We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cafe

Club Cafe
371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
18554852074
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Hotel is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room; the casual, sophisticated Courtyard at Crane Cottage and the bakery-delicatessen Cafe Solterra. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America's wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. Weddings & Events For a coastal Georgia wedding or a ceremony in the garden of a historic villa, the Jekyll Island Club Hotel offers a variety of gorgeous and unique Georgia wedding venues. Versatile facilities and personal service also make the resort an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the small cafe at The Jekyll Island Club Hotel. The sandwiches are a little pricey, but they are very good and may be enough at lunch for two. Just a walk through the clubhouse to get to the restaurant is worth the cost of your lunch. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Algonquin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manning, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elegance and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had lunch today with a friend and we loved it! The porch is so pretty, hung with ferns, overlooking the courtyard, a cozy way to while away an afternoon. My tuna salad plate was huge, as was my friend's chicken salad, and they were so good, with lovely fresh veggies. The staff were friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our lunch very much. Wish I lived closer, I'd dine here often.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Quick Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Cafe is open late and offers a variety of pastries, soups and sandwiches. Good choice if want something light and quick. Try the Othello bars they are exceptional! Pastries are half price after 4 PM and free refills on drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh, those pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Every time we visit Jekyll we end up going to Solterra a couple of times. Usually after 4 PM. Didn't you know you can get half-price pastries in the evening!? You can! If the pastries are not out in the dessert cabinet any more, just ask and the friendly workers will be more than happy to show you what they still have in stock. Everything is always excellent. In the past we have had some pretty good pizzas from here as well. One thing that leaves much to be desired (for me anway) is the cup sizes. I need a bigger sweet tea, thanks, and a larger coffee for those prices! Also, do not come in expecting Starbucks quality white mochas or the like - you just won't get them here (although I wish they would learn), but overall the coffee is acceptable. And yes - the prices are a tad on the higher side, but Solterra is part of a "luxury" resort so this is to be expected, really.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeddyBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just the basics, but done right in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After a lavish late dinner the night before in the Grand Dining Room, it was nice to have a light breakfast option. I had coffee, a danish and a bowl of grits which all told cost $6.05 which seemed reasonable to me (heck, you can't eat at Cracker Barrel for 6 bucks). Also, it was good food! The danish was very fresh and delicious, and the grits were tasty and just the right consistency. The cafe is located on a long veranda that has many tables for outdoor dining (all in the shade). This is the kind of amenity that some hotels don't put much effort into, so it speaks well of the property that they do it right.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Cafe also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing