We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWLY RENOVATED, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED STAYING HERE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEWLY RENOVATED, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED STAYING HERE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is newly renovated and really great. Staff is amazing and accommodating for anything you need. This to the only nice hotel on the island that is right on the beach except the Westin which isn't open yet and more pricey. They have a great pool, great views of the beach and ocean with easy access. They also have a tiki bar which serves food and the fish tacos were awesome I recommend trying them. They also have great options for breakfast and pretty good coffee. They have a big tv at the tiki bar for watching sports which is great! They also have a martini and coffee bar on the third floor open from 7-9pm but they will stay open til 10 if people are they which is really nice and an awesome view from the third floor! I definitely recommend staying here you won't be disappointed at all trust me!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ryan W.,

We are glad you had the chance to experience so many of the amenities offered here at the Holiday Inn Resort at Jekyll Island. Sounds like you had a blast and enjoyed great food and drinks. We will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the hotel several times years ago, the last time being in 2007 - prior to the latest renovations. Due to a reservation snafu, my family was unable to stay in a particular, requested room. However, in a most professional manner the staff, and particularity management, made sure we had a beautiful, clean room with a great view. In a most caring manner, management seemed determined to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Indeed it was! The breakfasts and lunches at The Rusty Anchor were great and so convenient. The grounds were beautiful, and the renovations were lovely. I'm looking forward to our next visit, and would highly recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear beachbum19742015,

Thanks for the positive feedback. It is genuinely appreciated. Please bring your friends with you next time!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Our original plan was to stay at the much-delayed, new Westin. We booked there months in advance only to learn a few days prior to arrival the hotel would not be ready. Turned out to be a GOOD thing! We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn primarily because it was newly renovated. Glad we did! We had an excellent experience at our 'back-up' location and saved about $800 compared to the Westin Suite we booked earlier.

Our Holiday Inn room was a ground floor king. It was larger than expected and obviously in outstanding condition. Very comfy, shower-only bathroom with excellent water pressure, a large desk-like, vanity with well-designed shelves. The room had an upholstered side chair, microwave-equipped counter area, excellent quality hi-def TV, dresser drawer unit, etc. Overall, the decor did have a 'beachy' feel. Nice.

The hotel building is of older design, yet thoroughly gutted and modernized inside. We came to appreciate having both a front and back door to the room. Parking just steps from the back door was WONDERFUL. By the way, our room was adjacent to the outside cove that contained a beverage unit and ice machine. We never heard a thing from either.

The highlight of this property is the beachfront recreation area. It's huge, maybe 200 yards across. Pool complex is big, plenty of places to sit and, of course, the connected, outdoor bar restaurant. Everything in perfect order, including at least two outdoor shower trees and restrooms at the rear of the restaurant. There was a fire pit area and great-looking playground area in the sand. If you are bringing the kids, this hotel is a 'can't miss' option. We were childless senior citizens, however.

As already mentioned, the staircase (maybe 10 steps) down to the beach is very close. Easy access, magnificent, clean beach. A beach walker's paradise. Firm sand base.

The lobby area is VERY attractive and calming. Unfortunately, with the main bar and other amenities upstairs, there seemed little reason to spend time in the lobby. I'd suggest a small, portable, walk-up bar in the lobby with a few limited choices. This would certainly work at busier times. Maybe even for morning coffee (hint).

The matter of morning coffee was a problem for me, and others I observed. Right now, the coffee is only available at the poolside bar that opens at 7am. I usually arise at 5-6am. After Day 1, I drove down to the convenience store for less expensive and better-tasting take-out cups. They were open 24 hours.

We took advantage of the hotel's coin-op laundry room on the third level. That option deserves a second look by management. Can't imagine it will function for many guests, especially during busier times. The closet-like room included just ONE, apartment-size washing machine and adjacent dryer. Finding an 'opening' here could be rather difficult, and frustrating. We stayed when the hotel was only about one-third booked. We had access after about a 10 minute wait, but the demand was small that day. I didn't notice a public laundromat elsewhere on the island.

