We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Chatuge Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Chatuge Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
72
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent memorial day weekend in Hiawassee this year. We opted for a hotel vs a bed and breakfast since we were staying ther for one night only. A friend recommended Ramada inn. We were very pleased with the choice. We got a room overlooking the lake with a small balcony. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very average. I think they could do better with that.
While we were there we walked to the gardens nearby which also lead to part of the lake. Very enjoyable stroll. A starting point of the Appalachian trail was only about 10 min away. We enjoyed a hike the next morning.
A very good restaurant nearby in downtown Hiawassee , Michaelee chocholate cafe. We loved their food and their service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room overlooking the lake, worth the $10 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. You had a fun filled 2 days while visiting Hiawassee. Our continental breakfast has been upgraded from when you stayed with us. It now includes a few more hot items.

All of our rooms include a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table so guests can enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

The Hamilton Gardens at the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds is a great place to walk. It is within walking distance from the hotel.

You found one of Hiawassee's best kept secrets. Michaelee's is a great place for lunch or dinner. The Chophouse is located on site and is another great place to eat. It is also within walking distance to the hotel.

I hope that the next time you are in Hiawassee, you will stay with us again.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our last night here and it has been a terrible experience . They gave away our king room overlooking the lake and gave us a room over looking the parking lot with no apology. The sheet on the bed was dirty. We came in today after a day of hiking to find our room had not been touched when I called the clerk he offered no apology. I went down and got towels for our room. My husband and I do a lot of traveling to this beautiful area and thought we had found the perfect place to stay. Sad to say we will never return to this hotel or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I am familiar with your stay and would like to address it now: You failed to mention that your husband had a dental emergency and you checked out of the hotel. We are unable to hold rooms for guests even though you said there was a chance you might come back depending on how bad your husbands tooth hurt. It was a busy weekend and all of the lakeview king rooms were sold out when you returned. The assistant manager offered you either a lakeview room with 2 queen beds or a std. room with a king bed. You declined to take either and drove away. Upon returning, you took a std. king room.

I will address the cleanliness of the room with our housekeeping staff. Our housekeepers work very hard to clean our rooms. Our other tripadvisor reviews will attest to this fact.

I hope that you will give us another try and I look forward to meeting you if you do.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Convenient location. Could hear every person in hall as door was not sealed. Alarm went off at midnight the first night(may have been set by cleaning staff wiping clock). Dead bugs on floor under lamp. Plastic chairs on porch need to be replaced-they are cracked and would pinch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Our hotel is located next to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. I'm sorry about the noise in the hallway. Please call the front desk during your next stay if there is an issue and they will take care of it. Being in the mountains and having doors to the balcony, it is possible that some flying insects came in your room during your stay and died. Our housekeeping staff always makes sure the rooms are clean before you check-in and during your stay. Please let us know in the future of any problems, and they will correct this issue as well. The chairs on the balcony do get replaced as needed. The sun is tough on them, but our maintenance staff will change them out during your stay if we know there is a problem. I look forward to meeting you the next time you stay at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chatuge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.