We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this hotel a try.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
atlanta ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Give this hotel a try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Several years ago we stayed at Villas By The Sea and while we loved the location (directly on the ocean), we were not that impressed with the overall grounds/actual unit. We were told by friends that there have been many recent improvements at the Villas By The Sea and they were right.
The location is just what a Jekyll experience should be.. very isolated and island like. Don't go looking to see the ocean from each unit though because you won't see it.... this is a natural experience which means that they haven't cut down every tree just so everyone can see the ocean.. the tree line is the way nature intended it to be and I for one am glad to know there is still such a place.
Our unit was oceanside and while not visible from the first floor, the view from the second floor was very awesome.
I see many many improvements from the last time we were there (2006) and I understand there are many more to come.
The pool is great and just recently they added a solar heater so you should be able to swim year round.. outside, under gorgeous trees groomed by nature.
We loved having a kitchen to fill in the pockets when we didn't want to eat out... there are not many restaurants on Jekyll Island . We have also stayed at the Jekyll Island Hotel and while the lobby is great. the rooms are very very small and you have to eat every meal either in the formal dining room or off a plastic plate from the sandwich shop.. all the more reason to opt for the kitchen.
If you have tried this place before and thought it was tired, give it another try and if you haven't stayed before, I do suggust you do.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Had to leave and go home!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan1980, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2009
We appreciate your kind words regarding our resort. We have upgraded our resort and have many more upgrades planed so please stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    44
    37
    44
See reviews for
130
135
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

After reading some reviews of this property, we had doubts, but ended up being pleased with our stay at Villas by the Sea. A family wedding was what brought us to Jekyll Island for a long weekend. Our villa was clean and in excellent condition. When we first arrived, we had just missed a terrible storm and some villas were without power. The TV in the living room of our villa wouldn't pick up any of the major channels, so we called the front desk about it. We were told a maintenance person would come take a look at it, but we never saw anyone. It wasn't a huge deal, though.

The pool was really nice. There is a lot of shade surrounding the pool, so if you're going for a tan, you'd best stick to the beach.

Overall, I'd recommend Villas by the Sea and probably stay there again if we return to Jekyll Island.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaNa1PopPop1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We anticipated a relaxing, fun filled vacation. The island is a wonderful place to visit.and is very family oriented. However, the accomodations lack in staff professionalism and our room had very large roaches. We left with loss of valuable time and money.

  • Liked — No comment
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan1980, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2009
We are very sorry that this guest had a bug problem. Villas by the Sea is located on a tropical island with lush vegetation and landscaping. Like most resorts in tropical settings, Villas by the Sea does have an occasional bug sighting in one of our units as they enter when the doors are left open. More so when the sliding glass doors on the patios/balconies are left open when enjoying the sounds of the ocean. When reported we do everything we can to correct the problem and satisfy our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We booked our trip to the Villas in January and then read such terrible reviews. We really expected a poor vacation there but kept the reservation anyway. WE ENDED UP LOVING IT! Our villa was clean and cool with the rear facing the beautiful butterfly garden. The beach was a short walk away. Yes, we could not sit on the beach during high tide, but no BFD, we just walked up to the start of Driftwood Beach at the end of the resort and had plenty of beach. We have traveled up and down the East Coast and this was the most shelling and wildlife we found...we spent the past 3 years vacationing in rental houses in the Outer Banks, Hatteras Island National Wildlife Refuge, and Jekyll had more live shells (conchs, mullosks and sanddollars) than Hatteras Island. Plus there were dolphins swimming right by shore...our dog tried to swim after one ; ). At night, it was gorgeous...the moon was bright and the water was crashing against the rocks of the Villas. If we decide to spend next year in GA again with my best friend and her family, we would surely come to the Villas. To top it off, they have a great playground and pool! Again, we are picky vacationers and expected the worst, and instead, had a great time in a clean villa on GA's jewel: Villas by the Sea, Jekyll Island.

  • Liked — Uncrowded beached...serenity...wildlife.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

After viewing a lovely brochure regarding Villas by the sea, and their uncrowded beaches, we booked a 3 bedroom 2 bath oceanfront condo weekend for the family, thinking perhaps to purchase a condo. Upon arrival we first noticed the condo was filthy, bugs, cobwebs, dirt, and generally yuch! We called the desk and complained and decided to check out the beach, we paid extra for beachfront. But, THERE WAS NO BEACH. Waves were lapping at huge rocks at the wooden steps that led from our condo to ????????????????? We then went back to the condo, that the maid had just left and said she had cleaned. No way had it been touched. We then drove back to the office, never having unpacked the car, and asked for our money back. Their policy said NO WAY. You forfeit all monies, period. But they did say they would clean it properly, and the beach thing, is a tidal beach, only available during low tide. wow that was nice to know.
To bad that isn't stated on that lovely brochure. When we returned to the condo a few hours later we found they had mopped the center floors, not touching the corners, moldy window sills, showers, cob webs, etc..
We left as early as possible and implore folks to stear clear of this dump. The staff could have cared less how we felt and were very rude.

  • Liked — leaqving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Our family stayed in an oceanside, two bedroom, one and one half bath condo for five nights while attending the Rural Water show. Our villa was clean, comfortable, and centrally located within the complex and on the island. These units are owned individually and so they vary widely. We were with some other folks that were not as satisfied with their rooms. The complex has a decent pool (it is not heated and shady, so very cold) with a small play area for older children, a great playground, a small workout room, laundry machines (beware the water is terrible and turned all whites brown), and beach access. The beach varies with the tide. This is the case all over the island and most people use the public beaches anyway. But, there is beach at the Villas. You may have to walk some, but the driftwood beach is great. Check the tides and you will be aware of when to go for the best beach of the day. Our condo walked out to a yard/garden area which we used a lot. Our son loved playing there and we even used the grill to cook dinner one night. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — space and location
  • Disliked — wanted more updated decor and more maid service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

The room was nice and spacious...just got a studio condo for the night...it was the cheapest rate i could find because I just wanted a place for me and my fiance to stay because we were attending a wedding and didn't want to have to drive 2 hours back home to saint augustine..But we should of because we did not get any good sleep on their hard beds. They were really uncomfortable, and I am usually not a complainer but we had difficulty sleeping. I don't know if all of their rooms are like that, but if they are...they need to upgrade !! Other than that it was pretty nice. Just terrible beds.

  • Liked — Cheapest rate in the area at the time
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.