We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FAMILY REUNION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEST FAMILY REUNION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4TH OF JULY BASH
my familyand i all rented at least 14 villas or more, it was over 175 of our family members the vilas range from 1-3 bedrooms all bed rooms were upstairs, My son and his 2 kids stayed with my husband an I . We had a short walk to the pier and Beach area. We stayed 4 days and 3 nights
FRIDAY NITE WAS MEET AND GREET
NITE, WE ALL MET IN THE LITTLE RESTARAUNT UP FRONT FOR DINKS AND MIXTURE OF
MUSIC AND FUN , WE THEN GOT ALL OUR ROOMS SOME WENT ON A LITTLE BOAT CRUISE OTHERS WENT TO THE POOL AREA OTHERS TO THE BEACH AREA AND SOME
TOURED THE ISLAND, THE MGNT OF THE RESORT WAS THE BEST THEY ACCOMENDATED US WITH ALL THE AMMENITIESA THAT WE NEEDED thye allowed us to set up a picnic area for the family Barbeque on the grounds with tents and tables they blocked off one of they piers so we could have a private luah and party. they allowed us to have drinks and music and we had no time limit. We then rented the club house for a formal banquet the food was deliciuos, everthing was right on spot, the kithcen , living room dining area was downs stairs, my grands got a kick out of the staircase they played a lot. we could not actually see the beach out of our glas sliding door due to the dunes but you could smell
the ocean . we toured the isalnd and we took the kids to the water park summer waves it was a blast, then we took them on tour of the Rokerfellers Mansion and etc. we also went horse backriding on the isalnd , i want to commend the mgnt of the villas for making a joyous ocassion
a beautiful thing. thanks to all of you for a job well done

Room Tip: just go see for you self
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    102
    41
    36
    42
See reviews for
124
120
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Benning, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our one night stay. Our one bedroom villa was very cozy and clean, the staff was very friendly. A very good value for the prize. They have a gift shop with very reasonable prices and a selection of old movies. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a three bedroom ocean side and it was perfect for four adults and three young boys. We enjoyed the ocean view daily, the close by laundry room, the boardwalk, and the beach during low tide, plus the sheltered beach behind the rocks during high tide. The appliances worked well and housekeeping was efficient. The front desk was helpful from the beginning of reservations to checking out. We loved the Bistro restaurant! Hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra cost. Some units have a king bed, but most have only queens and twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was very nice and had everything we need for our stay. Excellent access to the beach and driftwood beach. Would recommend this play to any couple or family looking for a get away. We managed to hook up our iPad to the tv and watched movies during the evening as the movie selection available at the front desk is dated. But there are several to choose from. Would definately come back.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I have wonderful memories of staying here in the late 1980's with my grandparents. Recently, we had the opportunity to take advantage of a Sunday night stay deal in a studio. The price was so great, we couldn't refuse! All of the units are individually owned, so there is no "standard" room here like you can count on with a hospitality chain, but I am okay with that surprise factor.

I was happy to see that the property still looked the same as it did all those years ago. I mean this as a compliment. I love the look of the buildings, and they all appeared well-maintained. The property was clean and wonderfully shaded by large oak trees. The pool is still attractive and looks to be in great shape. All pool furniture and the deck area were in good shape.

The boardwalk area is beautiful, and Driftwood Beach is a natural paradise and photographer's favorite spot. I knew going in about the tides and the beachfront disappearing at times, so no surprises there. This is also noted on their website, so travelers should not be surprised by this! I find it particularly inspirational, actually. I love to sit on the chairs along the boardwalk and watch the ocean creep up, engulfing the stairs!

The property next door has been abandoned for some time since the 2008-2009 crash, and some might say it is an eyesore. I say it is a guarantee for more privacy and a less crowded beachfront! Quite frankly, I hope it stays abandoned for my own personal enjoyment. I love being on this side of Jekyll, away from the crowds and bustle of the main Convention Center side of things.

We enjoy biking throughout Jekyll, and it is a nice ride over to peruse the historic district and enjoy the shops over there.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Couldn't believe our eyes when several busloads of teenage schoolkids arrived at the resort Thursday afternoon, presumably for a long weekend. What bright spark thinks that this is acceptable, in a quiet family orientated resort? Last weekend a noisy family reunion group commandeered the pool area from 9.00am, till midnight, even though the pool is supposed to close at 10.00 pm. Accommodation dated and dingy. Management questionable, to put it mildly. We're off! Lovely island though.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We are sorry you left early. You however did not rent a Villa from Villas by the Sea Management Company which operates the resort and 146 of the Villas. You rented a Villa from a real estate rental company for which we do not operate. The Villas by the Sea is a family orientated resort. Which is why we welcome family reunions and school groups. We wish you hadn’t cut your vacation short as the school kids were well behaved and quiet as we knew they would be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

While spending 2 nights (10/13-10/14), we stayed at the Villas by the Sea Resort. The hotel staff was friendly. Our room however was very outdated and in need of a good cleaning. The couch and chairs straight out of Rooms to Go appeared new. The old glider chair didn't match and was out of place. The lighting, just strange. The worse was the bathroom. Moldy and dirty. The shower handle was blackened with mold. Just some bleach would help. Did not eat at the restaurant. While it seemed busy, overheard conversation that food was precooked then frozen.
Also bothersome, several cats seem to roam the property.one particular cat was always by the sliding door. The screen door was not attached so we couldn't open the door.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us. We wish we had known of your concerns with the room you rented while you were here. We would have gladly found you other accommodations. We do have a couple of friendly cats that consider our resort as their home. They are harmless. Sometimes the screen doors come off the tracks. It would have been something we could have fixed for you within minutes had we known. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.