We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Greenwich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Island retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

On our way to Florida,we decided to spend the night on Jekyll Island. What a wonderful discovery!
The island is unspoiled and very historic. Our hotel, although old, was right on the ocean and great walking paths all along the beach. The historic section was interesting and our dinner at Latitude 21 was excellent. All in all a great stopover on our trip south. Will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vidalia, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I must recommend (Nicky) my vacation planner she was very professional , in handling all my needs that I requested. I have special needs in which she recommended a efficiency room with wheel chair accessibility. Ms Nicky was so helpful with my reservation, I did not have to worry.Once my reservation was on the master list of guaranty she gave me a call to confirm it. We need more customer sevice representives like this. I applause you.

Maylene Brown

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear mb30474,

We were glad to see that your special requests were fulfilled and confirmed by our team. We trust the remainder of your visit was positive. And thanks for going out of your way to recognize Nikki. We look forward to seeing you back on Jekyll Island in the near future!

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I must agree with all of the positive comments recently posted regarding Oceanside. The views are the best on Jekyll, the property is family and pet-friendly, the SandBar and Grill provides quality food for a good value, and the staff is wonderful. That said, I can't overstate how much a wonderful staff means in this situation. Everyone who works at or visits Oceanside is immediately faced with the obvious fact that the physical facility is not new. The challenges associated with maintaining these buildings in this location must be huge. Having visited regularly over the last several years, I have watched as the property was renovated and attempts to upgrade facilities were completed. Through it all, the staff continues to try to please their guests. With respect to the negatives that have been posted, I can only wonder if the deficiencies experienced by unhappy guests were pointed out to anyone during the visit. Any problem that I have observed is always addressed promptly from a staff member who smiles. It is obvious to me that Oceanside cares about their guests. The people are the heart of this special place. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear MayberryTraveler,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review. It is particularly gratifying to hear such positive comments regarding the Oceanside Inn and Suites Team. They really do excel at providing service to our many valued guests. Please come again soon and bring your friends!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We checked in today and I don't even want to shower here! The place is falling apart! And at 105 bucks for a parking lot view? Really? If I had my choice we would be back in the car ! I will never stay here again, stay on 95 the quality is way better . Now that says a lot!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guru908,

We were very troubled to see your post here, and learn that you were very disappointed with your experience. We do not recall you, but hope that you brought your concerns to the attention of our staff and they were handled promptly and to your satisfaction. You'll be happy to know that our new coffee makers arrive this week!

We hope you will consider Jekyll for a future visit!

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our trip was pleasant. The grounds were nice and kept well, with easy access to the beach. Although we didn't require any special services, the front desk attendants were very courteous and attentive. The room was a little less than I expected, rather outdated, and the carpet was torn. There was also hair in the sink, bathtub, and on the bathroom floor, but the bed was clean and comfortable. We absolutely loved the Sand Bar and Grill.
This trip was our 29th wedding anniversary, and we enjoyed a very quiet, relaxing weekend.
We will probably return, if we can get a nicer room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Lynn M.,

Thanks for celebrating your recent anniversary with Oceanside Inn and Suites. Our staff does work hard to fulfill your expectations, and that is why were disappointed to hear that your room was not prepared to our standards. We hope that you brought this to our attention while you were here. Thanks also for recognizing the SandBar and Grill, for the outstanding dining experience. We look forward to having you back!

Fond Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nothing fancy and a bit dated. This is typical of this island for the most part. If this could be an issue travel over to St. Simons instead. The best part about the inn is that it is animal friendly, as is the whole island. The inn is making efforts to be "GREEN" by placing two trash recepticals in the rooms, one for trash and the other for mixed recyclables. This inn has great staff that are friendly and helpful. I never had a meal from the restaurant onsite, but didn't hear any bad comments from any of the other guests. The room itself was simple, clean, had two televisions, comfy beds and a great view of the ocean. The towels were plentiful which was great. Great location on the island.

Room Tip: Take a lower room unless you just like having a balcony and useing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear BITTERBUG40,

Thanks for your comments and for recognizing the loyal, long term members of the Oceanside Staff, who make things tick here. Thanks also for recognizing just SOME of the many efforts undertaken here to Reuse, Reduce and Recycle. We take our role in conservation very seriously. We look forward to seeing you on Jekyll Island again very soon!

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Back for a visit this year to Jekyll Island and Oceanside. It felt just like coming home. The hotel still has the best spot on the island with the best ocean views for almost every room. If you accept that it is an older facility with some limitations, you will still enjoy the clean rooms, plenty of linens and amenities, and helpful, friendly staff. If there is a request or any problem at all, it seems any staff member is eager to help immediately. The location and the staff are the strongest assets. Our room this year had new carpet and newer refrigerator, and our bed was very comfortable. We appreciated two flat screen TV's as well. The adjacent Sandbar restaurant was very convenient, and we loved the early bird dinner specials. We left ours at home this year, but this a very pet friendly place, too.

Room Tip: Second story offers best views from private balconies in the 100, 200 and 400 series. Smoking allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MonNat,

I couldn't have stated it any better myself! Thanks for relaying your positive experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites with your fellow travelers! We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.