We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time with Friends and Family at Ridges Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridges Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ridges Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Ridges Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3499 Highway 76 West, Hiawassee, GA 30582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Dates Hot Rates
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Time with Friends and Family at Ridges Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Just spent a wonderful weekend with friends and family at Ridges Resort in Hiawassee, Georgia. I can see how this beautiful resort would have something to offer in every season: Winter - beautiful views of snow-capped mountains while sipping hot cocoa by the fireplace; Spring - outdoor dining at the delicious Oaks Restaurant surrounded by blooming rhododendron; Summer - swimming and boating on Lake Chatuge; and Fall - enjoying all the colors of the Blue Ridge Mountains in autumn. On a side note, the service at Ridges was excellent...helpful, courteous, accommodating, and available! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mejinc, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments and suggestions! Our goal is to provide the highest quality personal service for our guests, best in class facilities and most importantly staff that will always provide for a courtesy greet!

Thank you!
Management
Chad, Michele, Karl, Greg, Melinda and Hayley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    110
    51
    21
    4
See reviews for
111
269
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

It was off season but we were greeted with smiles and waited on us as if we were the only ones there. We was taken on a boat ride even with ice on the lake but thanks to our captian it was fun. I will stay at the Ridges anytime I am close to this location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I unexpectedly were stranded in Hiawassee, GA the night of our 5 year anniversary. We were on our way to the Biltmore but were snowed into this town. Somehow, someway we found this resort and I can honestly say, it was 100 times better than the Biltmore experience ever could have been. The lobby and public rooms are grand and reminded us of being in a ski chalet out in Denver. A huge fireplace adorns the Great Room and the decorating is amazing. The hotel rooms were clean, large, and perfect for our getaway. The resort sits right on the lake and all of the rooms have a great view. The grounds were fabulous and well kept. I could not believe we stumbled upon this place. Who would have thought. So while the resort is great, the people really made the weekend the BEST. Upon check in we met Vicki, who works the front desk/bar/anything else you can think of. My occupation has a lot to do with customer service and I can honestly say that she was one of the most pleasant, nice, sincere, customer service oriented people I have ever met. She was so hospitable and made our trip extra special with her kindness and her willingness to go the extra mile to make our anniversary great. If you do get a chance to stay at this resort, make sure to ask for Vicki as she will make your stay memorable. I truly do appreciate her going the extra mile to make our stay perfect. Its hard to find people like her in todays workplace. She is the reason that we would drive out of our way to stay at this resort again, which most likely will be over Valentines day this year. So to recap, its a great resort, beautiful hotel, and the service is exceptional. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This resort is wonderfully located on Lake Chatuge in N GA in the shadow of the state's highest peak - Brass Town Bald. Very accessable, right off the main highway.
Attractive grounds overlooking lake and marina. The main lodge interior and guest room decor are outstanding and the amenities exceeded our expectatations.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Very nice NYE party and pleasant breakfast included the next morning. Good choice any time of year with an outdoor pool and water activities. Many restaurants and antique shopping nearby as well as small wineries. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I had our daughter's wedding at the Ridges Resort October 30, 2010. All of the guest stayed at the resort. Everyone complimented us on what a beautiful place the resort was. More than once guest mentioned to us how valuable of a an employee Vicky at the front desk was. Vicky was extremely friendly, personable and many times going out of her way to accommodate our guest. The hotel was decorated beautifully which added to our daughters wedding. The rooms were extremely comfortable and cleaned. We started with a welcoming celebration at the Lakeside Pavilion on Friday evening. The reception was handled beautifully with every detailed being attended to. The fire was burning in the fire pit which added to the enjoyment of our guest. Saturday we held a cocktail party in the lobby of the hotel and the patio area outside of the lobby followed by a 6 hour reception in the Red Banks Room. Every detailed was management and carry out perfectly by Melinda Waters our coordinator at the resort. Another valuable employee. Not one detail was missed by Melinda she was always on top of everything. The day would not have been possible without her. We have enjoyed the resort for years living part-time in the area and was so excited to share it with our many friends and family to celebrate Chelsea and AJ's wedding. The employees and resort did not let us down. I would highly recommend the resort for weddings, vacations, family reunions, business functions or just to take in the beauty of the mountains. All are guest were impressed with the quality and beauty of the resort. Thank you for making Chelsea and AJ's wedding a perfect day.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demopolis, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Please direct these comments to the new owner (as recommended by your staff) to help her in future changes. We were there four nights. The New Years Eve party was Wonderful! The breaker was kicked off when we arrived so some of the lights and plugs didn't work. No maint. til the next am. Only one staff on duty at a time - make the cookies,coffee, be bartender, answer phone, check in/out. Give info. Erin pepared full packet of directions and brochures when she went home so it was ready for us the following am. But So pleasant. The room has no full length mirror. The hsekpg kept replacing shampoos (upgrade that brand and not easy pour) Only had one soap. They need to see what client uses. We drink two reg. coffees they replaced the one but there were two decafs. The refrig is dangerously enclosed in a box (gets very hot on top even tho vented. Consider decreased desk size and replace with multi use piece . Feathers were escaping from the topper. We used the too heavy comforter over it to even mattress out. Too many huge pillows for looks - they wind up on the floor. Need music in the restaurant. Five tables of customers, four staff and waited over five minutes for service. But food was very good. Make sure it's hot. Better to be told to be careful than it be just warm.Exercise room still has conference rm chairs. No resort feel. The Grill also had great food-fun for watching the games. Good staff too. We met folks who come year round. The layed back yet quality feeling is there and of course your location - just need a little tweaking. Thanks and best wishes for New Year. Hope to get back to go fishing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This resort was beautifully decorated for Christmas with gorgeous trees in the lobby area. The fireplace was so impressive with its lodge atmosphere overlooking the water. Every room was impeccably decorated with attention to the most minute details. You definitely knew you were in the mountains of north Georgia! Vickie, at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Beautiful place with a cozy atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridges Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridges Resort & Marina

Address: 3499 Highway 76 West, Hiawassee, GA 30582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridges Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the peaceful shores of Lake Chatuge in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia, you'll find the scenic escape of The Ridges Resort & Marina. Just two hours from Atlanta, our lakeside oasis is filled with recreational activities from boating to championship golf. Whether you're looking to recharge, spend some family time, or find the perfect corporate retreat, choose The Ridges Resort & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Ridges Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridges Resort And Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina Hotel Hiawassee
Ridges Hotel Hiawassee
Fieldstone Resort Hiawassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridges Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.