We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Our original plan was to stay at the much-delayed, new Westin. We booked there months in advance only to learn a few days prior to arrival the hotel would not be ready. Turned out to be a GOOD thing! We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn primarily because it was newly renovated. Glad we did! We had an excellent experience at our 'back-up' location and saved about $800 compared to the Westin Suite we booked earlier.

Our Holiday Inn room was a ground floor king. It was larger than expected and obviously in outstanding condition. Very comfy, shower-only bathroom with excellent water pressure, a large desk-like, vanity with well-designed shelves. The room had an upholstered side chair, microwave-equipped counter area, excellent quality hi-def TV, dresser drawer unit, etc. Overall, the decor did have a 'beachy' feel. Nice.

The hotel building is of older design, yet thoroughly gutted and modernized inside. We came to appreciate having both a front and back door to the room. Parking just steps from the back door was WONDERFUL. By the way, our room was adjacent to the outside cove that contained a beverage unit and ice machine. We never heard a thing from either.

The highlight of this property is the beachfront recreation area. It's huge, maybe 200 yards across. Pool complex is big, plenty of places to sit and, of course, the connected, outdoor bar restaurant. Everything in perfect order, including at least two outdoor shower trees and restrooms at the rear of the restaurant. There was a fire pit area and great-looking playground area in the sand. If you are bringing the kids, this hotel is a 'can't miss' option. We were childless senior citizens, however.

As already mentioned, the staircase (maybe 10 steps) down to the beach is very close. Easy access, magnificent, clean beach. A beach walker's paradise. Firm sand base.

The lobby area is VERY attractive and calming. Unfortunately, with the main bar and other amenities upstairs, there seemed little reason to spend time in the lobby. I'd suggest a small, portable, walk-up bar in the lobby with a few limited choices. This would certainly work at busier times. Maybe even for morning coffee (hint).

The matter of morning coffee was a problem for me, and others I observed. Right now, the coffee is only available at the poolside bar that opens at 7am. I usually arise at 5-6am. After Day 1, I drove down to the convenience store for less expensive and better-tasting take-out cups. They were open 24 hours.

We took advantage of the hotel's coin-op laundry room on the third level. That option deserves a second look by management. Can't imagine it will function for many guests, especially during busier times. The closet-like room included just ONE, apartment-size washing machine and adjacent dryer. Finding an 'opening' here could be rather difficult, and frustrating. We stayed when the hotel was only about one-third booked. We had access after about a 10 minute wait, but the demand was small that day. I didn't notice a public laundromat elsewhere on the island.

The hotel lists a $9 per day resort fee. Other than a somewhat slow internet connection, I'm not sure what additional services that charge provides.

We had one dinner at the hotel. It was above 'pool bar quality,' but nothing exceptional for the price. Paper and plastic cups and plates. Drank several adult beverages during our stay, at about $9.50 each, small to medium in size, as the amount of 'kick,' ice, and beverage height in the cup varied by bartender. Repeat visitors will probably choose to bring along their 'own' next time. Our other meals were enjoyed elsewhere.

All and all, we had a GREAT time and were quite satisfied. We would stay here again, at least while everything is still fresh, clean, and in working order. We can afford to stay elsewhere if this property starts to tarnish. Cleanliness is key for us. The hotel business is certainly challenging. I got the impression this was new ownership, still finding its way. Not fair to be harsh about any aspect. But, If this management keeps up, we will be back.

Right now, I can highly recommend this hotel. Actually seemed like quite the bargain!

Room Tip: Every room choice should suit. There is an elevator. More privacy on Level 2, but greater convenienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here over Easter break, property is beautiful, one of the families that were with us, had issues with getting into their room. They had a maid quit and did not get them in until 7pm, managers ended up cleaning the room. "*&^ happens, gave us lots of free food, I suggested free bikes for the evening and they did that as well! The staff was outstanding!

