We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view but slightly tired rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Victor, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but slightly tired rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My son got married on the beach at the villas. Beautiful beach setting for a wedding. We all stayed here too since it was a destination wedding. A cool place very quiet with beautiful views off our balcony. Our room although was clean, was old. Apparently all the villas are privately owned and managed by the hotel. My sons villa was updated and nice. Of all the rooms I saw ours was the most tired. You can rent 1,2 or 3 bedroom units. All are complete with kitchens. Also be aware that beach front means you face the beach but trees occlude most of the view. As far as the wedding went it was ok. The wait staff not so good. Weather played a factor as it can when you are outside, but the staff had no clue what to do when it rained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    100
    41
    36
    42
See reviews for
122
118
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights in off season October so very quiet.Although we booked oceanside villas beware most are behind dunes and trees so you will not see the ocean or beach.Villas are well equipped and spacious although our dishwasher failed to work.Engineer appeared after requests but 'had to get part' and was not fixed.Bed was not comfortable with loose headboard.Beach was wild and scenic but with high tides not really one for lying on including no shade etc.Pool was fine but shaded by buildings,trees.Reception OK but slow at times despite lack of people.Hired bikes from there and had great cycling round the Island,flat but interesting and some good trails to go along.On site Bistro was nice but not fine dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The unit we had was owned by an individual so the decor was selected by her. Interesting with her collection of beach like possessions. The woods around the place abound with squirrels and birds - a very natural setting. We could walk to the beach from our unit. Check in was a breeze. We should have eaten at the restaurant - called The Driftwood as we heard from someone else that the food was very good and reasonable. If you plan to go to the Villas - be sure to check it out. We had not brought food for breakfast with us so couldn't use the kitchen which was quite well equipped - had breakfast (which was good) at the golf course.
A lovely natural place to relax. It is an older property but our unit had been renovated quite nicely. Quite a different experience than staying in your normal motel...We would definitely go back there if the chance arose.
There was a playground for the kids, by the way. Lots of families were staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We first found this property because they are pet friendly and we could stay with our two dogs. That was 10 years ago and we have been returning annually ever since, now with our 4 year old daughter. She loves the kiddie pool, but also the big pool. Staff is attentive and our villa is always clean and prepared. We always stay in at least a two bedroom and they come with a kitchen and living room. A great family atmosphere. They had two weddings going on during our stay. A good value.

Room Tip: rooms on farthest south unit have ground floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are very thankful that you stay with us every time you visit Jekyll Island. We appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband & I just decided to stop and see the area on our long drive back home. We stopped at the visitor center where we found a brochure for Villa. The receptionist at check-in was very helpful with island info since we just had a few hours to visit. We stayed in the second floor mini villa which was just perfect for us. It was cooler weather but the pool/grilling area was very pretty and would love to come back in the summer with the grandkids!

Room Tip: Mini villas have small frig and 2 burner stove but was fine for 2-4 people. Kitchen was equipped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are so glad you choose to stay the night with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you want to be near Driftwood Beach on Jekyll Island then this is the only place to stay. We could get out of bed and be there in five minutes for sunrise.
Overall the accommodation was clean and comfortable. We had to wait 15 minutes to check in as the receptionist was dealing with another customer and both her and the customer were oblivious to the waiting people. A little acknowledgement would have gone a long way.
We were disappointed that the room had no view so be aware that ocean side means its on the side of the ocean but your view will almost certainly be hidden by trees.
Great location and would stay there again if we ever go back to the area.

Room Tip: Its a long way from one side of the complex to the other. You might want to call when you book and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I visited the villas and conference center for the annual southern states police benevolent association executive session. The conference center and property us wonderful and met all our personal and professional needs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for either business or pleasure. I'm happy the SSPBA chose this venue to host the conference and accommodations. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.