We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar

The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar
3379 Highway 76 West, Hiawassee, GA
706-896-1919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set on the shore of Lake Chatuge and overlooking The Ridges Marina, The Blue Otter offers the best in Family Friendly Casual Dining on one side and a State of the Art Sports Bar on the other side. Bring your friends and family to the lake and then enjoy a casual meal, adult beverage, and/or a sweet treat while looking at the beautiful North Georgia Mountain vistas.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We drove all the way around Lake Chatuge looking for an outdoor restaurant and were amazed at only finding one! (Up in Michigan - any lake is going to have multiple :)
The food was great bar food and the view was amazing - Would definitely come back if we are ever here again. Service was friendly and quick.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    29
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food--Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found this awesome place on our visit to Hiawasee...yummy nachos with homemade chips was fantastic and the Breakfast burger (complete with a grief egg and bacon) was amazing..sat outside and enjoyed the lake view! Highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee
1 review
“A fun, nice, clean place to eat, enjoy the lake and good music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

If you want great food, good local music, and a great view while you eat, there is no better place than the blue otter. My table didn't get crowded with empty plates, drinks never went dry and the music and staff were wonderful. The manager, I think his name was Andrew, came by personally and asked about our experience which I thought was very professional and even talked with us like we were old friends. When you walk in here you will feel like family. All in all, a great place to drink, eat, enjoy the scenery and have a blast!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Average Food & Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Boy, this place was a disaster: the wait staff was totally disorganized. The food was quite average. The only saving grace is the view; but, you can get the view for free anywhere in the area. Bottom line: don't waste your time or money....there have to be better places.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Outdoor Location in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've recently moved to Blairsville and this is definitely my new favorite place. I've found that while many other restaurants in the area have good food they are grossly lacking in ambiance! The Blue Otter has good food and a great vibe. The views from the patios are great...so relaxing with a great view of Lake Chatuge. I'm a vegetarian and they have a lot of vegy options. I think I've tried them all and they are all really good - especially like the black bean burger wrap. The staff has always been really friendly and overall service is good. They even have a free dock if you're lucky enough to have a boat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.