We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and location, but a little rough around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake Chatuge Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hiawassee
Temple
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great views and location, but a little rough around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We traveled to Hiawassee for the HOG rally and decided to stay at the Lake Chatuga Lodge (formerly the Ramada) where a lot of our friends were staying.

Check in was easy and painless, the staff was friendly and the lobby are was pretty nice!

The room itself was decent, though it could really use some updating. Even though we did not have the lake view, we still had some pretty nice vies of the north Georgia mountains from our balcony.

The room was a bit musty smelling and dated (it had some prints hanging on the walls that appeared to depict scenes of northern Italy!) and the bathroom was in dire need of a re-tile (some of the floor tiles were actually loose), but the room was clean.

Fresh towels were delivered daily, however they were placed on the edge of the bathtub instead of being hung. A little odd, but whatever.

And the in-room coffee was not replenished with caffeinated packs. De-caf only. The good news is that the free coffee in the lobby was actually very good and fresh, so not a big deal.

The free breakfast buffet was decent and free! No complaints there.

If you are planning on staying in HIawassee on a budget, the Lake Chatuge Lodge is a good bargain!

Two suggestions:

1) Ask for a room with a lake view if you can get it.

2) Make sure you aren't going to be there at the same time as a motorcycle rally! There were a few "un-aware" folks there who did not seem to appreciate the loud motorcycles and very late night carousing. Just saying!

Room Tip: Ask for Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our staff always enjoys the HOG rally. We do advise everyone that is not with rally that there is a motorcycle rally going on and that there will be activity and noise through their stay. Our housekeepers do a great job keeping the rooms clean, and I will ask why you did not receive and caffeinated coffee. We do keep extra coffee at the front desk and just let them know that you need some. Our upgraded lakeview rooms do offer beautiful views of Lake Chatuge. I apologize if your room smelled musty. We have had record breaking rain this year and a few rooms have been affected by this. Enjoy next year's rally and we look forward to hosting you in 2015.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
53
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Last minute decision to go to Georgia state motorcycle hog rally.secured lodging enroute.pleasantly surprised to find a lodge with view from balcony of lake chatuge plus beautiful mountains of Hiawassee Ga. Room was clean and nice.bathroom could use some improvements.friendly staff.evening hours brought smores over blazing fire socializing with fellow riders about days events.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We always to love to have your group and hate to see you leave. Everyone is always so pleasant to be around. I am glad that you enjoyed the late night smores and the views from your balcony. Our housekeeping staff works tirelessly to make sure every room is clean. I hope that you enjoy next years rally and we look forward to seeing you the next time you ride through Hiawassee.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It had a microwave and refrigerator and a table and two chairs inside. The deck had a pretty view of the lake. I would stay t

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff is very inviting and go out of their way to accommodate our guests. The housekeeping staff works very hard to keep their rooms clean. The upgraded lakeview rooms offer terrific views from their private balconies of beautiful Lake Chatuge. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Park, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I travel to the Lake Chatuge Lodge every year to enjoy the clean and comfortable rooms of this hotel. The Lodge is within walking distance to the Georgia Mountain Fair.(a big plus for us) The hotel has a rustic mountain flare. The breakfast is good , I wish the management would do one simple thing concerning breakfast that would change my rating from "very good" to "excellent".......Open the conference room and place a few tables in there for quests to sit down and eat their breakfast. You do not have enough "table" seating for your guests at breakfast. We notice this every year. Please be smart and make this change. Other than this problem, I was pleased with our stay. I plan to return next year for another enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. In response to making your stay from good to excellent review, we have breakfast trays to take your food back to your room. We do open up the banquet room to accommodate our overflow from the breakfast area. In this case, it was set up for a meeting and we had to leave the doors shut. I'm sorry for the inconvenience and hope that during your next stay with us, there will be more seating for breakfast. I look forward to meeting you the next time you stay at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I just returned from at 7 day stay at the Lake Chatuge Lodge, which after reading some of the previously posted reviews, I was hesitant to stay at. We had a group of approx 150 adults/children occupying about 100 rooms for the week. Other than a just okay breakfast set up during the week (weekends are better) we all had a great time. The rooms are older but clean and housekeeping did a great job, I was on the third floor in a suite, I never once returned when the room hadn't been cleaned. You might want to check to see if your room has a refrigerator, but if not they are available. I found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating, they never once appeared annoyed by having a very large group. I found the area to be wonderful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Let me start by saying your group was wonderful and the cars were a delight to see.
Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make sure the rooms are clean. Our breakfast during the week is a continental breakfast and on the weekends we offer 3-4 hot items as well. I hope that your group will decide to make another trip to Hiawassee next year. We look forward to your return trip.

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We housed a large group for several days in Hiawassee - about 200 people across multiple properties. With all of the moving parts, last minute changes and demands of our business, the Lake Chatuge Lodge (formerly the Ramada Inn) was the only property that just couldn't keep up. The rooms are more-or-less just shabby and badly in need of renovation. More importantly, the managerial and front office staff were the least service-oriented of any property I've ever worked with (and I've worked with a bunch). If all you need is a standard check in and a one night stay when you're on the road, it's probably fine. But there is no chance I'd recommend the property to a group (or even anyone planning an extended stay). They just aren't equipped to handle any volume of service. They were rude to our guests, rude to our staff, and often just plain incompetent. There was an overwhelming sense that they didn't want us there, never mind the fact that we were the reason they were going to make their revenue projections that month. Money means nothing to them - they were absolutely inflexible, even when we offered to pay substantial amounts for conveniences and things we required (like a late checkout). Moreover, the management staff actively avoided actually having conversations with our staff, and preferred to make arrangements by communicating with an intermediary - the manager at another (unaffiliated) property. What? Why are you so weird and so awful, Lake Chatuge Lodge?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Lake Chatuge Lodge is a beautiful lodge in the North Georgia Mountains overlooking Lake Chatuge. We have over 100 guest rooms and several meeting spaces to accomodate all guests. We appreciate your feedback and would like to respond.

1. You have never been a guest at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

2. You, nor your company, have never contracted with Lake Chatuge Lodge to have a group at the hotel.

Lake Chatuge Lodge caters to numerous groups throughout the year ranging from small to large groups. In fact, we have several large groups that book the entire hotel that come every year. Just let us know if we can ever help you with any of your group needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chatuge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.