We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Hawg BBQ

The Happy Hawg BBQ
1586 Hwy 76 W, Hiawassee, GA 30546
+1 706-896-0012
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Defiantly Like Nobody else! We pull to order,then it's hand chopped! Freshness you can taste! Smoked Pork,Chicken,Turkey and Ribs! "Where the locals eat" Come See Us! We are located 1/2 Mile west of the North Georgia Fairgrounds. On the right. Heading west towards Young Harris. Seating is limited! Summer Hours: Wednesday --Saturday. 11:00 Am--7:00 pm Sunday. 11:00 Am--3:00 pm
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chopped chicken and pork is very tender and very tasty. The ribs have a great taste. When you come in you can't miss the Wonderful aroma. Will be back. Recommend highly!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    16
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hawg-licous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I always have to stop at a bar-b-que place when we're traveling. If this isn't the very best in the southeast US, then it's the best in GA for sure! The ribs melt in your mouth. Must order the side of beans. You'll turn up the cup for the last delicious morsel. Friendly staff. Definitely coming back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lean, moist and savory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've moved to the North Georgia Mountains recently and decided one week to taste and compare some of the local BBQ. By far, The Happy Hawg wins hands down. The meat was lean and juicy and when topped with the Carolina Mustard based sauce (my preference) it was amazing. No grease or charred meat. The beans and slaw were excellent too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT BBQ, sides, & "sweet tea"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This spot was a real treat in every way! BBQ was very tender and flavorful, and all 4 BBQ sauces (traditional sweet/tangy, vinegary, mustardy, and hot sauce) were housemade and yummy. The sides all tasted freshly made, even though it was the end of the day--we had slaw, mac&cheese, potato salad, and real Vidalia onions. Do try the slaw as it was the simplest and healthiest I've ever had (no mayo!) so I could not believe how tasty and refreshing it was. We enjoyed the cheerful red-checked table cloth atmosphere too! OH -- and we really appreciated their having internet available to customers. Too bad I live in Michigan -- I would love to eat there again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont Miss it! (Great food too!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great experience! We were winding our way across north GA on our way to the Smokies. Stopped in just before closing on a Sunday (4PM). Simple menu but the food is better than your mother makes (Really: try the Mac & Cheese)! Fresh pulled pork (hand done per serving, not sitting in some steamer all day) VERY reasonably cost. Cute decor inside.

The owner, chief and bottle washer took our order and was very very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food and service done right!

I'll detour out of my way next time I am down there for another meal plus more to go

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Hawg BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Hawg BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Hawg BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.