We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best kept secrets around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Golf Club

Jekyll Island Golf Club
322 Captain Wylly Road, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
912-635-2368
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular club among local golfers.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We are hooked on this place. Jekyll offers 3.5 quality courses that are easy to walk. Great customer service, lots of room for practice putting and chipping, a good driving range, and a practice bunker. The three 18 hole courses operate from one clubhouse. The 9 hole regulation course is not far away closer to the ocean.
The "Pinelakes" course is considered the premier course, and is completely over-seeded in the winter. The other two, "Indian Mound" and "Oleander" , only over-seed the greens and tees in the winter. Oleander is a little soft to walk on, and does not drain well after rain, but is a lovely course.
Lots of wildlife to see. No houses or white stakes!! Ladies tees are very fair.
Great value for your money. BUT DON'T TELL ANYBODY ELSE!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We had the course to ourselves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wednesday in mid-October appears to be a good time to play golf at Indian Mounds. My spouse and I are retired, and we are duffer golfers who just like to get out and enjoy the torture. Indian Mounds is the most forgiving of the three Jekyll courses, not too long, and it was in lovely shape. I know there must have been others playing the course, but we felt like we had it basically to ourselves. We didn't see the 11-foot alligator that had been blocking an adjoining course's hole the previous day, but we did have a close-up visit with a fawn. The fees were very fair ($45 a person including cart) and the staff is friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just go for walk or cycle beside it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stunning scenery...and so just 'beat the boundaries' which was well worth the effort...we do not play golf we...one time I wish I did to get an even closer look.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyed our experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 18 holes on the Pine Lakes course. Fairways were perfect and greens were in great condition, maybe a bit slow, but all courses are different. You learn to deal! The staff was friendly and helpful. The price for green fees and cart was very reasonable We will definitely play there again the next time we go to Jekyll Island.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expected so much, got so little”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had heard about Jekyll Island and its gold courses. Booked Pine Lakes despite seeing some negative comments on booking sites. What a disappointment, poor fairways, dreadful greens - where as other reviewers had commented it was necessary to 'hammer' putts - the only saving grace being friendly staff. Even at twilight rates, we will not go back here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jekyll Island Golf Club also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Jekyll Island Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jekyll Island Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jekyll Island Golf Club to your Saves list