We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Wintersville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I decided to drive down to Jekyll Island for 3 nights and then onward to Orlando, with my 2 teenage daughters. Got a 2 bdr villa overlooking the ocean. I already knew it wasn't standard ocean view per se with the shrubs and such. We really enjoyed our villa. It was gorgeous, clean and comfortable. While we ended up not going to FL as I went on the horseback riding tour on Jekyll Island and fell off the horse because the saddle slipped and broke my arm, the v illa itself was lovely. My kids really liked it too. Definitely a nice unwind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    91
    33
    33
    40
See reviews for
115
110
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We decided to book on Jekyll Island after a running race in Savannah. We would return again. The reception staff was very accommodating and very friendly. Food at the lounge was plentiful and very good. The mac & cheese side was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us! We are so glad you chose to stay with us. We hope next time you will have the chance to stay longer. There are so many things to see and do on Jekyll; you really need more time to enjoy it all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times. This year we were in unit 454. It was wonderful!! It was decorated so nice, plenty of room for all of us. I love the location of the Villas, it's so quiet and peaceful. Our son loves it and wants to stay here every time we come to Jekyll. The boardwalk is very nice. Can't say enough, we just love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have a mini villa, 1 bedroom, comfortable bed, 1 bath, fairly old, another room with a TV, small cafe table, 1 recliner, only one person can sit in this room comfortably and watch TV, no TV in bedroom, any other quest are required to use the table chairs to watch TV. There is a microwave, dorm refig,coffee maker, dishes, no sink, but the dish detergent, and sponge, I guess you can use the tub for washing the dishes while you shower. The room could at least have a love seat. If you are a single guest it may be a great room, for 2 I would recommend another room. Management not to customer service oriented, does not look their guest in the eye when adressing, continues to look down while speaking. Appears not too interested in meeting the needs of their guest, will not stay here again, espically since there is a new Hampton Inn on the Island.

Room Tip: anything except a mini villa, you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us. We were not aware of your concerns until reading your review. As you know, we promptly contacted you and offered to move you to another Villa that better suited your needs. We do offer larger rooms. You informed us that you were happy with the Villa you had. Your other concerns have also been addressed and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes we stayed at the Villa before. Wouldn't stay any place else on the island.
Our one bedroom suite was beautiful. The grounds are lovely . We had a private patio to keep our recumbent trikes. We rode our bikes by all the other motels. The Villas is by far the nicest. Also it's the only one by the unbeliveable Driftwood beach. We had it all to ourselves.
Villas restaurant has the Best food on the island. The DRiftwood Bistro. Be sure and try Lynn's Squash CAsserole and famous Bread Pudding. Prices resonable. Only complaint, wish they had opened for lunch.
We hope to visit again soon. And would stay no place else.

Room Tip: We had our little dog with us. So did have to ask for a room that was dog friendly. Had a path to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate your gracious review. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is not a side view, it is a garden view. They do not pick up trash, no cleaning. Noisy, people walking over you head. There is no curtain in the bedroom, Air conditioning is noisy and leakink. Internet very poor. DO NOT GO!

Room Tip: Top floor perhaps? Rooms are small, Queen bed only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,
I believe you posted your review on the wrong property. All of our Villas have either curtains or blinds over the windows. We certainly pick up trash and clean the rooms. We do not have “side view” or “garden view” rooms. We have Islandside or Oceanside locations available. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently stayed for a week at the Villas , needing some serious R&R. Got it ! Jekyll Island is the perfect place for it as well as the Villas by the Sea. Friendly desk help and friendly workers. I stayed after Labor Day , so for sure it was quiet. I also found the unit I stayed in to be stocked with the essentials for cooking and eating. The air conditioning was freezing cold (loved it) when needed and you're able to adjust the temp accordingly. The upkeep on the property was spot on and everyone seemed willing to give a smile or a hello.
The beach disappears with the rising tide daily, but who stays on a beach more than a few hours anyway. I found it convenient to be able to walk the small boardwalk down to the beach.
Driftwood beach is right next door and is a must see for everyone. (following the signs).
All in all I will definately stay at the Villas by the Sea again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.