We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not what we paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We eagerly awaited our trip to this new hotel. We had booked a suite online and paid for the whole 7 days a month ahead of time. When we got there, we had two non adjoining rooms. We were told the suites would not be ready for a few more weeks. We talked to the GM who had promised us a free upgrade because our previous attempts to go there turned out that the hotel was not ready. No free upgrade, no suite, either. Got $750 back. No water for a day no hot water for two days. The hotel is beautiful, but the inside restaurant was not ready. The laundry area is small but the one washer and dryer worked well. The other laundry areas were not ready yet. The ocean view is very nice. The prices of the hotel rooms do seem to fluctuate a lot. The grounds were immaculately manicured. Had we been called to let us know the suites were not available, we would have done something else. We do feel that the GM did the best he could under very trying circumstances. We have stayed at other HInns in the past, and we probably will again. We feel that a franchise hotel with a holding group constitutes potential for abuse and is not in the best interest of either Holiday Inn or the customers. Most staff is very nice but there are some exceptions to this. Had we known ahead of time that our suite was not going to be ready, we would have felt better about this trip. Best hotel bed we've ever slept on. The Sutters, Georgia

Room Tip: Check before you leave on your trip to make sure you are going to get what your reservation confirma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved the new rooms and atmosphere of the new hotel! Rented bikes for the day from the hotel and loved riding on the bike trails throughout the island. My only complaint is how dark the hotel is at night. (I know it has to do with the sea turtles) but it is easy for someone to trip on the sidewalks it is so dark!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Denah B,

We would agree that the bike trails on Jekyll are quite spectacular. Where else can one experience the beach, maritime forests, tidal marshes and historic landmarks, all in a three hour bike ride!

You are correct, the low level lighting on the ocean side of the hotel is designed to not interfere with the nesting habits of several endangered turtle species. (This is also an incredible wonder of nature that many have experienced up-close on Jekyll). We are required by law to comply. The upside of this, is the ability to stars in the night sky with unbelievable clarity!

We look forward to having you back!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We called and booked a reservation and was quoted $217.00 to be charged to our card after fees and taxes. When checking in they stated it would cost right at $300. They comprised and comped us some drink passes.
The room was clean, smelled good, and had a beautiful view. There is easy access to the beach and the outside bar and pool.
DON'T WALK IN THE GRASS STAY ON THE PATH THERE ARE CACTUS AND STICKER BUSHES.

The staff at the outside bar was fabulous. Dustin was our waiter several times during our stay. Great customer service.

The rusty anchor inside the hotel is not impressive overpriced. We ordered to pizzas for delivery. They called back and said they were too busy to bring them to the room. My husband had to go pick them up. The lady on the phone was extremely rude.

We would stay there again, but we will bring groceries for the mini fridge. There is a grocery store within walking distance of the hotel with places sit outside and eat.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear April S,

We were troubled to see your comments here, as we failed to deliver even a remotely acceptable level of service on two separate occasions. This is an embarrassment to our entire team. As I am unable to tell who you are from this posting, I would ask that you contact me to discuss your experience when it is convenient for you at (912)319-0037. We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities, but service is the foundation of the Holiday Inn Resort experience.

Most humbly,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I were traveling to Charleston from Florida and decided to stop in Ga. As we passed the turn for Jekyll Island we decided to try it. Once on the island we looked for a hotel that was on the ocean. One of the first hotels was Holiday Inn Resort and so we stopped there as it looked like a good place to stop.
When we entered our room I was delighted. The hotel had been refurbished about a month ago and everything is new and fresh. The decor is very beachy and pleasant. A back door opened onto a little private patio with a huge expanse of lawn and then the ocean. Divine. A lovely pool area with a big pool, smaller shallow pool and hot tub was located right beside a small outside dining, drink area. Everything was convenient and well thought out. I noticed a play area for children and bicycles that appeared to be available for use. We will definitely come back here and I hope it will be soon!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mary Lou L,

Thanks for the outstanding feedback, and we too look forward to your speedy return! Next time spend a few days and experience all that Jekyll has to offer.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is newly renovated and really great. Staff is amazing and accommodating for anything you need. This to the only nice hotel on the island that is right on the beach except the Westin which isn't open yet and more pricey. They have a great pool, great views of the beach and ocean with easy access. They also have a tiki bar which serves food and the fish tacos were awesome I recommend trying them. They also have great options for breakfast and pretty good coffee. They have a big tv at the tiki bar for watching sports which is great! They also have a martini and coffee bar on the third floor open from 7-9pm but they will stay open til 10 if people are they which is really nice and an awesome view from the third floor! I definitely recommend staying here you won't be disappointed at all trust me!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ryan W.,

