We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location & Views, with caveats.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanside Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location & Views, with caveats.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Oceanside Inn and Suites can't be beat for its location and views. The efficiencies are especially convenient with full-on views of the ocean. These rooms are spacious, with two double beds, a kitchen, living/sitting area, and balcony (second floor) or patio (ground floor).

Caveats include the condition of the facilities. Some, but not all, rooms have been refurbished. Conditions of the furniture range from brand new to worn and stained. The same goes for conditions of appliances and kitchenware. While some rooms show wear and tear, they are generally clean.

As with most facilities of 1950's vintage, things can go awry. Our toilet had a mind of its own, and began flushing itself one evening. The next day, the chain broke and it wouldn't flush at all. We called the desk, and within an hour maintenance arrived and quickly handled the repair.

With all its peculiarities, we hope that Oceanside Inn & Suites maintains its unique character. Returning to Oceanside year after year, is like visiting a favorite relative: Familiar, charming, and a bit quirky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear HomeGoneHome,

We thought your comments were spot-on, and glad that you recognize the nostalgia in a historic hotel like Oceanside Inn and Suites. Our team is working hard to preserve this experience and the incredible value offered at this oceanfront resort. For the record, we are constantly renovating the property and invest every penny (usually more) than we make, right back into the facility. It is a never ending process. Come again soon.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    110
    56
    59
    82
See reviews for
131
160
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We are inn out 50's and 60's and got married April of 2011. We stayed 3 nights and loved it. We just went back for the night and it was just as good as the last time. We walked in the front door of our room and then walked out the back door and were on the beach. it is beautiful scenery and a lovely place to visit. The hotel is a little older and needs some outside fixing up, but you can't ask for a better room or better staff. We locked outselves out of the room, and had 3 different people want to help us in 5 minutues. Don't miss this wonderful place!

Room Tip: all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Barbara31313,

We appreciate your generous comments and for pointing out the above average service delivered by our team. We look forward to seeing you back at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island real soon.

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First, the ocean view is great. Also, the grounds are very nice for children playing, people riding bikes, etc. However, my room reeked of just moldy, mildew smell. It was much more than normal beach smell. I used Lysol and room fresheners and they helped some. The best alternative was to sit on the patio and leave the door open for fresh air. The bathroom had permanent rust stains and was not cleaned up to par. The bed was comfortable, but the furniture is worn. Thank goodness we could stay outside a lot. The staff was helpful when I made a request of them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear mTexas,

Thanks very much for your comments regarding your recent visit to Oceanside. We are glad that you enjoyed our prominent location on the Atlantic Ocean, the family friendly amenities and our beautiful grounds. I am hopeful that when you brought any room issues to our attention that they we immediately rectified. We hope to see you back on Jekyll Island in the near future.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Check in was OK with pleasant employees greeting you. We paid for a 2 night stay in the Lanai room, which came with a jacuzzi in the sitting area. The room was was not cleaned properly, cigarette butts on the balcony. The room had broken mirrors and the mirrors were not cleaned. The furniture was outdated and the pullout couch was very uncomfortable. We checked out after the first night, and no one asked how the stay was. The girl told me Expedia will send our receipt. This place is off our places to stay. We even sprayed the room with Lysol.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra money for the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Joe P,

We were so very disappointed to see your post here and regret that you didn't take a moment to let us know, while you were here, that we failed to meet your expectations. It sounds as though your room was not properly inspected prior to your arrival. I've alerted our Chief Engineer to immediately search for any broken mirrors in our Lanai Rooms, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you found more comfortable accommodations elsewhere.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been visiting Oceanside Inn and Suites since it was the Wanderer. We have seen many changes, most for the better. Suites are great with living room area and kitchenette. Please never change that. Bathrooms are functional but need renovation again! We always enjoy are stay because of the lovely staff, especially Rose, and the proximity to the ocean, lovely views. Grounds are kept clean and neat, nice playground for children, lovely oceanfront pool area. Restaurant is good for the value and staff are friendly.

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than 3 or more days, choose an Ocean Front efficiency, Although the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jbsutherland2002,

We genuinely appreciate your positive feedback and your loyal patronage of Oceanside Inn and Suites. Many things have changed on Jekyll Island over the years, and we are glad that many guests like yourself, enjoy rekindling memories on our beautiful beach. We so look forward to seeing you here for years to come.

Fond regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just spent the weekend there for the Ga/Fl game. We had a great weekend and the staff was great! Mrs Rose was very helpful and took great care of us! We will be back..Thank you! Mr and Mrs Michael Jones, Beaufort SC

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Palmettomedic,

We were delighted to see your post here and to learn of your woderful experience. Thanks so much for pointing out the great service delivered by Rose, who has been graciously welcoming guests to Oceanside Inn and Suites for over 12 years! We look forward to seeing you on Jekyll Island very soon!

Cheers,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

my third trip...just love love love Oceanside Inn & Suites!!! best location, best views, best staff...my husband and i stayed 3 nights and will be back SOON! Great value for the money. We had a blast I wouldnt stay anyplace else on the Island..Oh and the breakfast buffet is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISGM, General Manager at Oceanside Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear ann s,

Wow! Thanks for the very kind words and for sharing your positive experience at Oceanside Inn and Suites on Jekyll Island with fellow travelers. We look forward to having you here again very soon.

Regards,

Jason Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn & Suites

Address: 711 N Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Oceanside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Inn And Suites
Oceanside Hotel Jekyll Island
Oceanside Jekyll Island
Oceanside Inn Jekyll Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.