We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value, excellent restaraunt too” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location & value, excellent restaraunt too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We rented a mini-condo for a week at Villas by the Sea (Unit 229 through a local rental company). This was our first real trip (other than a one night stay last winter) to Jekyll. I did a lot of research on lodging, so I was aware of the tide tables (and lack of beach access during certain parts of the day). Also, I knew our unit would not be oceanfront, so I was not disappointed in having to walk a short distance during high tides to take full advantage of the beach. We had a great time, and Villas by the Sea met our expectations. For the money, this was a great place to stay. Now if you are willing to pay $200 or more per night, you would probably want to look at other places. We found other vacationers were a lot of families with young children, grandparents with their grandchilder, older couples, etc. Lots seemed to be staying for a few nights not a whole week. Our Unit was located near the playground and our son loved it because there were almost always some nice children out to play. The Driftwood Bistro at VBS is excellent. There prices and quality of the food were some of the best we found on the island. We liked the food there ($) and our other favorite was dining at Crane Cottage at the Jekyll Island Club ($$$), so go figure! I would definitely give Villas by the Sea a chance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    44
    37
    44
See reviews for
130
135
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We had a nice, relaxing long weekend at Villas by the Sea. This is a quiet, naturally wooded location....the villas blend into the setting...just.as it should. Although we had a small child with us....this would be especially nice for couples, young and old alike.
Only downside we noted was the beach accesses are not "user friendly" but there are signs to warn you how slippery they can be. They also have a high step down. Good thing the pavilion and boardwalk is a great place to sit, sun or just relax with the gentle breezes ....no need to get out on the beach at all.

The rooms were clean and fully appointed with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Just be sure to take insect repellant!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Not really sure what to say other than this was the nicest place I have ever stayed. I have beeen traveling since about the age of 15. Im now 28 but villas by the sea topped the cake. it was so great to walk out of the back yard and onto a pier that was right on the beach. It was so peacefully and wonderful. I remember just standing on the pier saying how beautiful everything was and it was all made by my heavenly Father. So glad He gave wisdom to someone to build villas by the sea! it just adds to the beauty thats already there!!! My wife and I shall return for the 2nd honeymoon!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Excellent hotel. Great location and access to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We just got back from a weekend trip to the Villas by the Sea. First thing was check-in. The only complaint I have about the place was this part. The lady that checked us in was extremely rude. It was about 10:30 at night so Im assuming she was just tired but it was not a very good first impression.
Luckily that was the only bad experience that we had with the hotel. We stayed in "Justin 304." We were very impressed. The place was very well decorated and taken care of. We had everything we needed. Pool was very nice as were the grounds. I would definetely recommend staying here. Its a beautiful place. I dont really care for the beach area behind the villas because the only access is from a pier. my husband and I both went down early in the morning to look for shells and the pier is so slippery after the tide goes out that we both fell off the steps. Not to mention the steps were completely falling apart. Be very cautious. I left with a concussion and my husband left with a cut arm. It can be very dangerous. Other than the pier issue and the lady at the front desk, the villas by the sea is a great place to get away and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth,Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

One night my partner went out to see the ocean and got scared by two raccoons. We thought that this was a freak incident. The next night she went on the patio to relax and to hear the ocean, She was attacked and chased into the room by the same two raccoons. We reported the incident and the establishment did nothing. when we left we saw them going through the trash cans. Also there were blinds broken in the room also, so we could not close the blinds.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan1980, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Villas by the Sea is located on a lush tropical island owned by the state of Georgia in which only 35% is developed. That is one of the best things about our location. You can experience our resort while experiencing nature. All wild life on Jekyll Island are protected and revered for their beauty. In addition to raccoons, there are numerous birds, squirrels, and deer to name a few. None of which have been reported to have "attacked". The raccoons have been feed by guests in the past, that's why they showed interest in this couple. They caused no harm other than being an animal of the wild.

We were unaware of anything wrong with the blinds, nothing was reported to us so that we could correct the problem if there was one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I found the deal online as a March (slow season) half price discount. When we arrived I quickly realized it was the nicest place on the island.
Our room was nice but a little smaller than what I expected from all the pictures online. The restuarant was not too good to be honest but they had free appetizers which was cool.
One misconception we had was the website said the pool was solar heated which made me think it was something nicer than just a regular pool, but it is just a regular pool heated only by the sun.
The first night our hot water went out completely which sucked but they sent maintenance right away to fix it. They didn't fix it all the way so the next night they brought plumbers to the room. There were like 6 plumbers in our room making an insane amount of rackit. Annoying! But the hotel made up for it by switching us to an AWESOME room upgrade.
So far the hotel has been very helpful and it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.