We are glad you had the chance to experience so many of the amenities offered here at the Holiday Inn Resort at Jekyll Island. Sounds like you had a blast and enjoyed great food and drinks. We will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the hotel several times years ago, the last time being in 2007 - prior to the latest renovations. Due to a reservation snafu, my family was unable to stay in a particular, requested room. However, in a most professional manner the staff, and particularity management, made sure we had a beautiful, clean room with a great view. In a most caring manner, management seemed determined to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Indeed it was! The breakfasts and lunches at The Rusty Anchor were great and so convenient. The grounds were beautiful, and the renovations were lovely. I'm looking forward to our next visit, and would highly recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear beachbum19742015,

Thanks for the positive feedback. It is genuinely appreciated. Please bring your friends with you next time!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Our original plan was to stay at the much-delayed, new Westin. We booked there months in advance only to learn a few days prior to arrival the hotel would not be ready. Turned out to be a GOOD thing! We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn primarily because it was newly renovated. Glad we did! We had an excellent experience at our 'back-up' location and saved about $800 compared to the Westin Suite we booked earlier.

Our Holiday Inn room was a ground floor king. It was larger than expected and obviously in outstanding condition. Very comfy, shower-only bathroom with excellent water pressure, a large desk-like, vanity with well-designed shelves. The room had an upholstered side chair, microwave-equipped counter area, excellent quality hi-def TV, dresser drawer unit, etc. Overall, the decor did have a 'beachy' feel. Nice.

The hotel building is of older design, yet thoroughly gutted and modernized inside. We came to appreciate having both a front and back door to the room. Parking just steps from the back door was WONDERFUL. By the way, our room was adjacent to the outside cove that contained a beverage unit and ice machine. We never heard a thing from either.

The highlight of this property is the beachfront recreation area. It's huge, maybe 200 yards across. Pool complex is big, plenty of places to sit and, of course, the connected, outdoor bar restaurant. Everything in perfect order, including at least two outdoor shower trees and restrooms at the rear of the restaurant. There was a fire pit area and great-looking playground area in the sand. If you are bringing the kids, this hotel is a 'can't miss' option. We were childless senior citizens, however.

As already mentioned, the staircase (maybe 10 steps) down to the beach is very close. Easy access, magnificent, clean beach. A beach walker's paradise. Firm sand base.

The lobby area is VERY attractive and calming. Unfortunately, with the main bar and other amenities upstairs, there seemed little reason to spend time in the lobby. I'd suggest a small, portable, walk-up bar in the lobby with a few limited choices. This would certainly work at busier times. Maybe even for morning coffee (hint).

The matter of morning coffee was a problem for me, and others I observed. Right now, the coffee is only available at the poolside bar that opens at 7am. I usually arise at 5-6am. After Day 1, I drove down to the convenience store for less expensive and better-tasting take-out cups. They were open 24 hours.

We took advantage of the hotel's coin-op laundry room on the third level. That option deserves a second look by management. Can't imagine it will function for many guests, especially during busier times. The closet-like room included just ONE, apartment-size washing machine and adjacent dryer. Finding an 'opening' here could be rather difficult, and frustrating. We stayed when the hotel was only about one-third booked. We had access after about a 10 minute wait, but the demand was small that day. I didn't notice a public laundromat elsewhere on the island.

The hotel lists a $9 per day resort fee. Other than a somewhat slow internet connection, I'm not sure what additional services that charge provides.

We had one dinner at the hotel. It was above 'pool bar quality,' but nothing exceptional for the price. Paper and plastic cups and plates. Drank several adult beverages during our stay, at about $9.50 each, small to medium in size, as the amount of 'kick,' ice, and beverage height in the cup varied by bartender. Repeat visitors will probably choose to bring along their 'own' next time. Our other meals were enjoyed elsewhere.

All and all, we had a GREAT time and were quite satisfied. We would stay here again, at least while everything is still fresh, clean, and in working order. We can afford to stay elsewhere if this property starts to tarnish. Cleanliness is key for us. The hotel business is certainly challenging. I got the impression this was new ownership, still finding its way. Not fair to be harsh about any aspect. But, If this management keeps up, we will be back.

Right now, I can highly recommend this hotel. Actually seemed like quite the bargain!

Room Tip: Every room choice should suit. There is an elevator. More privacy on Level 2, but greater convenienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear FrequentTrav33,

We were overjoyed to see your comments here and really appreciate the time you took to articulate your experience at the Holiday Inn Resort at Jekyll Island. Thank you for pointing out the care that was taken to bring the outdoors in to the space. Close to $1M was spent to highlight our expansive landscape along the shore.

Tell your friends!

Sincerely,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Address: 701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.