The hotel lists a $9 per day resort fee. Other than a somewhat slow internet connection, I'm not sure what additional services that charge provides.

We had one dinner at the hotel. It was above 'pool bar quality,' but nothing exceptional for the price. Paper and plastic cups and plates. Drank several adult beverages during our stay, at about $9.50 each, small to medium in size, as the amount of 'kick,' ice, and beverage height in the cup varied by bartender. Repeat visitors will probably choose to bring along their 'own' next time. Our other meals were enjoyed elsewhere.

All and all, we had a GREAT time and were quite satisfied. We would stay here again, at least while everything is still fresh, clean, and in working order. We can afford to stay elsewhere if this property starts to tarnish. Cleanliness is key for us. The hotel business is certainly challenging. I got the impression this was new ownership, still finding its way. Not fair to be harsh about any aspect. But, If this management keeps up, we will be back.

Right now, I can highly recommend this hotel. Actually seemed like quite the bargain!

Room Tip: Every room choice should suit. There is an elevator. More privacy on Level 2, but greater convenienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear FrequentTrav33,

We were overjoyed to see your comments here and really appreciate the time you took to articulate your experience at the Holiday Inn Resort at Jekyll Island. Thank you for pointing out the care that was taken to bring the outdoors in to the space. Close to $1M was spent to highlight our expansive landscape along the shore.

Tell your friends!

Sincerely,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here over Easter break, property is beautiful, one of the families that were with us, had issues with getting into their room. They had a maid quit and did not get them in until 7pm, managers ended up cleaning the room. "*&^ happens, gave us lots of free food, I suggested free bikes for the evening and they did that as well! The staff was outstanding!

My family stayed in rooms 237 and 238 and they were crazy good....Looked out over the ocean, loved sitting on the deck relaxing. Room was clean, drinks were good, it was a nice inexpensive vaca.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MichiganSunlover100,

Thanks so much for you kind comments regarding your recent visit. I was pleased to hear that we were able to overcome the challenges with the rooming assignment of a member of your party. We appreciate your understanding. And thanks particularly for pointing out the experience you had with our staff. They are terrific and make it happen here every day!

With appreciation,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All rooms in the two-story hotel are ocean front. The room was large and fresh and comfortable. We loved it. The Rusty Anchor poolside bar/ restaurant had unexpectedly good food. We ate breakfast there every day. The pool was big and had a separate baby pool and a separate hot tub. The beach was just a few feet over the dune bridge . . The little "shopping center was right next door. We loved the staff! They were friendly and professional! We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jeffersonlady,

Your positive feedback is most appreciated and we thank you for highlighting your experience with our staff. We are fortunate to have them. We so look forward to your return visits.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for one night and loved it! Every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly. The rooms we stayed were beautiful with a great view of the ocean.

One thing was there was no lights on the balcony so it was too dark to sit out at night all together.

We plan to stay here again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MichiganSunlover100,

Thanks for your post and for relaying your positive comments about your Easter visit. I am so glad we were able to exceed your expectations despite the rooming issue we experienced. Hope to have you back as our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here on a whim for an overnight stay, we were one our way to Orlando. It was a lovely place! Bike trails, pool and a playground!! My kids were in heaven. The kids played on the playground while we relaxed at the pool bar/grill. We didn't try any of the food, we had already eaten but the menu did look good. The staff was pleasant and very courteous. I had some wonderful chats and everyone always inquired how our stay was and if we needed anything. As for the room, the hotel had only been opened for 4 weeks, it was in pristine condition. The room was very spacious and the bed was super comfortable. We were practically planning another visit before we had even checked out. We will definitely be back next year!
PS
I hope more of your hotels start adding playgrounds, such a great touch!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 4ofH,

We were so pleased to see your comments here and thank you for taking time to relay your positive experience! We are glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing your kids at the playground next year!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Address: 701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.