We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night from an expected place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 S. Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jekyll Island
Kershaw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great night from an expected place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Pulling into the Days Inn parking lot, I really had low expectations. It looked like every motel I'd ever seen. I'm not a fan of easily accessible doors and windows facing an open parking lot. Phobias aside, this was a pleasant stay.

We only stayed for one night, and there was a minor scare before going to bed when I killed a small spider that was crawling on one of my pillows. I was actually way too tired to care anymore after that point, so I slept on the bed anyway. Nothing crawled into my ears, and I didn't wake up with anything on me. As far as I'm aware, that was the only bug in the room.

Our reservation called for us to have a different room, but the original room was torn apart due to repairs and renovations. The man at the front desk kindly gave my father another key to the adjacent room, so that was a very minor mishap and nothing to complain about since we didn't have to experience the other room which obviously would've been terrible since we'd all be sleeping on the floor.

The room we ultimately got was big, and the view of the ocean was spectacular, especially in the morning while eating breakfast. The sun hit the water perfectly, and there was nothing on the beach (people or litter) at all. It was just a great view. The breakfast bar itself was pretty average, but it was complimentary. I can't complain.

I definitely would've stayed here another night if we weren't so set on returning home the next day. I'd say it was well worth the money spent on the six people sleeping there at the time. For the record, I really liked the massaging shower head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    359
    137
    49
    32
See reviews for
366
271
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. The room has an excellent view and was very clean. The breakfast was very good. This is the perfect place to stay a day or two while on Jekyll Island. We love to ride our tandem from the hotel. This island is made for biking.

Room Tip: Second floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANNAPOLIS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we have stayed at the Days Inn on Jekle Island Ga for the last couple years. this year when we checked in all seamed fine for a little while and then we noticed cockroachs in the room. We killed a couple but there were quite a few so we contacted the front desk and they moved us to another room. We did not have any issues at the new room but were quite disapointed by having to move. Next year we will consider staying at another hotel. the staff at the hotel were very nice and helful through the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIJkylMgmTeam, Front Office Manager at Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mr. Tim,

First, let me thank you for staying with us several times in the last couple of years and accept our apologies for your most recent stay. We strive to keep our property free of any insects by spraying on a scheduled routine. I am sorry that you found some in your room, but are pleased to know that our front desk addressed the issue and found you different accommodations. We have addressed the issue with our staff and will continue to strive to please all of our guests.

We do hope you give us another shot and look forward to see you in the near future,

Thanks You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn-Oceanside and were very pleased with the professional staff, exceptionally clean facility, and the wonderful breakfast. The entire staff made us feel very welcome. We'll stay there again in March 2913 enroute to Orlando. A truly 5-star hotel.
Joan and Nick Axen

Room Tip: The Oceanside room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIJkylMgmTeam, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Axen, thank you so much for taking the time to write the wonderful response on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate you sharing your experiences and hope to see you on your return trip north.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,

Shirley Rayhon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Staff was very helpful on finding places to eat, but failed to inform us how to get onto the wifi. When I tried to call the desk from room 265 phone, the buttons just did not work. I did forget to inform them of the problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIJkylMgmTeam, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Please accept our appologies for your stay not being everything you had hoped. We have recently upgraded our WiFi service and have tried to make it as seamless and user friendly as possible for our guests and we are sorry you were having difficulties. Also we have taken note of your issues with your phone and have addressed those.

We do hope you give us another chance and look forward to your return visit.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel

Address: 60 S. Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach location, Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast included, Two brand new pools (one heated in winter), Hot Tub, Kiddy Pool, Bike Rentals on property. All rooms offer micro fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Oceanfront one bedroom suites offer full kitchen to include small refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove, pots & pans, dishes, separate living room area with queen sofa sleeper, two TVs, patio or private balcony depending on floor. Recent upgrades include: Suites now offer Queen Pillow Top mattress in the double bedded rooms, upgrading all televisions to 32" LCD flat screens, and opening in the spring of 2012 is 2Khan Tiki a full service tiki bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Oceanside Hotel
Days Inn Hotel Oceanside
Days Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.