We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Chatuge Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Chatuge Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hilltop View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice Location with lake view rooms. Sits on top of a hill that was a surprise. Pictures lake lodge appear closer to the lake than it really is. Staff was very helpful. Our room was ready almost immediately upon early check in;) Breakfast was well stocked and adequate & much better than dry cereal and milk.
Quiet room, but beds were a little on the firm side.
Close to all Hiawassie has to offer;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for your great review. As you mentioned, we are located on hill overlooking Lake Chatuge. We are adjacent to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. We offer a continental breakfast during the week and a deluxe continental on the weekend that include 3 hot items in addition to our continental fare. I'm glad that your early arrival request was met. We try to accommodate all of our guest's requests if possible. I hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
70
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

When we arrived, the young lady at the front desk was much more interested in the two young men visiting with her than helping us check-in. We were in tiwn for the big annual car show, which meant we trailered our show car. Well, not only was there no parking for our trailer, there was no parking for our Tahoe! We had to park our trailer off site and wish for the best. We paid for our room....it definitely wasn't free. The maid failed to clean our room one day, forcing us to call the front desk for clean towels. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the Moonshine Cruiz-In and all of its participants. I am sorry that the front desk attendant was not attentive enough when you arrived. I will address it with them and I apologize for their lack of interest. All trailers were asked to park at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds to allow for enough parking for all of the other guests staying in the hotel. I am sorry that your room was not serviced one of the days you were staying here. I will address this with the housekeeping supervisor. I hope that you will return for next years Cruiz-In and give us a chance to correct these issues.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our balcony view overlooked the woods. The facility has a nice lodgy feel to it, friendly staff, efficient check in, large well appointed room with a mild musty smell. TV reception was so bad we couldn't watch it. Loved the lobby with its huge stone fireplace, beautiful lake view, large TV, computer station, and checker board that was a hit with our grandsons. Breakfast in a facility this large was a fiasco. The inadequate seating was crammed together making it very difficult to move through the buffet line with many people standing. Long wait for tables, poor food availability. When an item came out, it was inadequate for the number of waiting people, creating another long wait and poor table turnover. I would have preferred paying for a nice breakfast with good service. More tables needed on the patio in addition to other games for children and families.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake or wooded views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I appreciate your review. I would like to address so of the concerns you raised. Our breakfast is a complimentary breakfast that is included in your room price. During high capacity times, we open up our banquet room near the lobby to accommodate the overflow. We do have tables and chairs on the back patio for our guests to enjoy. As far as the tv not having reception, I am sorry that. Just let us know while you are staying here so that our maintenance staff can correct the issue. It is usually a loose coax cable that needs to be tightened up. I hope to meet you the next time you are staying here so that I may address your concerns in person.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife, son and I stayed here for three nights. We had a standard room. The property has some age but it is well maintained and the room was clean. We thought the lake would be accessible from the hotel but the fact it isn't would not prevent us from staying here again. We enjoyed ourselves and ate well. We rented a boat for a couple of hours Saturday morning. The lake is clean, deep and not terribly developed. Nice town, nice people and a good place to visit.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if you can. Other rooms overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our housekeeping staff goes through great lenghts to make sure that the rooms are clean. As you mentioned, we don't have direct access to the lake from the lake, but there is a walking trail at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and a public beach right across the street. There are a few places to rent boats around the lake. Our front desk staff is happy to provide this info. to all of our guests. I am glad that your three night stay was a good one and I hope that you will stay with us the next time you are coming to Hiawassee, Georgia.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an older property but well maintained. Check in was quick and they had their staff jump on preparing my room since they knew I was waiting which is something not all hotels will do for you. They act like a family run property and not like a big chain. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon was a nice touch. Ask for an even numbered room for the lake view. Also each room has a spacious balcony. Note the location is great and you can walk to the beach and fair grounds if it is in town or if there is a concert. For $100 for a deluxe room, you get your monies worth.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your great review. As you mentioned, we are not a big chain so we try to offer the best customer service that we can to all of our guests. The hotel does offer some great lakeview rooms that offer spectacular views of Lake Chatuge. All of our rooms have a private balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The hotel does have access to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds as well as a great public/free beach across the street. I appreciate your kind words and I hope to meet you the next time you are staying with us.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The breakfast area has no logical traffic pattern, tables are too big causing dead end maze channels. A lot backing up and looking for another way to the food and coffee. All carbohydrate(sweets) food choices, no yogurt. The carpet is decades old ( stayed 20 years ago) and the rooms were musty smelling. Beds were comfortable, pillows were acceptable, the bathroom was sufficient, but the toilet was about the height of a preschool toilet.
There is no assistance with your luggage, but there are carts.

Room Tip: When making a selection for a "lake view", be sure to request level 3. We did not and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you didn't find our breakfast layout up to your satisfaction. You were here on a busy weekend and during a time when many guests were getting food at the same time. You must have overlooked our yogurt because we have it available everyday of the week on the breakfast bar. There is also fresh fruit everyday of the week on the bar as well.

Some of our toilets are still the older style and not the newer elongated bowls with the higher base on them. We are changing them to the newer style when the older ones need replacing.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is an older property built in 1995 and was once a Ramada Inn. Great location. The rooms are done in pine furniture. My husband and I loved our stay here. Bed was more comfy than the Hampton Inn in Murphy, NC. Room was very clean and ours had a balcony overlooking the lake - beautiful view. The usual breakfast items included - coffee was pretty decent. Staff members we encountered were all friendly. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view because of tree growth, but a room with a view of the lake is beautiful (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for coming back to stay with us again. As you mentioned, we are no longer a Ramada. We started out as the Lake Chatuge Lodge in 1995 and have decided it was time to go back to our original name. I am glad you found our beds comfortable and the rooms clean. I will pass along your kind words to my team to let them know that their hard work isn't going unnoticed. I look forward to meeting you the next time you are in Hiawassee.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chatuge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.