We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Reidsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thanks for the upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The view from the room overlooked the beach . The room was clean but noisy from the others that also were in the adjoining rooms....still it was good value for the money. I appreciated being upgraded to a suite with a hot tub. very nice...The restaurant next door served a buffet breakfast however it was a little pricey for what one received....enjoyed the walk on the beach which was almost secluded.

Room Tip: if there there when there in the off season ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MrBean30453,

We appreciate the time you've taken to relay your experiences at Oceanside Inn and Suites. We were sorry to hear that other guests may have been disruptive to you in any way, and hope the upgraded room made up for this in some small way. At $8.95, our breakfast buffet is the best deal going on Jekyll Island, but there are more cost effective items on our normal breakfast menu. Thanks for letting us know.

Kind regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This older property, one that has been reasonably well maintained and upgraded, seems to stretch for miles along a wondrous beach. My room, $95+ resort and pet fees, was pretty standard, showing signs of wear and tear. The room also had two connecting doors which I loathe and which leaked the sounds of my neighbours.

I used a facecloth to wash some of the surfaces (remote, telephone, table lamps) and the white square was not a pretty site when I was done. Plus, I discovered a little piece of poop in the toilet. Not top-notch housekeeping by any means. The duty manager (Nikki) resolved the situation to my satisfaction and sent someone to scrub the bowl.

The restaurant's food was better than expected (shrimp both deep-fried and broiled quite good, chowder very good, crab cakes much better than average) but their house Merlot was more like grape juice and the gin in the martinis tasted seriously watered down. Total for three including tax and a good tip (although the pleasant server forgot a few basics like cutlery) was $150.

But it's all on fabulous Jekyll Island and fairly reasonably priced... and they accept dogs.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms aren't that much more than those with a view onto the parking lot and are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear chasinchelsea,

Thanks for sharing your observations with fellow travelers! We are glad that, overall, your experience was a positive one, and we look forward to having you back again soon. We agree on your tip to upgrade to an Oceanfront Room, as it is a small price to pay for an incredible view! We regret that your room was not properly cleaned or inspected upon your arrival, and are glad that we rose to the occasion to rectify that.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Oceanside Inn & Suites. It is right on the beach and VERY dog friendly. It's not the nicest hotel but I didn't expect it to be because I did my research before booking. It is dated but is very clean and the staff was very nice. I would stay again and I would recommend. They only thing you need to keep in mind is that it is dated so keep your expectations realistic. If you like very nice hotels, don't stay here. If you like average hotels but that have a GREAT view and peacefulness this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear kernh15,

Thanks for your candid review of Oceanside Inn and Suites. We are so glad that we fulfilled your expectations, and that you took the time to let everyone know. Come again soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Oceanside over the Thanksgiving weekend 2012. We used an upgrade to stay in a little nicer suite ( large room on the left side of the hotel next to the beach with hottub) than we usually do. The beach was nice, deserted and clean. The little restaurant was closed by he time we got ther, so we repeated Thanksgiving dinner over on the Pier. Our room was ok and quiet. Another reviewer here criticized the lack of lights outside the room. I LOVE that factor, Jekyll is one of the safest places I know of, I love to sit outside, quietly, enjoy the sun going down and the stars coming out, wihtout feeling Im on display, everyone looking. Knowing that the lights are turned out to keep the sea turtles on track is an added benefit. The staff gave us a nice cheese basket when we told them we stayed there for our 26th anniversary,,,,we originally decided to plot our life's plans together at this hotel,,,back in 1985.
Used to stay at this hotel when I was a kid, back in the early 1960s, still love to stay here. The pool is pleasant (met a brewer from Connecticutt, learned a little about beer). Meals at the little restaurant were pleasant and not expensive. Will make plans to come back,,rent two rooms side by side, and bring kids in '13.

Room Tip: Staff is nice,. compliment them when they do a good job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear sjp38501,

Thanks very much for celebrating your anniversary with us and for continuing to support this institution known as Oceanside Inn and Suites, where third generation employees serve third generation guests. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you this summer!

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, Vt.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here on a one night stay on my way to Florida. I chose Oceanside Inn & Suites while searching for lodging. The room we were given was outdated, dirty, and in poorly maintained condition. Doors were old and broken, but locks worked. The room needs to be reconditioned completely.
In summary I was disappointed in the room even though the location is nice beside the ocean. I would not recommend it to a friend.
The Restaurant attached was OK - fair meal for a fair price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear St_Albans_Vt_Jim,

We regret failing to meet your expectations for your overnight stop at our hotel. Oceanside is an older facility that offers value conscious travelers a chance to actually stay in some of our rooms on the beach for about $60 in January. But we keep it clean and deliver excellent service, especially when guest's concerns are brought to our attention. There are newer facilities on the island, should you consider a return visit to our fair shores.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have traveled a lot. I've never left a property. I left this one. I've never seen a broken tub taped. There was dirt and dust on the lampshades. The doors and walls were peeling and gashed. Behind the bed was too scary.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear 1TravelerVaUSA,

We were very troubled to see your post here. It sounds as though we may have assigned you to a room that had not been properly inspected. We hope you were able to bring these issues to our attention while you were here, because we aim to please. Kindly let me know personally if we did not make it right for you.

Fond regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Room was clean, the people were Friendly and very helpful to our needs. We had a great time. Other family ask me wher to stay on several occasions and They stayed here also. They agree that they had a good stay.Its Dog Friendly and that is a plus if you have one.We had nice walks on the Beach and enjoyed the coffee as the sun set over the Ocean. It was Quiet and relaxing. More pillows would have been nice. Other then that, We were very happy. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear cshadowadams,

Thanks for the lovely post. We are glad that you had such a great experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island! We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.