two Christmas stockings with some goodies left on our bed that evening.

Breakfast was included with our room And was good. The dining room is absolutely beautiful and the wait staff was attentive. All and all we had a pleasant stay but based on our previous stay we expected better room accommodations for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Third visit, beautiful resort with incredible service. The property is gorgeous and there is so much to see and do, including relaxing. Make sure to enjoy dinner or a breakfast buffet there. Nothing disappointing. Hint: you can find seasonal discounts through their Facebook page.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. It was very festive; service was great. The special Christmas dinner was superb. We loved the place and will go again. The grounds were so nice and the decorations were pretty.

Room Tip: We lucked out and got the Anniversary special rate, which was great. A very nice king bed.The place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.