We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Oceanside Inn & Suites. It is right on the beach and VERY dog friendly. It's not the nicest hotel but I didn't expect it to be because I did my research before booking. It is dated but is very clean and the staff was very nice. I would stay again and I would recommend. They only thing you need to keep in mind is that it is dated so keep your expectations realistic. If you like very nice hotels, don't stay here. If you like average hotels but that have a GREAT view and peacefulness this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear kernh15,

Thanks for your candid review of Oceanside Inn and Suites. We are so glad that we fulfilled your expectations, and that you took the time to let everyone know. Come again soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Oceanside over the Thanksgiving weekend 2012. We used an upgrade to stay in a little nicer suite ( large room on the left side of the hotel next to the beach with hottub) than we usually do. The beach was nice, deserted and clean. The little restaurant was closed by he time we got ther, so we repeated Thanksgiving dinner over on the Pier. Our room was ok and quiet. Another reviewer here criticized the lack of lights outside the room. I LOVE that factor, Jekyll is one of the safest places I know of, I love to sit outside, quietly, enjoy the sun going down and the stars coming out, wihtout feeling Im on display, everyone looking. Knowing that the lights are turned out to keep the sea turtles on track is an added benefit. The staff gave us a nice cheese basket when we told them we stayed there for our 26th anniversary,,,,we originally decided to plot our life's plans together at this hotel,,,back in 1985.
Used to stay at this hotel when I was a kid, back in the early 1960s, still love to stay here. The pool is pleasant (met a brewer from Connecticutt, learned a little about beer). Meals at the little restaurant were pleasant and not expensive. Will make plans to come back,,rent two rooms side by side, and bring kids in '13.

Room Tip: Staff is nice,. compliment them when they do a good job!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear sjp38501,

Thanks very much for celebrating your anniversary with us and for continuing to support this institution known as Oceanside Inn and Suites, where third generation employees serve third generation guests. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you this summer!

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, Vt.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here on a one night stay on my way to Florida. I chose Oceanside Inn & Suites while searching for lodging. The room we were given was outdated, dirty, and in poorly maintained condition. Doors were old and broken, but locks worked. The room needs to be reconditioned completely.
In summary I was disappointed in the room even though the location is nice beside the ocean. I would not recommend it to a friend.
The Restaurant attached was OK - fair meal for a fair price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear St_Albans_Vt_Jim,

We regret failing to meet your expectations for your overnight stop at our hotel. Oceanside is an older facility that offers value conscious travelers a chance to actually stay in some of our rooms on the beach for about $60 in January. But we keep it clean and deliver excellent service, especially when guest's concerns are brought to our attention. There are newer facilities on the island, should you consider a return visit to our fair shores.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have traveled a lot. I've never left a property. I left this one. I've never seen a broken tub taped. There was dirt and dust on the lampshades. The doors and walls were peeling and gashed. Behind the bed was too scary.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear 1TravelerVaUSA,

We were very troubled to see your post here. It sounds as though we may have assigned you to a room that had not been properly inspected. We hope you were able to bring these issues to our attention while you were here, because we aim to please. Kindly let me know personally if we did not make it right for you.

Fond regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Room was clean, the people were Friendly and very helpful to our needs. We had a great time. Other family ask me wher to stay on several occasions and They stayed here also. They agree that they had a good stay.Its Dog Friendly and that is a plus if you have one.We had nice walks on the Beach and enjoyed the coffee as the sun set over the Ocean. It was Quiet and relaxing. More pillows would have been nice. Other then that, We were very happy. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear cshadowadams,

Thanks for the lovely post. We are glad that you had such a great experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island! We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because they allow dogs... We stayed December 8. It's a superb location, but it's a shame the rooms are so yucky. We had to go buy bleach spray for the bathroom! I have never seen mold like that before! It was even on the ceiling!! What is so disappointing is that bleach is cheap, why dont they use it? Complete lack of detail.. if they are lazy with that, what other corners are they cutting? Also, the carpet was completely torn away from the walls, like they just threw it in (years ago, it is old too) and didn't stretch it to fit. A BIG error on their part is also the lack of good lighting outside the rooms and grounds at night. We were in rm 815 on the beach side, and at night it was so dark and dangerous. Bring a flash light! They have a little area with lounge chairs and we would have loved to sit and enjoy, but there were NO lights! Totally unsafe. So instead, we had to sit in that nasty room even though it was only 7 pm! Complaining did no good. No one seemed to care. Complete waste of money!

Room Tip: Just don't choose this motel and you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear KellyandKristen,

We were so disappointed to see your review here. The conditions you experienced are highly unusual and troubling at the same time. Our staff is well trained to respond to guest concerns and I trust that we properly handled the cleanliness issues, after you brought them to our attention.

We do maintain extremely low lighting on the property's oceanfront lawn in an effort to protect nesting sea turtles in the area. We're sorry that you did not see the information left in your room to that effect.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have stayed in the same room in December over the past several years. The room is always clean and the staff is beyond excellent. They are always friendly and very helpful. I bring a group and it is great having the restaurant right next door. Rose at the front desk is a great PR person for property. She treats everyone like her next door neighbor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Shirley D,

Thanks very much for the very positive feedback. We are glad your group had such a nice experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island. We hope you will continue to make us a frequent travel destination.

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.