We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunrise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Inverness, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunrise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

During a recent short weekend trip to Jekyll Island, Ga, we happened upon Villas By the Sea. We had no reservations for the weekend trip and were drawn in by the peaceful setting. The young lady at the front desk was very sweet and eager to find us an available unit. We were booked into unit 501.
What a perfect little condo.Clean, comfy and fully stocked with everything we needed which included a full-sized coffee pot with plenty creamer and sugar. After dinner we were so pleased to find a corkscrew in the drawer which enabled us to enjoy a glass of wine on the small back porch which overlooks a grassy area which was back-dropped by twisted oaks, a line of jetties and the Atlantic ocean. A perfect romantic getaway!

Room Tip: These rooms are privately owned condo units. Although the entire complex was nice, I can only tell y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    107
    42
    36
    42
See reviews for
126
126
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was not sure what to expect upon arrival after reading comments prior to our trip. All in all Villas by the Sea Resort is a decent place but could use a great deal of TLC. I could complain about the minor little things like not having power either on August 4th and hearing dripping noises in the bedroom closet due to the down pour of rain coming thru the roof, but it was an adventure to say the least. Villas by the Sea could be a phenomenal location if they would just dump some cash into maintenance and landscaping. Aside from that where else can you see a baby deer right in your back patio :>) , live conch shells, sand dollars, hermit crab and all the great see creatures on the sand after high tide. My Family and I made some great memories here that will last us a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are so glad that your family enjoyed their time with us. We have experienced abnormal rain fall and apologize for the storm that resulted in the loss of power. Family memories are priceless and we are glad to be a part of yours. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Being the owner of a vacation rental property, myself, I am very aware about the appearances of rental condos, the cleanliness, amenities & upkeep. I was mostly pleased with Villas by the Sea. 4 of us rented a 2 bedroom condo. Too bad there is only one bathroom, but it was very clean & well stocked w/towels. The rest of the condo was nicely decorated, well maintained & clean. I did notice a couple of burned out light bulbs in the unit (kitchen & bedroom). We had to have maintenance come treat the tub right off the bat because it would not drain. Something that the cleaning service should have definitely noticed and take care of. The kitchen could have been better stocked with pots/pans etc. for cooking. Balconies are very small. The thing that I disliked the most was the bed. Hard and the pillows were like sleeping on a brick. Bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations. We appreciate you noticing our extra efforts. We have also addressed your concerns with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I cannot recommend this place enough!! My husband and I go here every chance we get even if just for a night. We have stayed in a variety of different size villas and all of them have been clean and neat. They vary greatly on amenities and personal touches but even the bare bones ones are just fine.

The only complaint I have is the staff at the front desk. They are unfriendly and unaccommodating, and I'm not sure they know how to smile. The first time I called to make a reservation we almost didn't go because of this. Don't let them deter you tho! If you can just get past the rude front desk staff and on to the rest of your vacation it is worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms by pool are a little noisy but easy if you have kids with you Oceanside villas aren't har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in Villas By The Sea Resort Rm. #232 from August 3rd through August 6th and the overall stay was good. My biggest complaint is that on Saturday evening, August 4th, I was cooking a romantic dinner for my girlfriend (this was a get-a-way trip for us to have romantic weekend together) and all of a sudden the power goes completely out! The back-up generators tried to kick in, but to no avail. The power ended up being out for hours...finally realizing I wouldn't be able to complete the dinner I was in the middle of preparing and with no lights, etc., my girlfriend and I just called it a night and went to sleep. The next morning I called customer service to see if I good get some kind of compensation or even a comped lunch or dinner after I explained what happened the previous night...the customer service rep stated "it's nothing we can do about it, that could have happened while you were at home". I said true, it could have, but I'm not at home, I'm on vacation and I was trying to prepare a romantic meal for my girlfriend. To make a long story short, she was rude and said sorry, but it's not their problem! Yes, it's your problem if you don't make your guests' stay as pleasant as possible...(why weren't the back-up generators working properly?)
K. Motley and K. Benenate

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We appreciate you staying with us. We apologize that the electricity was off for a few hours due to the lighting storm. Unfortunately we don’t have generators our buildings. We have addressed our Front Desk staff members regarding your experience and concerns. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in Justin condo # 314. The location was ideal; literally walked out our back door a few steps to the beach and out our front door a few steps to the pool. The staff did a fabulous job of popping in to replace towels and such without us ever being in need and without ever interfering in our plans or our space. The facility decor was nice, clean, and had that touch of home. I highly recommend the on-site restaurant. Free internet access in the lobby/gift shop was a nice touch I didn't anticipate. I look forward to planning a longer visit there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Staff was great! We had an issue with being a day off on our room reservation and they fixed it for us before we arrived. We held a brunch for about 50 in the Executive Suite and the staff went out of their way to make sure all was in order. The brunch was a huge success! Really enjoyed our stay at the Villas this year and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Tingo so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.