We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in a great location, very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jekyll Island Club Hotel to your Saves list
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$175 Including Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a great location, very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, it leaves you a little awestruck when you drive up as it looks so old and grand. Upon closer inspection it is apparent that it could use a fresh coat of paint in spots and a little TLC.. The grounds are immaculate.

We took advantage of their anniversary special and upgraded to the deluxe king for $25 a night... Well worth it as this "oversized" room was still a little small by today's standards. However it included a beautiful glass enclosed balcony which was one of the highlights of the room.

The bed was super comfortable and I don't usually find many beds comfortable... The main complaint I had was that they closed off many of the walkways around the hotel when the morning dew hit because they were slippery.. This made it difficult to find the cafe and other things.. It became maze like and I didn't understand why they couldn't put some kind of Matt out if this is a daily problem?? All of that caution tape made it look like a crime scene.

All in all this was a great stay and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    154
    53
    39
    24
See reviews for
140
336
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glennville, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were really looking forward to this tea as the hotel has been one of our favorites in the past. After a two hour drive we were so disappointed that this tea did not live up to all that it was said to be. Although the hotel was beautiful with all of it's Christmas decorations, the food and service for the tea was not what you would expect from this hotel. First our wait staff seemed as if they did not want to even be there. No smiles, no one at our table ever got all of their food at the same time. Would have really liked for them to have at least one special tea for the holidays. Only very ordinary Earl Grey and a few flavors. Finally asked for something different and was brought a peppermint and one other. Had to ask server for clean cup. Plates were quickly whisked away between the few courses without waiter even asking if we had finished. They acted as if they were in a very big hurry to clean table and this led to not even be able to enjoy a course. Tea this summer was so much better and also had items that children would enjoy. Kitchen should have had a few items for this holiday tea that would be child appropiate.At 25.00 dollars a plate there was only a few sweets and cookie that a child would like. Other than our child, we saw at least six others and wondered if their children was as disappointed as our child. A waiter (Rico) did go to kitchen and bring her a chocolate covered strawberry and cookie. Still very overpriced for children. He was not our waiter, but we appreciated his courtesy. Our waiter and waitress never looked up, only cleared plates as fast as they could. We had looked so forward to this tea and was very disappointed. No one even asked if we had enjoyed this special event. Will not return. This should not even be called a special Christmas Tea. So many other tea rooms in Georgia put this one to shame!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First let me say that I am a Georgian, and Jekyll Island has always been special to me. I remembered when the Club was deserted and my brother and I would explore the old buildings. When the Jekyll Island Club reopened, we were so excited and impressed with what had been done. I recently came with my own daughter, but was shocked at the state of the hotel. I generally stay at Omni properties, and know that old properties can be maintained with proper upkeep.

Bad News: We were given a room in the Annex, and the room was in sad need of a face lift. No nice throw pillows or linens. Cracked plaster that was unprofessionally repaired, plastic cheap furniture on the balcony and a little roach visited during the night. I had really bragged to my daughter about the hotel and regaled her with the history, but she kept repeating how dirty it was. Honestly, it wasn't dirty...it just looked threadbare. Again, I stay at historical hotels, like the Omni Royal Orleans, and historical properties (if maintained), can take a traveler back in time. The Radisson needs to step it up or The Jekyll Island Club will lose its luxurious rep.

Good News: The food was amazing. The waitstaff in the Dining Room and Room Service were friendly and fast. The valet staff were always upbeat and fun. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. My daughter finally got my fascination with The Jekyll Island Club as we walked around.

Sans Souci and the Crane Cottage looked well kept, so next time, I will try there. However, the Radisson needs to invest $$$ in the Annex. New carpet, luxury linens and professional repairs are needed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Impossible to resist the title, and it was a lot more Jekyll than Hyde to be fair. The positives are its wonderful location, its fascinating history, its sheer romance. Add to that its very good food (and an amazing value deal in the dining room for its 125th anniversary -though I pointed out it was only 124 years actually!),nice dining room and a very civilsed12 noon checkout and it makes for a great place to visit. A few negatives worth noting: the absolutely freezing air conditioning in the dining room- so cold as to to almost spoil the meal since my wife had not been prepared for Arctic temperatures, unless we had the wrong South Georgia.The hotel is also a little faded, but it did not stop us from having a great sleep in a comfortable room after a good wander in the warm November night air- a damn sight warmer than the dining room! It is a bit pricey and there are various extras, such as a resort charge (what on earth is that- for God's sake be honest and just add it on to the room price, since that what it is). However, minor quibbles for what is a really worthwhile place to visit and indeed support.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times and all my family loves this hotel. Everyone who works here is delightful. We did the hotel tour this time led by Sherrie and she made our stay even better by learning more of the history of the hotel and getting to see the Presidents Suite. It is fun to come in the summer to enjoy the pool and the winter to enjoy the beautiful Christmas trees and lights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Charming. Comfortable. Character. Three Cs for this A+ hotel property! The Jekyll Club Hotel is a beautiful historic property with all the conveniences and comforts of the modern day. Our room had a beautiful verandah that overlooked the croquet lawn. It was perfect for morning coffee and reading and equally relaxing as the sun set.
The staff were friendly, courteous and had pride in the club and its history. The food in the dining room was remarkable and I highly recommend the Sunday brunch which was a feast for the eyes and the palette.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is our seventh time staying at the "club" and as usual the service and accomidations have been wonderful. Some parts of the Inn appear to be showing their age, and as a result a facelift may be in order. However, the property is very charming and the grounds quite lovely. I'd like to give special mentions to the dining room staff whom always go above and beyond to ensure that everything is just perfect.

Room Tip: Some of the "water view" rooms seem to be a strech. However, a view of the grounds at any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.