My family stayed in rooms 237 and 238 and they were crazy good....Looked out over the ocean, loved sitting on the deck relaxing. Room was clean, drinks were good, it was a nice inexpensive vaca.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All rooms in the two-story hotel are ocean front. The room was large and fresh and comfortable. We loved it. The Rusty Anchor poolside bar/ restaurant had unexpectedly good food. We ate breakfast there every day. The pool was big and had a separate baby pool and a separate hot tub. The beach was just a few feet over the dune bridge . . The little "shopping center was right next door. We loved the staff! They were friendly and professional! We will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear jeffersonlady,

Your positive feedback is most appreciated and we thank you for highlighting your experience with our staff. We are fortunate to have them. We so look forward to your return visits.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stopped here on a whim for an overnight stay, we were one our way to Orlando. It was a lovely place! Bike trails, pool and a playground!! My kids were in heaven. The kids played on the playground while we relaxed at the pool bar/grill. We didn't try any of the food, we had already eaten but the menu did look good. The staff was pleasant and very courteous. I had some wonderful chats and everyone always inquired how our stay was and if we needed anything. As for the room, the hotel had only been opened for 4 weeks, it was in pristine condition. The room was very spacious and the bed was super comfortable. We were practically planning another visit before we had even checked out. We will definitely be back next year!
PS
I hope more of your hotels start adding playgrounds, such a great touch!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 4ofH,

We were so pleased to see your comments here and thank you for taking time to relay your positive experience! We are glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing your kids at the playground next year!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort had just opened prior to my visit. In fact, 1/3 of the building was still under construction and some vegetation was still being established over most of the grounds. However, the rooms were very clean and quiet and each featured a balcony or porch with an excellent ocean view. Each room also offers easy access to both the pool and beach. The only negative of the room was the slow wifi speeds. I guess since the wifi is free, that is to be expected. The resort features a martini and coffee bar, a poolside restaurant and associated bar. While I did not eat, I did make daily visits to the coffee and one visit to the pool bar. My only negative experience was with the bartender at the pool bar. I ordered a mojito and it seems he had no idea how to properly make it. Additionally, I hope he washed his hands prior to making the drink because he touched every ingredient (as opposed to using a serving spoon or proper technique) and even went as far as to rub the mint leaves that went in my drink between his hands. The resort pool was clean and the pool area offered a hot tub and kids pool. The other staff at the resort are very friendly and helpful and seemed eager to please. All and all, my experience was quite pleasant and I will be returning in the future although I will not be ordering a cocktail from the bar. As time passes and the vegetation becomes more established on the grounds and the staff of the resort get more experience under their belts, it will be an excellent hotel option on Jekyll.

Room Tip: Rooms at the northernmost extent of the hotel (i.e Room 101/201) are closest to the beach and pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear emh285,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travelers and for your candid comments about your visit. We are glad you too recognize the transformation that has taken place here, and the incredible potential of this location that we have just begun to unveil.

Hopefully you brought the WIFI speed issue to someone's attention, as these things sometime need human intervention.

Our bartenders technique sounds suspect, and I have asked our Food and Beverage Director to address the preferred mortar method for mojitos with our staff. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As this is a relatively new property, my family and I thought it would be nice to try it out. We love Jekyll Island and have stayed there many times over the years. To be fair, this hotel has a lot going for it as it is located on the beach with some great views. Sadly, those benefits are tempered by a staff that just doesn't seem to care. One employee in particular, named Monica, seemed terribly bothered by having to do her job. Every question I asked her about the hotel or dining options was met with a sigh or a roll of the eyes. It is really unfortunate that the hire people like this that take away from what could be a great vacation experience.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Lubimy,

We thank you for your positive feedback regarding our recent renovations to the resort. But we regret that your less than positive experience with one our staff members, seemed to negate the entire experience. We are so very sorry that you didn't seek me out to discuss the issue personally. We aim to please, and are disappointed when we do not get the chance to recover from the inevitable blunder.

We appreciate the feedback, as we continue to evolve.

Most humbly,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort,beautiful large room,comfy beds,all oceanfront rooms,sat on the balcony to listen to the soothing waves and beautiful full moon glistening off the water.the glass enclosed gorgeous in-ground pool was amazing,with a kiddie pool for the kiddos.the landscaping and bright white walkways were beautiful.The restaurant had good snacks,but dinner wasn't very good.the staff was very friendly.they are building a new wing with kitchens so when we go back we will stay in one of those,makes it a lot easier to make something for the kids when they are "starving"

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear kja3075,

We thank you for taking the time to describe your Holiday Inn Resort experience to other visitor to Jekyll Island. We are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. Our suites will become available shortly, and many do offer kitchenettes for your convenience. Most all rooms at the hotel offer a microwave and small fridge. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations at our pool bar. You will be happy to know that our restaurant will be opening later this year and will really round out our dining offering.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island

Address: 701 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.