We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pretty, and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, pretty, and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom, the beach was nice and very walkable, but only available at low tide. The only downside was that it was a mile or two north of the the "town" part of the island, but bicycles are available to rent, and it would be a nice walk.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ocean view, but you're not far from the water no matter where you are. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debora_R_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nashville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was the worst 4experience that I ever received while trying to check in this hotel and I did not get past check in bc they did not honor what was told to me by the phone. First of all I live three hours away from Jekyll Island, GA. My husband and I called the hotel to make reservations and we spoke with lady named "NINA" and she told us we could get minisuite room walk in rate for $54.00 or $56.00. I said, can we reserve the room to guarantee it and do you have several of these rooms available? She said, yes we have plenty available and we wont fill up. I said, we will be there in three hours. So, we got off the phone and we drove three hours away to this hotel. When we got to the front desk, another lady greated us and said, she knew nothing about that walkin rate for minisuite and she does not have a minisuite available. Thank goodness I remembered the ladys name that I spoke with on the phone earlier. SO, I said, I spoke with Nina three hours ago and she said, she had plenty of these walkin rooms available for that rate bc she said, your busy time just ended as lot of groups checked out today. Then the lady walked into her office to speak with Nina but Nina did not even have the respect to come to the front to speak to me about this issue and she was right there in the back office room. She had another lady handled her situation for her. Then the frontdesk clerk said, we can put you in upgraded room that is one bedroom room but it cost more money, it will be 64 or 69.00. I said, this is false advertisement and we should be given this one bedroom room for 54.00 and not have to pay this amount bc it is not our fault that we were told something that is not true. I said, customer service should give us this room for 54.00 since you do not have the room available that was told to us by phone by Nina and we drove 2 hours expecting this price. She said, I can not do that. Then she walked in the back office again to speak with Nina then she came back to say, we can have the room cleaned for you that you requested but you will have to wait hour or two. NOTE IT WAS ALREADY almost 6pm at night. I said, no we are tired and we should not have to wait on room to be cleaned whenever we were told 3 hours ago that this mini suite was ready to rent for 54.00 and NINA told us she had plenty of rooms like this one. I said, you should give us a clean room that is ready now and not have to wait on dirty room to be cleaned and you should honor the 54.00 rate not make us pay 64.00 or 69.00 for one bedroom. The least she could do is give us another room for that rate as this is not our fault and we should have never been told this false misleading info. by phone. I also asked for supervisor above NINA since she is the one who told us this by phone?? Note NINA still never showed her face to us in the lobby, she made the other girl handle it, even with the girl telling her we want management. this was unreal. My husband and I left to say the least. We looked at veiw other places but they were way to high. AGAIN WE ONLY CAME TO THIS BEACH BC WE FOUND A ROOM BY PHONE AT THIS RATE THAT WE COULD AFFORD. so drove all the way back home the same night three hours away. wasted trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am very sorry for what you experienced on arrival. You are correct; you should have been upgraded to another room type for no additional charge. That is our hotel policy. The situation has been addressed with our staff and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please contact me so that we can make this incident right.
Ryan Merritt
Director of Sales
1-800-841-6262 x 2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

on the plus side...room rate was great for off season, was greeted very enthusiastically, bistro on premises was excellent and fast friendly service, room was very clean,bed was comfortable, lit beach boardwalk ,stars shown so bright and watching then the sun come up over the ocean was wonderful

bad side...needs some definite updating-felt like back in the 70s, shower was cramped and did not get great flow or warmth....

would stay again but had to rate average

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at villas for the second time. Due to our first visit on the island my husband and I thought it was a great place to get married. The rooms on the ocean side were much nicer than the island side where we stayed previously which was a plus. We had three rooms. All three rooms were nice but the one with the two bedroom only had one bathroom and one of the one bedrooms only had a shower. We had a beach driftwood wedding that turned out nice. The weather was lovely with a little breeze.The photographer did a LOVELY job. I would recommend people to stay here and have a wedding in there lovely location. Just be sure for the turn down service, to have all items put away. My husband gave our daughter a ring at the ceremony. She took it off and I laid it on the dresser before we went out. Everyone was tired once we arrived back. The next morning when it was time to pack and leave we saw the ring was gone. I looked every where. I moved all the furniture, look under the bed, check the kitchen and bath. My in-laws had forgot a movie in the dvd player. I called and left house keeping messages and never got a call back. I never received my sand jar from my ceremony. I was told it was in my room. I took picture of every thing and no I didn't get it. So that was a waste of $75.00.The person that married us had the wrong names. Even though we corrected her once I received our photos we still had the wrong name on them.I also didn't like the fact that she texted me at 12:00 am a week prior. That was unprofessional to me. Overall our visit was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us. We are so happy you choose to have your wedding with us and that it was just as you had imagined it would be. I’m sorry that your ring was misplaced and could not be found. I also apologize that you were not returned the other items you forgot and left behind. Items are often forgotten when traveling and we do our best to relocate them with their owners. Please except our apology on behalf of the clergy who performed your ceremony. You should have received a professional service. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I decided to drive down to Jekyll Island for 3 nights and then onward to Orlando, with my 2 teenage daughters. Got a 2 bdr villa overlooking the ocean. I already knew it wasn't standard ocean view per se with the shrubs and such. We really enjoyed our villa. It was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. While we ended up not going to FL as I went on the horseback riding tour on Jekyll Island and fell off the horse because the saddle slipped and broke my arm, the v illa itself was lovely. My kids really liked it too. Definitely a nice unwind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnamongirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to book on Jekyll Island after a running race in Savannah. We would return again. The reception staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Food at the lounge was plentiful and very good. The mac & cheese side was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us! We are so glad you chose to stay with us. We hope next time you will have the chance to stay longer. There are so many things to see and do on Jekyll; you really need more time to enjoy it all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times. This year we were in unit 454. It was wonderful!! It was decorated so nice, plenty of room for all of us. I love the location of the Villas, it's so quiet and peaceful. Our son loves it and wants to stay here every time we come to Jekyll. The boardwalk is very nice. Can't say enough, we just love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing