We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend on Jekyll Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Long weekend on Jekyll Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Villas by the Sea is a step above the rest of the places on the Island. unless you rent a house. If you have children you will want a room facing the pool. Rest. on the prop. has great food. Very relaxing place to visit.

Room Tip: If you have kids you want a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are delighted to read your gracious comments. Thanks for considering our hotel a step above the other island hotels. We take pride in providing quality accommodations. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    118
    45
    38
    44
See reviews for
133
137
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is on a state park island and it's rustic. The accomadations were wonderful and we will go back. We had a one bedroom condo, nicely furnished and clean. The staff are wonderful. Resturant has good food too and fair priced. The petit meal will fill you up for $10.95. Bread pudding desert is great. Looking forward to our next stay. Beach is more muck sand than beach sand. It's dirty gray liittered with fish garbage from the sea and hard as concrete. Can't blame the villas for this so what I said about the villas is all good, just not a good family play in the sand beach and not the villas fault.

Room Tip: The staff was so fast getting thingsto us when we needed it I almost didn't have time to hang up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Villas by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been to Jekyll Island several times, and it's simply fabulous for a total family fun getaway. Jekyll is a small barrier island off the coast of southern Georgia, and most of it is a state park, so over half of the island is completely undeveloped and in its natural state. The rest of the island is kept low-key and family-friendly. Miles of bike trails, miles of clean beaches, amazing sea turtle sanctuary, excellent golfing, really fun mini-golf, horseback riding on the beach, fishing, dolphin watching tours, interesting historic district with nice shops, and more. We rate our vacations by the number of T-shirt stores -- the more T-shirt and junk souvenir stores, the more commercial and (in our opinion) unpleasant the destination. This is a two-T-shirt-store resort island, so it's not very commercial at all!!

Villas by the Sea is one of the largest hotel complexes on Jekyll. Units are owned by individuals as condos, and most owners winter on Jekyll. Then spring through fall, the units are rented as full-kitchen hotel accommodations. Because units are individually owned, there is some variation in the quality between the units, but generally the units we've stayed in are well-maintained and well-equipped. The property is well-kept, the front staff is helpful, and the on-site restaurant is one of the most popular on Jekyll. There's an outdoor pool that is advertised as heated, however it's a solar panel heating system so during our visit early in the season, the pool was still icy cold. The beach in front of Villas by the Sea is only accessible for several hours twice a day at low tide, but there are several other beaches on Jekyll that can be accessed at high tide. It's also a very quiet resort, especially if you choose a unit away from the pool or playground area. The best thing about Villas by the Sea is its location on Jekyll Island, which is simple, clean, and truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Because of the natural dune barrier, ocean views are best from upper units and higher floors on ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your continued support of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I thought the Villas by the Sea Resort was ok. I expected better for the price we paid and the people upstairs were noisy. The shower head was old and gross and the shower was very small. There were some things in the studio room we had that needed a little fixing. The kitchen was nice and the place was clean. The staff was nice and helpful and allowed us to check in early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The front desk staff was very kind and helpful. We had a unit with a very nice ocean view over the dunes.The food at the restruaant was excellant. The Island is Beautiful.
I was there 50 years ago and it has not changed. The natural beauty of the property is outstanding. The beach is wonderful twice a day due to the large tidal flow on the north end of the island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate the very nice comments. The staff and myself hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved this place. We went there for our honeymoon and were looking for a nice, quiet place. We found it. Villa was immaculate and beautifully decorated. As stated, oceanfront was what we expected. Trees were in front of the open area at our porch, and the ocean was behind it. (Great windbreak if you want to sit on the porch and the wind is blowing) Staff were friendly, and the property's restaurant was superb. Apparently, really good fried green tomatoes! (It was my first time trying them, but the Missus assures me) Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront villas (we were on ground floor). Very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are happy that your time with us was perfect. Your kind words are much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Don't pay extra for ocean front because the only view you have is trees and the building beside you. Was told the pool was open and solar heated. Well it was 82 outside and the pool was like ice and DISGUSTING!! Complained about both but the person at the front desk acted like this was typical she said they couldn't have someone stay at the pool every second of the day to clean it she blew off my complaint about paying extra for an ocean front room and not even being able to see the ocean at all and she was not very customer friendly to boot.the room was okay inside but if you pay extra for ocean front i believe you should be able to see the ocean not the side of a building...come on really. Also there are a billion biting bugs of somekind everywhere outside at the ocean by the pool and anywhere you walk you can't go outside without being attacked by them. We had never been here before. And WILL NEVER come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. I’m sorry you were not aware that we do not have oceanview rooms. We state that fact on our website and on all confirmations we send that oceanside does not mean oceanview. I apologize that we did not convey this better to you. Our oceanside rooms are slightly higher in price because of their location to the beach. Our pool is open and we have had guests swimming. It is solar heated – we have solar panels on our roof that heat the pool which conserves energy. I apologize that we did not have enough sun the days you were here to make the pool warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.