We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Mini Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Bronson, Florida
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Mini Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were very pleased with the hospitality the staff made sure you were taken care of. One staff member "Rose" was outstanding from the time of check in until we left she was fabulous. Yes the hotel is a little old but it was very clean from our room to the grounds. We utilized the pool along with other travelers and that was also kept up very well. The restaurant food was very good and the staff was very friendly. There was a large crowd in the restaurant each time we visited and they were a little shorthanded but needless to say they had great attitudes and made sure you were taken care of. The view from our room was spectacular overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

Room Tip: First floor rooms 800 nothing in the view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear stormi229:

I can't thank you enough for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Oceanside Inn and Suites. I have to agree that Rose is wonderful - she is one in a million and really exudes hospitality at its finest! I'm glad you were able to enjoy The SandBar and Grill while staying on property. Hope you were able to try our famous Shrimp & Grits!

We hope to see you again in the near future! We'll be saving a room for you!

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphysboro, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice time. Very accommodating staff. You feel like family here. The view of the ocean is the best on the island. It's a very short walk to the beach. This is a laid back destination with a lot of historical attractions to see. You can walk the the beach which is approximately seven miles long from north to south and only see a dozen or so people. North end is a driftwood beach and south end is great for shrimping. Talk to Rosé at the front desk and she will set you up and treat you right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ed B:

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Oceanside Inn and Suites! You truly captured what Jekyll Island is all about - a nice, relaxing beach destination that is unlike anywhere else around. It's so unspoiled and I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here. I will pass along your sweet comments about Rose. She's a terrific employee and I want to thank you for taking the time to send your comments.

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am writing about the fantastic and above the normal employees at the Oceanside Inn and Suites. We stay at this motel at least twice a year and on some of our trips bring our daughter and son in law to experience the wonderful treatment they give to us. They are like friends and family and know us by name when we arrive making our stay each time better than before. One particular employee that I would like to comment on is ROSE MEIXSEL. She works on the front desk (and anywhere we need anything she is there to assist). She is not just an employee as she makes it her business to go over and above to assist you. She is more like a friend! She is always promoting the Oceanside and telling you the best things to do to enjoy your visit. She recommends packages that give you more for your money. Rose is a great person to know and deal with. Thank you for all you do to help us when we are there on a visit. Being Senior Citizens this helps a lot. Diane Cook, Perry, GA

Room Tip: We always use LaNai rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear roopville:

It never ceases to amaze me how wonderful the guests at Oceanside Inn and Suites are! Thank you for letting me know about the excellent customer service you receive from Rose each time you come to Oceanside Inn and Suites. She's definitely an ambassador for Oceanside and Jekyll Island!

We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel and that you choose to stay with us at least twice a year. It really means a lot and you are part of the Oceanside family!

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want simple, clean, safe accommodation run by VERY FRIENDLY staff, look no further. Staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Safe, well-maintained access to a beautiful clean beach is located at each end of the property. Rose M. at the desk was wonderful, and genuinely cared that we had a great vacation. Deon B. in the restaurant is a great server, and fun to talk to. Yes, the property is a little dated - it happens. But they have big renovations planned. Renovations or not, we will DEFINITELY be back!

Room Tip: Try to get upstairs, in a room that includes a private covered balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear CraigW:

I am thrilled to read your comments regarding your recent stay at Oceanside Inn and Suites and your dining experience at The SandBar and Grill! Thank you so much for acknowledging Rose and Deon. They are both excellent employees!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is a dump and I honestly don't know who would have a wedding there. Way overpriced for what it is! Please go somewhere else. Try the place next door or across the street, they looked so much nicer. This place belongs in a horror movie. I threw away $203, y'all please don't do the same. Trust me. The tub backed up, there was hair from the previous guest on the walls and in the bathroom, the mirrors were disgusting, the room seriously needs updating, there was a slight dusty must smell, ugh!!!. Looks like one of those motels for $18 a night with the flashing light outside. Just because you can see the water doesn't make up for everything else, believe me! Please DON'T!

Room Tip: Do Not Do It!!!!! Please Don't!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Tyler C:

I am saddened to read your review of your recent stay here. I will be addressing these issues right away with our Housekeeping Manager as this is unacceptable. I appreciate you letting me know so that this can be corrected for the future.

While it doesn't make up for your unpleasant experience you will be delighted to hear that we will be doing extensive renovations during our off season this year. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future!

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Yes, the place is older and needs updating but overall it's the perfect location for a family and dog friendly beach vacation. While our rooms were outdated, they were clean and free of bugs. From our very first phone call inquiring about reservations to our check-out, the staff was very friendly. Courtesy and customer service were a priority to them. The entire grounds (parking lot, pool, playground, restaurant, etc) were well-kept and clean. Thank you to Holly White that was patient and very helpful with my elderly mother while making our reservation and ensuring that my parents had the handicap room needed, as my father has Parkinsons. Holly was polite and took her time in speaking with Mom so that she fully understood the charges, etc. Lisa in housekeeping was also very nice and polite - always a smile on her face. Alicia at the front desk was also very accommodating to our special needs due to my father's Parkinsons. The restaurant servers were friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were serve up hot, big and with a smile each day.

As for the "big ugly tree" that is mentioned in Miss K's review, please see the picture I posted of this beautiful water oak.

This property will soon be going through a renovation. I only hope they remain pet friendly. Our dogs had so much fun running off the leash on the beach. We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear MnSav:

I can't thank you enough for your kind words. It means so much that you took the time to personally acknowledge our employees, Holly, Lisa, and Alicia. These three ladies are gems here at Oceanside Inn and Suites and it seems their southern hospitality was evident during you and your parents' recent stay.

Again, thank you for letting me know about your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location is the ONLY thing going for this motel! Emphasis on "motel" instead of "hotel."
The rooms are in urgent need of updating. Paint was peeling on the walls, furniture not in great shape, beds not comfortable. It felt grimy and unclean, as well.
We couldn't get clean towels on either day that we were there until late in the evening. The explanation was a dryer malfunctioning. Figure out a work-around! Especially since the hotel is on the beach, and people are coming in wet and sandy - you need nice, clean towels after you've been at the beach all day!
Also, in today's day and age, there should at least be some sort of breakfast served. The meager fruit and coffee wasn't anywhere close to being what it should be.
Not impressed, and won't be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear JillEJill:

I want to thank you for letting me know about your recent stay at Oceanside Inn and Suites. I am so disappointed to read that your time here wasn't what it should have been. We pride ourselves on being a clean, family friendly, affordable beachfront hotel and it seems that we missed the mark on your stay. For that I want to apologize to you. We value you as a guest and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. We will be completing an extensive renovation during our off season and I think you'll be pleased with the outcome.

Thanks again for making me aware.

Sincerely,
Jason Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.