We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps a little short staffed?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
1492 E Oglethorpe Hwy, Hinesville, GA 31313-1218
912-369-4909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 79 Restaurants in Hinesville
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perhaps a little short staffed?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had to wait for about 15 minutes for a table even though I counted at least 8 tables empty and clean. As a former restaurant manager I suspected they did not have enough staff on duty. Sure enough our server appeared to be waiting on about 10 tables (at least twice as many as she should have been). It took too long to get drinks, appetizers, and our main meal.

I had the full rack of ribs. While the flavor was good, it was overcooked and somewhat dried out. The cole slaw was bland. Our app was boneless chicken wings. Again, the flavor was good but somewhat overcooked. The drinks were decent.

The few people that were working really seemed to be running around and too busy to remember everything. When our app was served we were not given any silverware, app plates, or napkins. We waited 4-5 minutes and finally was able to flag someone down. Also I didn't get any wet naps. Who serves saucy ribs without giving them some wet naps (and only 1 small paper napkin).

This may have been one bad night, but if they always run short staffed I would probably try another restaurant. Our server was very friendly and kept apologizing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Stewart, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best applebees, but still room for improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The staff here is amazing and the food is great, however they do cheat you on your drinks now. If you order a brewtus beer you better ask for them to bring it in a brewtus glass. They have new glasses that are about 4 ounces smaller and still charge you the same price.....And if you confront them about it they get really defensive......The karaoke is great and so is the dj at night. I have a blast here, just really pisses me off about the beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sub-par food & service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ate at the bar. Bartenders were more focused on creating some goofy drink with crushed "pop-rocks" than taking care of customers. Tortilla on chicken-wrap was so tough I gave up and used a fork and steak knife.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Banging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

On Wednesday they have a live dj spin records and turn AppleBees into a club. They even make a dance floor. Thursday they have karaoke. And after 9 all the appetizers are half price. The hav $3 dollar long island ice teas and 22oz tap beer for $3. I had three order of wings, chicken quasadillias, 3 drinks, and a beer all for $31. My wife and I went home hot and ready.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
“so so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have visited many Applebees in my life and the quality of food at this one is just bad. Obviously I don't go there expecting a religious experience, but I would like something edible. It's not all bad though. The deserts are pretty good and some of the appetizers are good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.