We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, great price, not a resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Dover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New, great price, not a resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

By far this was the nicest Hampton Inn I have ever visited. We decided to stay here vs the Jekyll hotel due to previous reviews. Which I would ditto on almost all accounts. Personally, I would have preferred the history and ambience of the old Hotel but we chose the Hampton due to its location at the beach, the price, and its better offer on golf coupons (MUCH less $$ then offered thru the Jekyll Hotel for the same courses!). The pool is small and crowded with kids. Not a place to relax around. The beach is great for walking and biking. Not great for swimming. The people at the front desk, tho friendly, were not very knowledgable regarding the surrounding areas (beyond the 3-4 restaurants on the island which they automatically provide). We used the biz office computer (when it worked) to get our info on the area (golf, activities, restaurants). Breakfast is okay (standard Hampton breakfast). DO NOT order any other meals/food there. YECH. Straight from the freezer to the microwave to you! Nice hotel, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor facing the back side of the hotel but not overlooking the pool-442-446.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    235
    46
    22
    4
See reviews for
334
378
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The good: The hotel is "resortish", the breakfast bar was great every morning, the hotel bar doesnt overcharge for drinks, the customer service was AMAZING, the skywalk to the beach was great, and a good time was had by my toddlers.
The bad: The wifi was terrible, we had to go downstairs and use the business center to check our emails etc... Only two high chairs in the dining area, and with the amount of kids there, much more are needed.The only other minor issue we had was that they shower they have to wash off sand from the beach isnt properly set up for drainage, so its couterproductive.

I really enjoyed our stay, and when we go back to Jekyll Island,we will stay here!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper stay away from the pool area, they have a great bonfire out on the pool d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow! I have stayed at so many different Hampton's I've lost count. This is in the Top 2!! Generally I consider these 'business hotels' but in this case, there would be no problem making it a week at this location.

An awesome pool, a skywalk through the woods on the way to the beach, and miles of unfettered walking on the beach make it a great location. Clean and well appointed, this is a great location.

It's a bit far from any external ammenities (restaurant, stores, etc..) so come prepared for this and also be prepared to have fun- bring your bike!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I recently stayed with my wife on our honeymoon at the Hampton Inn and Suites and it was horrible . I had one the worst times of my life . From the first day the staff were unhelpful . They put us on the 4th floor because we asked for a nice quiet room . They didn't tell us that there was a huge wedding there that weekend . They put a married couple in the room next to us and they were loud and made noise the whole time . When we complained they told us they would talk to them but they didn't . They told us they would give us a free night but they did not . We spoke to the Manager the next day and he told oh they will be leaving today but they did not leave . After complaining for a couple of days they gave us a room on the 3rd floor and we could not wait to leave . I will never go back !! . The worst . Please DON'T GO THERE .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was surprised to find out that the hotel was only three years old.I was expecting older hotels because the island is a state park. What a beautiful hotel!!!! October is the best time to go because there were no crowds.We had a large room on the 4th floor that had a outdoor balcony over the pool. I sat outside enjoying the out-door fire , reading my book and listening to the wild life. We walked the board walk over the natural dunes to the beach and watched the sun go down. The beach was amazing. You can walk for miles and get a nice work out as well as bird watch. I love this place and I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August for a quick family getaway. Traveled with our 2 year old twins. This hotel is awesome. The staff were amazing from start to finish - Lynn got us checked in early which was a blessing considering we had the twins who needed a nap! The beach is amazing - it was practically empty when we were there. The boardwalk to get there is like a nature walk! There are showers at the end of the walk to help shower off after the time at the beach. The pool area is PERFECT! It's a gradual entry pool - and very shallow for much of the pool which is perfect for those with small children.

The ONLY complaint I have was the "restaurant." The food was not good....but it really didn't matter becuase everything else was so amazing. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone and will we definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the pool/side were not loud!! I think any room is a good one at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we just came back from Jekyll Island we did not want to leave.the entire stay was wonderful the staff always greeted us and everybody with a smile.the boardwalk to the beach was not far and the view was beautiful.the only bad thing was that a wasp nest was on the balcony we told the front desk on our way out to eat and by the time we came back it was gone thank you. i will stay here again and will reccomend this hotel to everyone i know. can not wait to come back to Jekyll Island again.

Room Tip: get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Address: 200 South Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.