We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One overnight in February 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One overnight in February 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked 1 night enroute from Miami to Maryland. You have to pay $6.00 to get on the island. The room was large with a full kitchen and a sofa(futon). Altho the furnishings were not high end, the unit met all our needs and everything in the unit worked. Wi-fi access was free and fine. Lots of biking and walking trails and, altho it was February and cold, we would stay there again. We did not choose oceanfront/view but enjoyed being the in woodsy atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    107
    42
    36
    42
See reviews for
126
125
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The customer service was outstanding. Tammy the wedding coordinator really helped us out with every last detail (including moving the entire ceremony indoors due to a passing thunderstorm!)
Villas are cute even though a little bit older, are still charming. We missed the bar/restaurant inside the main building, they closed at 9pm! Overall a very nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a weekend getaway here looking for a quiet place to relax. The island was lovely, peaceful, pretty and interesting. The room we had was spacious, but very dated. It was all a little shabby reminding me of a 70's holiday resort. The apartment was a nice size in the living area, small bedroom & bathroom. The heating was so noisy that it woke us many times through the night kicking in. The bistro was good. The food was tasty, well priced and a good selection of beers and wines. Service staff were lovely. The reception staff were not particularly nice or helpful, they just did only what they had to and not a thing more.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlehurst, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice & Quiet place to stay. Several duplex condo type buildings are scattered across the property shaded my trees draped in Spanish Moss. Had a single apartment style with queen bedroom & pull out sofa in the dining area. Small by efficient. Nice size bathroom. Queen bed was comfy but the pillows were awful. Would have been nice to have at least a small TV in bedroom. Only a love seat size sofa in main room that was not very comfortable for 2 people to watch TV. Only other seating was the 2 chairs at the small dining table. We ended up pulling out the bed to have more room to watch tv. Parking space were narrow for my full size pickup truck which made loading & unloading an issue. Great restaurant on the property was a huge plus. Free wifi was nice but it was slow. All in all, a nice property just a few minor issues.

Room Tip: The property consists of upstairs & downstairs duplexs. Hauling luggage to an upstairs room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked into a studio but there was a problem with a strong air freshener smell. The only other dog friendly condo available was an upgrade to a one bedroom ocean side condo. They made this change without any additional charge and were nice about it.
We decided that when we visit next year it is worth the additional cost and that is what we would reserve.
Since each condo is individually owned and you can't request a particular unit there is variation from condo to condo.
We enjoyed the Beachcomber Restaurant which is right on the grounds.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This is an older property, but it is well maintained and very nice. We have stayed there for one week twice & like it very much. Jekyll Island is a great place for a quiet vacation, and this is an excellent place to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Loved it here in January. Beach is right out the back door. Our condo was clean and was just the right size for the two of us. Can't wait to get back. Could hear the Ocean right by our backdoor. Staff at check in and check out were friendly.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Tingo so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.