We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected trip to the area. Still a pleasant stay as always.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Kingsland, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected trip to the area. Still a pleasant stay as always.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great time here. The tide comes up to the rock wall limiting beach time to low tides, but the kids had a wonderful time digging up conch shells, hunting sea stars and other tide pool life. The pool was clean (until the maintenance guys blew leaves into it, but the skimmers made quick work of them). There's a 2' deep pool for the little ones and 3 to 8' for the better swimmers, though the small one was much cooler in temperature. Also a small tree-shaded playground is available.
We rented a one bedroom. The sofa was a convertible. The room was clean. Books were provided and a dvd player was installed. There was a room being repaired overhead, but we hardly noticed the workers. Beach access is plentiful. Peace and quiet are a mainstay here. Nothing really negative to say. This was the 3rd time I've stayed with them. The kids did not want to leave when it came time. We didn't make use of room service as we prepared our own meals in the kitchenette. Check in/out went well. Actually booked the room just a week in advance as we had a surprise meeting in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    90
    32
    33
    40
See reviews for
113
108
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I went to Jekyll Island without any reservations. We stopped at this hotel and had only planned to stay one night. We loved everything about this hotel. After the first night, we decided to stay two more nights, and didn't want to leave. It was the most restful place we have ever stayed. The bed, sofa,the walk to the beach, the dining, and it was so clean. I can truly say this was the best vacation we have ever had.It was completely stress free, from the office help, to the bunny rabbits,deer,and the beautiful sunrise.

Room Tip: If you are senior travelers, all the 1 bedroom condos are one the ground floors.Yea no steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked our stay over two and a half months ago with Villas by the Sea Resort and Conference Center. We saw the resort on Groupon, and decided against booking through the third party and wanted to give our business to a local business (being from Georgia ourselves). I tried to book directly through the hotel's website, but due to technical difficulties I was unable to finish the process and online and had to call the office directly to complete the booking process. I booked a mini villa with a member of the staff on the phone, and she assured me she had given me the best rate for the time we would be staying.

Upon arriving to the island, we stopped by the Welcome Center to get some flyers for the attractions around the island. We saw the flyer for the Villas by the Sea Resort and grabbed it to get a preview of our hotel. We discovered that it was actually an advertisement for the rates. A one bedroom villa was advertised for about $35 less per night than we were paying ($75 per night in the Spring when I am paying $109.99 for tonight's stay and $99.99 for the following three nights). I assured my spouse that the hotel would honor this coupon or at least upgrade our room which is about 100 sq feet smaller than the rate for the room they were offering on the advertisement. Much to my dismay, upon arriving at the hotel and explaining the situation to the receptionist, she explained she was unable to help me in any way. I insisted how disappointed I was with this situation and that it would certainly adversely affect my stay, so she decided to briefly converse with what I assume was a manager. She returned promptly and again insisted there was nothing she could do to help this situation or appease me in any way.

I find this whole situation very disappointing, and I find it very doubtful there was nothing that could be done to make this situation right. We work out of town for business each weekend, and are members of a few rewards programs for hotels. I have experienced such great customer service with each of these programs, some of which are located on the island and we chose this resort instead. I have experienced similar customer service with seedier hotels, and I was very surprised at the way we were treated at the front desk upon arrival.

More so than anger, I am disappointed because the rooms are very nice and accommodating. It's a nice area, with a rustic feel. It's just a shame that we will be largely unable to enjoy our stay knowing we paid at least $110 dollars more than other people staying in a larger room at the same resort while we are here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and are happy that you felt our rooms were very nice and accommodating. I am sorry, that you felt we have unfair pricing. The coupon you mentioned you picked up at the local welcome center is for a walk up guest. A walk up guest is someone who does not have a reservation and is taking a chance that we will have a room and accept the coupon for their stay. It’s not a rate in which we make an advanced reservation for, which is noted on the coupon. We do not always accept the coupon. We accept the coupon during slow times of the year. A majority of hotels offer such discounts and have the same rate policy. The reservation you made in advance was booked at a discounted rate, our Best Available online rate. This is 15-17% off our normal rate. This discount does have stipulations too. In order to receive the discount you must agree to prepay the entire stay and agree that you will not cancel or change the reservation without penalty. This rate procedure is standard in most hotels. I’m sorry you felt the staff was non-accommodating. I can assure you they were only following hotel procedure. I also verified that we did not accept any coupons during the days in which you were with us. I have confirmed that you did not pay more than other guests in larger rooms. We want to be accommodating to our guests by offering different rate plans which best work for each guest. These different rate plans have different rate requirements. Our requirements are normal and common among most hotels & resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

over the last 25 years we've enjoyed nearly all the available accomadations. We've always had our needs met from the largest villas for the 4 children, to the cosy 1 bedrooms for retirees.
we visit 3 or 4 times a year, and it's our preferred coastal retreat. Much of the pleasure of visiting is the excellent and personable service. Especially Nina...at the front desk. You will always be treated special. If you treasure peace and quiet...and enjoy the outdoors.. this is the place.

Room Tip: all oceanside villas are great. great places to enjoy quiet and read. poolside villas can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Villas by the Sea is a step above the rest of the places on the Island. unless you rent a house. If you have children you will want a room facing the pool. Rest. on the prop. has great food. Very relaxing place to visit.

Room Tip: If you have kids you want a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are delighted to read your gracious comments. Thanks for considering our hotel a step above the other island hotels. We take pride in providing quality accommodations. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is on a state park island and it's rustic. The accomadations were wonderful and we will go back. We had a one bedroom condo, nicely furnished and clean. The staff are wonderful. Resturant has good food too and fair priced. The petit meal will fill you up for $10.95. Bread pudding desert is great. Looking forward to our next stay. Beach is more muck sand than beach sand. It's dirty gray liittered with fish garbage from the sea and hard as concrete. Can't blame the villas for this so what I said about the villas is all good, just not a good family play in the sand beach and not the villas fault.

Room Tip: The staff was so fast getting thingsto us when we needed it I almost didn't have time to hang up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Villas by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been to Jekyll Island several times, and it's simply fabulous for a total family fun getaway. Jekyll is a small barrier island off the coast of southern Georgia, and most of it is a state park, so over half of the island is completely undeveloped and in its natural state. The rest of the island is kept low-key and family-friendly. Miles of bike trails, miles of clean beaches, amazing sea turtle sanctuary, excellent golfing, really fun mini-golf, horseback riding on the beach, fishing, dolphin watching tours, interesting historic district with nice shops, and more. We rate our vacations by the number of T-shirt stores -- the more T-shirt and junk souvenir stores, the more commercial and (in our opinion) unpleasant the destination. This is a two-T-shirt-store resort island, so it's not very commercial at all!!

Villas by the Sea is one of the largest hotel complexes on Jekyll. Units are owned by individuals as condos, and most owners winter on Jekyll. Then spring through fall, the units are rented as full-kitchen hotel accommodations. Because units are individually owned, there is some variation in the quality between the units, but generally the units we've stayed in are well-maintained and well-equipped. The property is well-kept, the front staff is helpful, and the on-site restaurant is one of the most popular on Jekyll. There's an outdoor pool that is advertised as heated, however it's a solar panel heating system so during our visit early in the season, the pool was still icy cold. The beach in front of Villas by the Sea is only accessible for several hours twice a day at low tide, but there are several other beaches on Jekyll that can be accessed at high tide. It's also a very quiet resort, especially if you choose a unit away from the pool or playground area. The best thing about Villas by the Sea is its location on Jekyll Island, which is simple, clean, and truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Because of the natural dune barrier, ocean views are best from upper units and higher floors on ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your continued support of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.