We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Wedding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beach Wedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at villas for the second time. Due to our first visit on the island my husband and I thought it was a great place to get married. The rooms on the ocean side were much nicer than the island side where we stayed previously which was a plus. We had three rooms. All three rooms were nice but the one with the two bedroom only had one bathroom and one of the one bedrooms only had a shower. We had a beach driftwood wedding that turned out nice. The weather was lovely with a little breeze.The photographer did a LOVELY job. I would recommend people to stay here and have a wedding in there lovely location. Just be sure for the turn down service, to have all items put away. My husband gave our daughter a ring at the ceremony. She took it off and I laid it on the dresser before we went out. Everyone was tired once we arrived back. The next morning when it was time to pack and leave we saw the ring was gone. I looked every where. I moved all the furniture, look under the bed, check the kitchen and bath. My in-laws had forgot a movie in the dvd player. I called and left house keeping messages and never got a call back. I never received my sand jar from my ceremony. I was told it was in my room. I took picture of every thing and no I didn't get it. So that was a waste of $75.00.The person that married us had the wrong names. Even though we corrected her once I received our photos we still had the wrong name on them.I also didn't like the fact that she texted me at 12:00 am a week prior. That was unprofessional to me. Overall our visit was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us. We are so happy you choose to have your wedding with us and that it was just as you had imagined it would be. I’m sorry that your ring was misplaced and could not be found. I also apologize that you were not returned the other items you forgot and left behind. Items are often forgotten when traveling and we do our best to relocate them with their owners. Please except our apology on behalf of the clergy who performed your ceremony. You should have received a professional service. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    95
    38
    33
    41
See reviews for
120
113
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wintersville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I decided to drive down to Jekyll Island for 3 nights and then onward to Orlando, with my 2 teenage daughters. Got a 2 bdr villa overlooking the ocean. I already knew it wasn't standard ocean view per se with the shrubs and such. We really enjoyed our villa. It was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. While we ended up not going to FL as I went on the horseback riding tour on Jekyll Island and fell off the horse because the saddle slipped and broke my arm, the v illa itself was lovely. My kids really liked it too. Definitely a nice unwind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to book on Jekyll Island after a running race in Savannah. We would return again. The reception staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Food at the lounge was plentiful and very good. The mac & cheese side was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us! We are so glad you chose to stay with us. We hope next time you will have the chance to stay longer. There are so many things to see and do on Jekyll; you really need more time to enjoy it all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times. This year we were in unit 454. It was wonderful!! It was decorated so nice, plenty of room for all of us. I love the location of the Villas, it's so quiet and peaceful. Our son loves it and wants to stay here every time we come to Jekyll. The boardwalk is very nice. Can't say enough, we just love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have a mini villa, 1 bedroom, comfortable bed, 1 bath, fairly old, another room with a TV, small cafe table, 1 recliner, only one person can sit in this room comfortably and watch TV, no TV in bedroom, any other quest are required to use the table chairs to watch TV. There is a microwave, dorm refig,coffee maker, dishes, no sink, but the dish detergent, and sponge, I guess you can use the tub for washing the dishes while you shower. The room could at least have a love seat. If you are a single guest it may be a great room, for 2 I would recommend another room. Management not to customer service oriented, does not look their guest in the eye when adressing, continues to look down while speaking. Appears not too interested in meeting the needs of their guest, will not stay here again, espically since there is a new Hampton Inn on the Island.

Room Tip: anything except a mini villa, you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us. We were not aware of your concerns until reading your review. As you know, we promptly contacted you and offered to move you to another Villa that better suited your needs. We do offer larger rooms. You informed us that you were happy with the Villa you had. Your other concerns have also been addressed and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes we stayed at the Villa before. Wouldn't stay any place else on the island.
Our one bedroom suite was beautiful. The grounds are lovely . We had a private patio to keep our recumbent trikes. We rode our bikes by all the other motels. The Villas is by far the nicest. Also it's the only one by the unbeliveable Driftwood beach. We had it all to ourselves.
Villas restaurant has the Best food on the island. The DRiftwood Bistro. Be sure and try Lynn's Squash CAsserole and famous Bread Pudding. Prices resonable. Only complaint, wish they had opened for lunch.
We hope to visit again soon. And would stay no place else.

Room Tip: We had our little dog with us. So did have to ask for a room that was dog friendly. Had a path to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate your gracious review. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is not a side view, it is a garden view. They do not pick up trash, no cleaning. Noisy, people walking over you head. There is no curtain in the bedroom, Air conditioning is noisy and leakink. Internet very poor. DO NOT GO!

Room Tip: Top floor perhaps? Rooms are small, Queen bed only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,
I believe you posted your review on the wrong property. All of our Villas have either curtains or blinds over the windows. We certainly pick up trash and clean the rooms. We do not have “side view” or “garden view” rooms. We have Islandside or Oceanside locations available. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.