We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great accommodations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice mini suite with all the needed amenities for a weekend stay! The staff was a bit clueless on dining recommendations but spoke to other guests to get their experiences and suggestions. Enjoyed my stay, had a nice fitness room and cafe, we will return.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    100
    41
    36
    42
See reviews for
122
118
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I believe this was our 4th year at the "Villas" for New Year's Eve golf and fun. This year we were 7 couples, some in one bedroom villas and a few in 2 bedroom villas. (other years were as many as 17 couples) We had an ocean view from our 2nd floor bedroom balcony and an easy walk to the boardwalk and beach. (the steps to the beach are pretty scary at high tide!) The villa was clean and well equipped and handled 14 nicely for drinks and fun. Hats off to Ryan Merritt again! You're the best as is your staff. We finally ate at the Driftwood Restaurant and had a great meal. Great deal with a good selection of $10.00 bottle of wine to go with dinner. For some reason we were always there on Sunday evening and they were closed. So glad we stayed on property for dinner. Happy New Year! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Each villa is individually owned so its tough to request a villa with a king bed. Most are very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you celebrate New Year's with us every year! We look forward to seeing you and your group again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Villas now twice. We have been more than happy each time. This last time we stayed over Thanksgiving and had the whole family with us. Daughter with her husband and 2 year old, Army Son and wife and 2 year old who were home first time in 4 years, and other son, and of course wife and small dog. The staff was great. The beach access is wonderful as they provide a boardwalk when the tide is in and a area behind the rocks for walks. We will stay there in the future as we go to Jekyll 2 or 3 times a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had our wedding on Driftwood Beach (the package provided by Villas by the Sea) and it worked out beautifully. I was a little concerned when I brought some of my own decorations, but Tammy handled it like a pro. When my friend sent a picture of the setup for my approval, I didn't have to make any changes. We also wanted to do a few non-traditional things and our preacher, Carla, was very accomodating. She even joined us at the end of the ceremony when we danced away. It was truly an amazing wedding! No complaints at all.

As for the room, it was great, the view was amazing, and the rose petals with champagne & candles was a nice bonus after we returned from our reception. Yes, as many have mentioned, the units are individually owned so all the rooms look a little different. We went into most rooms of those attending our wedding and they were all nice. Some a little older than others, but none were to the extent that I wouldn't stay here again. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your special day with us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My Husband and I wanted a small and private wedding. (elopement Style) So we decided to go to the beach and have a destination wedding. Tammy Young at Villa by the seas made this the easiest and the best decision we could have ever made. From the moment we contacted her she was helpful and accomodating and made the process simple. Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was cheerful and extremely helpful (i am sad I forgot her name). We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful oceanside villa that was right next to the lighted pier. That made for a romantic evening listening to the ocean. The Villa was very nicely appointed and updated with a full kitchen and our Villa had two bathrooms and bedrooms. The cleaning staff was wonderful and everything was always cleaned perfectly.
The Driftwood Bistro was a wonderful restaurant with great food. It made for a very nice relaxing evening. It was nice to not have to walk far from the restaurant to our Villa.
We are already wanting to set up our one year anniversary to be able to go back. We will definitely return to the villas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I actually eloped over the weekend and I must say, I was VERY concerned and stressed out after having read some of the reviews over the past few months, but it was the complete opposite for my experience. The one bedroom villa was very nice with updated decor. There were no bed bugs or roach infestation. I had a total of 3 bug encounters by our sliding glass door (we were on the first floor so it comes with the territory). We had a GORGEOUS view from the ocean. There was no black mold or cracked ceilings. The bedroom door had trouble closing because the hinge was slightly off, but all it took was a slight push. I'm so glad that we ended up using this facility because all of the staff was absolutely wonderful and so accommodating. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and Tammy Young, the wedding coordinator, was so helpful with everything. We will definitely go back! It couldn't have been more perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed on the south end of the hotel. As you get further towards the north side the treeline and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My son got married on the beach at the villas. Beautiful beach setting for a wedding. We all stayed here too since it was a destination wedding. A cool place very quiet with beautiful views off our balcony. Our room although was clean, was old. Apparently all the villas are privately owned and managed by the hotel. My sons villa was updated and nice. Of all the rooms I saw ours was the most tired. You can rent 1,2 or 3 bedroom units. All are complete with kitchens. Also be aware that beach front means you face the beach but trees occlude most of the view. As far as the wedding went it was ok. The wait staff not so good. Weather played a factor as it can when you are outside, but the staff had no clue what to do when it rained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.