We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Atlanta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good resort style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Holiday Inn Resort is a nice addition to Jekyll Island. I was eager to try out the new hotel and was pleased overall.

This is not a new hotel, but it is a complete reconstruction making the hotel new in almost every way. The basic structure remains - a sprawling multi story facility with exterior room entrances and balconies facing the beach. There are a few quirks - the elevator is accessed from outside rather than the lobby - but overall the design was well done. The color scheme is loaded with pleasing blues and blue greens - perfect for a beach hotel. The facility is modern and contemporary.

As far as a resort hotel is concerned, it's a minimalist facility. Nice rooms, a pool, a playground, and the beach. There are no real amenities typically found in a real resort.

Rooms are nice. The rooms were completely redone. Each room has an individual HVAC unit controlled with a thermostat. I found my room a little cool and drafty when the AC was blowing. I propped a couple of pillow on the bed to block the draft. The bed, bath, and furnishings were new - and pleasant. My one complaint is the idea of having a heavy comforter and a sheet on the bed - and nothing in between. A summer weight blanket, comforter or throw would make a lot more sense at the beach.

The restaurant is outside near the pool. It's basically a snack bar that serves meals. I thought the food was marginal and over priced. The breakfast menu was quite limited. Orange juice was the same kind you buy in any grocery - definitely not fresh squeezed. The food was not bad - just nothing I would seek out. And given the medium to lower quality, it was overpriced.

There was complimentary coffee in the hotel lobby, but it was not available until 7:00 AM. The restaurant did not open until after 7:00. If you are interested in an early start, there is no place to get fresh coffee, fruit, or a snack.

I had one minor complaint. The lower level lights in one section of rooms were left on overnight - in spite of regulations requiring lights out for the nesting sea turtles. I reported this to the desk on two consecutive days and also to the manager the second time. The manager assured me the issue would be resolved. Hopefully it was resolved. In all other respects staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall, the Holiday Inn is a nice addition. Compared to other properties on the island, I would place it a notch below the Jekyll Island Club Hotel in terms of amenities, and slightly below the Hampton Inn. If I was returning and wanted a hotel in that price range, I'd probably choose the Hampton because of complimentary breakfast, coffee, and comparable rooms. With a spouse or companion who liked the pool and beach, the facility is nice and is a good option.

Room Tip: All rooms front on the beach and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pretty nice hotel. The room is big enough for me, my wife and 2 kids. The pool is very nice. Nice view of the ocean. There are 2 places to access the beach, there should be 1 more. Parking is available but can be tight if you have a full size vehicle. The only restaurant that is open at the hotel, gets a little overwhelmed at times. It is an outdoor seating kind of place. My hamburger had no flavor and my wife's pizza had more marinara sauce than cheese and pepperoni. A little expensive, but very convenient. It beats driving 30 minutes to eat.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my first opportunity to visit the newly renovated property that I have visited many times in the past. The building and grounds now matches the natural beauty of the location. The rooms are bright and airy with beds and linens that are among the best I have encountered. The staff--a few old faces and many new ones--went out of their way to be courteous and helpful. The food was excellent and the service was great at the beach-side facility. Considering the small size of the kitchen there, the food being served is nothing short of miraculous! The small coffee maker in the guest rooms was a disappointment since I am an avid coffee drinker. An upgrade to a higher quality system would make a big difference to someone like me. Good coffee is available in the lobby as an alternative, however. I look forward to many more visits in the future!

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean front rooms are the very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mayberry Traveler,

It is always a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests, and it is particularly rewarding to see the look on those guests faces after seeing the recent improvement to the facilities. Thanks for acknowledging the hard work and dedication of our team to make some magic happen here. Appreciate your comments on the in-room coffee, and would like to point out the variety of coffee options available, including a Caribou Coffee location on the third floor overlooking the Atlantic.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family for many years to come!

All the best,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georiga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice size rooms, newly painted and updated. The pool, kiddie pool and hot tub were all very nice. The playground was fun for the kids. The beach was a short walk. I loved having a room facing the beach and easy access.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear hdhendley,

We were delighted to see that your family enjoyed the new facilities. At $22M, we are classifying the recent investment of our owners as a 'transformation':) Thanks for taking the time to share with others!

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the view and walking on the long wide beach in the morning. Looks like it will be lots of fun to stay at when the beach-side bar area is open. There's a fire pit and comfortable chairs. We were driving North and could not stay to enjoy all the amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ann K,

Well now you have a great reason to come back! We are glad your stop over on your way through Georgia was a memorable one.

All the best,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Book the beach side. Great view. Excellent concrete ride walk run trails on this property and around entire island. Pool bar food excellent. New property all around. Rooms are excellent especially the bedding and great water pressure at the walkin shower. Staff are insanely nice! Dog friendly and affordable. You have to try this place, the island is recreating itself into a 4-5 star place to stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mike S,

We appreciate the glowing review and feedback on your recent visit. It is gratifying to know that our team is making an impact on the guest experience. I'm not sure about five star, but affordable...definitely!

Please come again soon.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbrownga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a remodeled hotel, beautiful! Right on beach, park at your hotel room door and walk thru room to back door, to walk way to beach. Can see ocean from windows in room. Every one is so eager to help you. They have a
pool bar, food is very good and staff is very friendly. Room was larger than most and had mini fridge and microwave. Love that you can take your dog on beach with you. Check you Holiday inn book in your room for ice machine location's. Front desk told me it was on 2nd floor, I checked book and one was 5 doors down from me. Stayed on ground floor and had a patio to sit out on in Mornings. They also have an outdoor gas fire pit for when it gets cool.
Very relaxing stay.
ONLY BAD thing is they need a ramp to beach , for wheelchairs and strollers, I saw 4 mothers with kids and strollers that had to leave stroller at top of stairs. not good, Also saw a water wheelchair in low water area of ocean.Don't know how he got down, I guess someone carried it.
Please put in a ramp .

Room Tip: 160 to 169 ground floor closer to beach stairs. other end is 101 to 114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear lbrownga,

Great comments and advice appreciated! Thanks especially for mentioning the staff, who work very hard here, to make each guests stay here a special one.

The beach accesses are not in our control, but I will be passing your comments on to the state officials in control of these areas. There is a ramp about 150 yards south of our property for very good accessibility.

Fond regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Address: 701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.