We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Chatuge Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Chatuge Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. It had a microwave and refrigerator and a table and two chairs inside. The deck had a pretty view of the lake. I would stay t

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff is very inviting and go out of their way to accommodate our guests. The housekeeping staff works very hard to keep their rooms clean. The upgraded lakeview rooms offer terrific views from their private balconies of beautiful Lake Chatuge. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
61
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Park, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I travel to the Lake Chatuge Lodge every year to enjoy the clean and comfortable rooms of this hotel. The Lodge is within walking distance to the Georgia Mountain Fair.(a big plus for us) The hotel has a rustic mountain flare. The breakfast is good , I wish the management would do one simple thing concerning breakfast that would change my rating from "very good" to "excellent".......Open the conference room and place a few tables in there for quests to sit down and eat their breakfast. You do not have enough "table" seating for your guests at breakfast. We notice this every year. Please be smart and make this change. Other than this problem, I was pleased with our stay. I plan to return next year for another enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. In response to making your stay from good to excellent review, we have breakfast trays to take your food back to your room. We do open up the banquet room to accommodate our overflow from the breakfast area. In this case, it was set up for a meeting and we had to leave the doors shut. I'm sorry for the inconvenience and hope that during your next stay with us, there will be more seating for breakfast. I look forward to meeting you the next time you stay at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I just returned from at 7 day stay at the Lake Chatuge Lodge, which after reading some of the previously posted reviews, I was hesitant to stay at. We had a group of approx 150 adults/children occupying about 100 rooms for the week. Other than a just okay breakfast set up during the week (weekends are better) we all had a great time. The rooms are older but clean and housekeeping did a great job, I was on the third floor in a suite, I never once returned when the room hadn't been cleaned. You might want to check to see if your room has a refrigerator, but if not they are available. I found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating, they never once appeared annoyed by having a very large group. I found the area to be wonderful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Let me start by saying your group was wonderful and the cars were a delight to see.
Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make sure the rooms are clean. Our breakfast during the week is a continental breakfast and on the weekends we offer 3-4 hot items as well. I hope that your group will decide to make another trip to Hiawassee next year. We look forward to your return trip.

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We housed a large group for several days in Hiawassee - about 200 people across multiple properties. With all of the moving parts, last minute changes and demands of our business, the Lake Chatuge Lodge (formerly the Ramada Inn) was the only property that just couldn't keep up. The rooms are more-or-less just shabby and badly in need of renovation. More importantly, the managerial and front office staff were the least service-oriented of any property I've ever worked with (and I've worked with a bunch). If all you need is a standard check in and a one night stay when you're on the road, it's probably fine. But there is no chance I'd recommend the property to a group (or even anyone planning an extended stay). They just aren't equipped to handle any volume of service. They were rude to our guests, rude to our staff, and often just plain incompetent. There was an overwhelming sense that they didn't want us there, never mind the fact that we were the reason they were going to make their revenue projections that month. Money means nothing to them - they were absolutely inflexible, even when we offered to pay substantial amounts for conveniences and things we required (like a late checkout). Moreover, the management staff actively avoided actually having conversations with our staff, and preferred to make arrangements by communicating with an intermediary - the manager at another (unaffiliated) property. What? Why are you so weird and so awful, Lake Chatuge Lodge?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Lake Chatuge Lodge is a beautiful lodge in the North Georgia Mountains overlooking Lake Chatuge. We have over 100 guest rooms and several meeting spaces to accomodate all guests. We appreciate your feedback and would like to respond.

1. You have never been a guest at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

2. You, nor your company, have never contracted with Lake Chatuge Lodge to have a group at the hotel.

Lake Chatuge Lodge caters to numerous groups throughout the year ranging from small to large groups. In fact, we have several large groups that book the entire hotel that come every year. Just let us know if we can ever help you with any of your group needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent memorial day weekend in Hiawassee this year. We opted for a hotel vs a bed and breakfast since we were staying ther for one night only. A friend recommended Ramada inn. We were very pleased with the choice. We got a room overlooking the lake with a small balcony. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very average. I think they could do better with that.
While we were there we walked to the gardens nearby which also lead to part of the lake. Very enjoyable stroll. A starting point of the Appalachian trail was only about 10 min away. We enjoyed a hike the next morning.
A very good restaurant nearby in downtown Hiawassee , Michaelee chocholate cafe. We loved their food and their service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room overlooking the lake, worth the $10 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. You had a fun filled 2 days while visiting Hiawassee. Our continental breakfast has been upgraded from when you stayed with us. It now includes a few more hot items.

All of our rooms include a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table so guests can enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

The Hamilton Gardens at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds is a great place to walk. It is within walking distance from the hotel.

You found one of Hiawassee's best kept secrets. Michaelee's is a great place for lunch or dinner. The Chophouse is located on site and is another great place to eat. It is also within walking distance to the hotel.

I hope that the next time you are in Hiawassee, you will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chatuge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.