We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked and king studio suite. It was spacious, clean and inviting. The breakfasts were very good for buffet style, including either scrambled eggs or omelets and do it yourself waffles. The snack wrap sold at the pool were particularly good. Easy access to the beach was a nice feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    197
    41
    18
    4
See reviews for
305
323
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed in every way a three night visit at this Hampton Inn. We've stayed at many Hampton Inns over the years and this one ranks high on the list of well managed and hospitable properties.

Our room was large and well equipped, with comfortable beds & pillows, nice work area as well as bathroom...all you expect from a Hampton Inn. We stayed on the 4th (top) floor, and, except for an occasional door closing, hardly knew anyone else was in the hotel when we were in our room in spite of the fact for the first two nights the facility was practically full.

The complimentary breakfast bar was complete and was kept well stocked with food, regardless of the number of people eating at the time. There was plenty of seating since the bar with tables adjoined the eating area and could be easily used if the dining area happened to be full.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and very professional. That includes everyone we encountered, the front desk, housekeeping, and the breakfast bar folks.

There's a nice pool and pool area, too. The hotel is not oceanfront, but it's the next thing to it. You can enjoy a pretty walk of about 100 yards across a beautiful boardwalk and you're on the beach. The boardwalk is elevated with a seating area near the ocean, and affords you a very pleasant walk to the ocean.

As far as we're concerned, this is THE place to stay at Jekyll Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns quite often while traveling hither and yon, and we're almost never disappointed (except when they forget to bake the usual chocolate chip cookies in the evening). This Hampton Inn on Jekyll Island had the cookies and much more. Earlier in the day we checked out the historic Club hotel, but found it, and the staff, a little too stuffy and old. It's great to walk around and mingle with the ghosts of the Gilded Age, but we thought we'd be happier elsewhere, so off we drove to the Hampton Inn, located (somewhat) on the beach a few miles away. It was a good move. The staff welcomed us as usual and we got a nice suite overlooking the pool on the second floor. A nice room as we've come to expect. We spent plenty of time in the outdoor pool, which has a deep end for swimming and a shallow end for water walking. There's also a decent gym with free weights, a rarity. On the other side of the pool is a beautiful elevated pathway through the woods and out to the beach, where you can have great walks and splash in the surf (which, due to the shallow grade of the coast, isn't much, so leave your board at home). On the ground floor of the inn is an actual bar for apres-swim drinks and partying, and there's some food available if you don't want to drive a few miles to a restaurant. Speaking of food, breakfast is pretty extensive, as is more and more common at Hampton Inns: little omelettes, sausage, oatmeal, cereals, fruit... all you can eat. All of that and more. It may be a little isolated from the rest of Jekyll, but it's a good deal.

Room Tip: Choose a suite in the rear overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our family planned a last minute trip to Jekyll Island and chose this hotel due to being a Rewards member. Could not have had a more enjoyable time with both the hotel and location. The family had a great time...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

In March 2013, a friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, GA ($562.77). The hotel is located 18 miles from I-95 exit 29. I stopped at the Jekyll Island welcome center, then paid $6 to enter Jekyll Island, a state park where 65% of the island will always remain natural and wild, and only 1,000 people live on the island. I enjoyed the features of this new modernly decorated hotel, especially the electrostatic air filtration to remove dust, pollen, and other indoor pollutants from the air you breathe, after coughing 8 nights in cheaper hotels with old noisy bad heat/air units. My room had 2 fresh comfortable queen beds, TV, refrigerator, microwave, and new hair dryer. The modernly decorated hotel had free safe outdoor parking; free business center; a selection of free newspapers; deck to maritime forest and sand dune beach; complimentary beverage area with apples and chocolate cookies in the lobby; TVs in the breakfast area; washers/dryers ($5 for a load); and very good free breakfasts (fresh cut fruit, cooked oatmeal, crisp thin bacon, hot chocolate). It was a short drive to activities while staying at the hotel: "Passport to the Century Tour"-tram tour with visit to the Club Cottage and Indian Mound that was owned by the Rockefellers before World War II; visit Jekyll Island Museum, Faith Chapel, Georgia Sea Turtle Center, and other historic district sites; golfed at Indian Mound Golf Course; a Tidelands Nature Center beach and forest "nature walk" starting at St. Andrews parking lot; lunch at Courtyard at Crane Cottage; lunch at Cafe' Solterra, Jekyll Island Club Hotel; and drove 15 minutes to Brunswick for Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise. I wore cropped pants and a jacket with cool weather and wind. The price of gas was relatively cheap on Jekyll Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our teenage daughters for two nights. The 2 queen room was larger than most rooms we've had at other hotels. It was a nice quiet room at the end of the hall. The quick access to the beach was wonderful and the placement of the hotel on the south side of the island meant no traffic. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stay and enjoy all that Jekyll Island has to offer. Clean rooms ample parking bike storage, close to the beach.Great breakfast buffet which changes daily from fruits and cereal to sausage eggs and potatoes, also check out the bar for a quick snack or cold beverage. Enjoy the pool area and the jacuzzi fire up the fire pit for the evening and enjoy its warm glow.The pool is very well kept up by the staff. If you want more peace and quit make sure you get a balcony room away from the pool area it can become noisy at times with children.The beach is a short walk over the board walk which is adjacent to the pool area this will take you over the sand dunes to the beach, the boardwalk is lighted at night this makes for a pleasant stroll over to the beach don't forget to take a glass of your favorite wine to enjoy with your loved one there are several benches on the board walk to sit and relax.The beach is a very enjoyable place to walk don't forget to check the tide charts you can walk on the beach at both low & high tide just more room and harder packed sand at lower tides.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Address: 200 South Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.