We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Lizella
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been to Jekyll Island many times.We have stayed at different places on the island through the years.We have stayed at this one twice now,this time getting the "Superior Guest Room" which is ocean front.The room configuration is great,with a nice sitting area next to the bed
area.Could use a few updates(shower faucet)and the bed mattresses/spring are about worn out.
We stayed in room number 216.We will go back here again but requesting a different room because of the beds.We usually go here during Thanksgiving week due to rates, which are pretty good this time of the year.BTW--Second floor offers better view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better view,check out beds first thing when checked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear larry2012rush,

We were very pleased to see your post here with another positive experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites. We were glad you selected the Superior Room, which offers a private balcony or patio compared to the Standard Oceanfront Guestroom. In addition to the extra square footage, they all offer two televisions as well. Thanks so much for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We brought our daughter and son in law for a family weekend and stayed at Oceanside Inn & Suites. We had an awesome visit and the employees there are fantastic and do everything they can to make sure we are happy. Everything is always clean and the staff are friendly and are always happy to see us. At the front desk we always look for ROSE as she is more than an employee, she is our FRIEND!!! Also this trip we met Teoria and she was so nice and sweet and ready to do anything to see that all went great for us. Another wonderful employee is LINDA in the restaurant, she is the best waitress anywhere! This trip we got a package deal and it was great especially the gift kit. We will be back for sure in the spring. Thanks for the wonderful visit. Diane Cook

Room Tip: We always ask for the Lanai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear roopville,

Thank you ever so much for your glowing feedback regarding your recent visit to Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island. We were very proud to read about the specific members of our team that impacted your visit in such a positive way. We are glad that you selected a package for this visit, as they always represent the best value proposition for our guests. We look forward to having you back in the Spring.

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Perfect location oceanfront suite with hotub.Staff very friendly, meals were reasonbly priced; the Georgia shrimp n grits was delicious. The grounds were neatly groomed and very clean. Live music Saturday night made for a relaxing yet fun time.

Room Tip: Rooms 100 thru 112 are better choice as away from main areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Beachlvr57,

Thanks for the great post and for sharing your positive experience with others. Ms. Pat at The SandBar makes the best shrimp and grits in the south...delicious is right! Please come see us again soon.

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

here were several issues we had during our shourt stay here last weekend. The room next door had two dogs that barked throughout the night, the confirmation email stated that we would be in a room with a bath tub however we were placed in a handicap accessible room with open shower, and even though we paid an extra $20 for a late checkout we awoke to a loud noise and shaking room due to sharing a wall with housekeepings laundry room. It was just a short anniversary trip and we still had a great time but were let down by Oceancide Inn and Suites,

Room Tip: Stay away from room 817. It shares a wall with housekeepings laundry room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear JoeBates11,

We were very troubled to see your comments posted. It sounds like you were just here overnight, and probably did not wish to report any disturbances while you were here. We sincerely regret the unpeaceful night of rest on our otherwise quiet island. Please contact me personally before your next visit. I'd like to make it up to you in some small way.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is perfect for families or anyone who loves nature. The ocean can be viewed from almost every room, the dolphins jump frequently, and the deer graze right out by the ocean. The pool is oceanfront and perfect for adults and children. The staff is fabulous and super friendly. Be sure to ask to meet Rose when you go! She is the BEST!! We have been coming to this hotel for 50 years and I LOVE it! It is older and has a few quirks but the benefits outweigh anything negative that could be said.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear KarenGeorgia_USA,

We'd like to use your comments to promote Oceanside! We are so glad that our property and Jekyll Island hold such special meaning for you and your family. It is a nature lovers paradise. Still NO traffic lights on Jekyll! We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Oceanside Inn and Suites can't be beat for its location and views. The efficiencies are especially convenient with full-on views of the ocean. These rooms are spacious, with two double beds, a kitchen, living/sitting area, and balcony (second floor) or patio (ground floor).

Caveats include the condition of the facilities. Some, but not all, rooms have been refurbished. Conditions of the furniture range from brand new to worn and stained. The same goes for conditions of appliances and kitchenware. While some rooms show wear and tear, they are generally clean.

As with most facilities of 1950's vintage, things can go awry. Our toilet had a mind of its own, and began flushing itself one evening. The next day, the chain broke and it wouldn't flush at all. We called the desk, and within an hour maintenance arrived and quickly handled the repair.

With all its peculiarities, we hope that Oceanside Inn & Suites maintains its unique character. Returning to Oceanside year after year, is like visiting a favorite relative: Familiar, charming, and a bit quirky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear HomeGoneHome,

We thought your comments were spot-on, and glad that you recognize the nostalgia in a historic hotel like Oceanside Inn and Suites. Our team is working hard to preserve this experience and the incredible value offered at this oceanfront resort. For the record, we are constantly renovating the property and invest every penny (usually more) than we make, right back into the facility. It is a never ending process. Come again soon.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We are inn out 50's and 60's and got married April of 2011. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. We just went back for the night and it was just as good as the last time. We walked in the front door of our room and then walked out the back door and were on the beach. it is beautiful scenery and a lovely place to visit. The hotel is a little older and needs some outside fixing up, but you can't ask for a better room or better staff. We locked outselves out of the room, and had 3 different people want to help us in 5 minutues. Don't miss this wonderful place!

Room Tip: all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Barbara31313,

We appreciate your generous comments and for pointing out the above average service delivered by our team. We look forward to seeing you back at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island real soon.

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.