We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Group Disaster” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Chatuge Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Chatuge Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Large Group Disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We housed a large group for several days in Hiawassee - about 200 people across multiple properties. With all of the moving parts, last minute changes and demands of our business, the Lake Chatuge Lodge (formerly the Ramada Inn) was the only property that just couldn't keep up. The rooms are more-or-less just shabby and badly in need of renovation. More importantly, the managerial and front office staff were the least service-oriented of any property I've ever worked with (and I've worked with a bunch). If all you need is a standard check in and a one night stay when you're on the road, it's probably fine. But there is no chance I'd recommend the property to a group (or even anyone planning an extended stay). They just aren't equipped to handle any volume of service. They were rude to our guests, rude to our staff, and often just plain incompetent. There was an overwhelming sense that they didn't want us there, never mind the fact that we were the reason they were going to make their revenue projections that month. Money means nothing to them - they were absolutely inflexible, even when we offered to pay substantial amounts for conveniences and things we required (like a late checkout). Moreover, the management staff actively avoided actually having conversations with our staff, and preferred to make arrangements by communicating with an intermediary - the manager at another (unaffiliated) property. What? Why are you so weird and so awful, Lake Chatuge Lodge?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Lake Chatuge Lodge is a beautiful lodge in the North Georgia Mountains overlooking Lake Chatuge. We have over 100 guest rooms and several meeting spaces to accomodate all guests. We appreciate your feedback and would like to respond.

1. You have never been a guest at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

2. You, nor your company, have never contracted with Lake Chatuge Lodge to have a group at the hotel.

Lake Chatuge Lodge caters to numerous groups throughout the year ranging from small to large groups. In fact, we have several large groups that book the entire hotel that come every year. Just let us know if we can ever help you with any of your group needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
60
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent memorial day weekend in Hiawassee this year. We opted for a hotel vs a bed and breakfast since we were staying ther for one night only. A friend recommended Ramada inn. We were very pleased with the choice. We got a room overlooking the lake with a small balcony. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very average. I think they could do better with that.
While we were there we walked to the gardens nearby which also lead to part of the lake. Very enjoyable stroll. A starting point of the Appalachian trail was only about 10 min away. We enjoyed a hike the next morning.
A very good restaurant nearby in downtown Hiawassee , Michaelee chocholate cafe. We loved their food and their service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room overlooking the lake, worth the $10 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. You had a fun filled 2 days while visiting Hiawassee. Our continental breakfast has been upgraded from when you stayed with us. It now includes a few more hot items.

All of our rooms include a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table so guests can enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

The Hamilton Gardens at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds is a great place to walk. It is within walking distance from the hotel.

You found one of Hiawassee's best kept secrets. Michaelee's is a great place for lunch or dinner. The Chophouse is located on site and is another great place to eat. It is also within walking distance to the hotel.

I hope that the next time you are in Hiawassee, you will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our last night here and it has been a terrible experience . They gave away our king room overlooking the lake and gave us a room over looking the parking lot with no apology. The sheet on the bed was dirty. We came in today after a day of hiking to find our room had not been touched when I called the clerk he offered no apology. I went down and got towels for our room. My husband and I do a lot of traveling to this beautiful area and thought we had found the perfect place to stay. Sad to say we will never return to this hotel or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am familiar with your stay and would like to address it now: You failed to mention that your husband had a dental emergency and you checked out of the hotel. We are unable to hold rooms for guests even though you said there was a chance you might come back depending on how bad your husbands tooth hurt. It was a busy weekend and all of the lakeview king rooms were sold out when you returned. The assistant manager offered you either a lakeview room with 2 queen beds or a std. room with a king bed. You declined to take either and drove away. Upon returning, you took a std. king room.

I will address the cleanliness of the room with our housekeeping staff. Our housekeepers work very hard to clean our rooms. Our other tripadvisor reviews will attest to this fact.

I hope that you will give us another try and I look forward to meeting you if you do.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chatuge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.