We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluegrass Festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 S. Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    418
    168
    56
    39
See reviews for
417
332
44
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having stayed at a number of Days Inns around the country, I expected an average hotel room with nothing special in options. We got what we expected. We stayed one night, on a Sunday, in the off season. The resort area was pretty barren, as expected. The hotel room was comfortable, with a queen size bed, a large TV, on the second floor (Rm 272) overlooking the ocean. The room was clean, not particularly spacious, with a sink in the room and a separate bathroom and shower/tub, a microwave, and a fridge. All worked. The night was cool so we turned on the heat. The thermostat on the HVAC unit didn't work. So, we either had too much heat or none at all since we had to turn it off manually to avoid sweltering. And, the unit was particularly noisy. There are no elevators so be prepared to carry suitcases up two flights of stairs. The breakfast was good with all the elements of hot or cold items (all were the prepackaged and heated variety) -- but very adequate.

We had medicine with us that had to be maintained in a refrigerated state. While we had no problem with the fridge overnight, we were carrying frozen gel packs and a cooler to maintain cool termperatures during the day while we drove. I asked the front desk if they could put the Gelpaks in their freezer overnight, but they told us the housekeeping personnel had left for the day, locked up everything, and they couldn't get into any freezer (it was 3pm in the afternoon). As it turned out, we were able to satisfy our needs with the room fridge, but I felt the front desk could have been more helpful. All in all, the hotel was OK but I don't think we would return in the future.

Room Tip: First floor rooms cannot view the ocean since high sand dunes block the view. No parking available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIJkylMgmTeam, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback and do hope that you will give us a try on your next visit to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Pulling into the Days Inn parking lot, I really had low expectations. It looked like every motel I'd ever seen. I'm not a fan of easily accessible doors and windows facing an open parking lot. Phobias aside, this was a pleasant stay.

We only stayed for one night, and there was a minor scare before going to bed when I killed a small spider that was crawling on one of my pillows. I was actually way too tired to care anymore after that point, so I slept on the bed anyway. Nothing crawled into my ears, and I didn't wake up with anything on me. As far as I'm aware, that was the only bug in the room.

Our reservation called for us to have a different room, but the original room was torn apart due to repairs and renovations. The man at the front desk kindly gave my father another key to the adjacent room, so that was a very minor mishap and nothing to complain about since we didn't have to experience the other room which obviously would've been terrible since we'd all be sleeping on the floor.

The room we ultimately got was big, and the view of the ocean was spectacular, especially in the morning while eating breakfast. The sun hit the water perfectly, and there was nothing on the beach (people or litter) at all. It was just a great view. The breakfast bar itself was pretty average, but it was complimentary. I can't complain.

I definitely would've stayed here another night if we weren't so set on returning home the next day. I'd say it was well worth the money spent on the six people sleeping there at the time. For the record, I really liked the massaging shower head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. The room has an excellent view and was very clean. The breakfast was very good. This is the perfect place to stay a day or two while on Jekyll Island. We love to ride our tandem from the hotel. This island is made for biking.

Room Tip: Second floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNAPOLIS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we have stayed at the Days Inn on Jekle Island Ga for the last couple years. this year when we checked in all seamed fine for a little while and then we noticed cockroachs in the room. We killed a couple but there were quite a few so we contacted the front desk and they moved us to another room. We did not have any issues at the new room but were quite disapointed by having to move. Next year we will consider staying at another hotel. the staff at the hotel were very nice and helful through the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIJkylMgmTeam, Front Office Manager at Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mr. Tim,

First, let me thank you for staying with us several times in the last couple of years and accept our apologies for your most recent stay. We strive to keep our property free of any insects by spraying on a scheduled routine. I am sorry that you found some in your room, but are pleased to know that our front desk addressed the issue and found you different accommodations. We have addressed the issue with our staff and will continue to strive to please all of our guests.

We do hope you give us another shot and look forward to see you in the near future,

Thanks You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel

Address: 60 S. Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach location, Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast included, Two brand new pools (one heated in winter), Hot Tub, Kiddy Pool, Bike Rentals on property. All rooms offer micro fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Oceanfront one bedroom suites offer full kitchen to include small refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove, pots & pans, dishes, separate living room area with queen sofa sleeper, two TVs, patio or private balcony depending on floor. Recent upgrades include: All rooms offer Pillow Top mattress, 32" LCD flat screen televisions, new Snack Shack located at front desk in lobby offering 24 hour service of snacks, candy drinks including beer & wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Oceanside Hotel
Days Inn Hotel Oceanside
Days Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.