We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ridges Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ridges Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Ridges Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3499 Highway 76 West, Hiawassee, GA 30582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Dates Hot Rates
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome, Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The resort layout is fantastic. My husband and I were on a site visit/weekend getaway. The rooms were a nice size and I loved the patios - you could actually sit outside...comfortably. The common areas were very nice and cozy. The hotel staff was great and very accommodating. I loved the complimentary cookies in the afternoon. We also had dinner at The Oaks, the on-site restaurant. The food was AMAZING. I was pleasantly surprised! It's not the easiest property to get to because it is in the mountains, but it was definitely worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to come for a site visit to our resort, and for sharing your fantastic experience with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us. I am pleased that you recognized our special team and your wonderful dinner in The Oaks. We are proud of our special little escape and are so happy that you found us. We look forward to hosting your clients, and hopefully welcoming you back personally again very soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    111
    51
    21
    4
See reviews for
111
273
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The common area furnishings and atmosphere were nice and the lake view was beautiful but those are the only compliments I can give. Our room was dirty and worn, even my 15 year old daughter noticed and remarked that she didn't want to stay there again. The shower curtain was too small and left a gap of three to four inches on either side. The complimentary robes had stains. The mattresses had dents from years of use. The bathroom floor was not clean. This was our third overnight trip to Hiawassee this year but the first and last time to stay at this resort. The Holiday Inn Express, while offering no lake view, was much cleaner and the room much larger. The staff was just as accommodating and pleasant. The bed was more comfortable and the room had been updated with a flat screen TV. The Ridges is absolutely not worth the price. A nice view is only worth so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback from your visit with us this month. I am sincerely disappointed in reading your note, as it is so contradictory to the feedback that we typically receive from our guests. I was glad that you appreciated our furnishings and beautiful setting, but was sorry to note the variety of housekeeping concerns you shared. Our housekeeping team takes such pride in providing clean accommodations and in-room amenities, and will share your experience with them. You may want to note that all of our beds have feather topper mattresses, so if it seemed to have a dent in it, it was likely from perhaps an uneven flow of the feathers when the bed was prepared. This, I will also address with our team so that they are all properly fluffed evenly. I hope that you will reconsider a visit with us, as we would be delighted to welcome you back. Please call my office directly, and I'll be happy to make all of your arrangements to assure complete satisfaction!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are going back for our second visit this weekend, and I can't wait. Our first visit was in September for my wife's birthday. The Ridges is first class all the way. The weather was great, so we went out on one of the Paddle Boats, went for a hike on one of the local trails nearby, and then had a wonderful dinner at the Oaks. The rooms are fantastic, clean, and comfortable. The staff is great. They are warm, friendly, and very knowledgeable of all sorts of things to do at the resort and in the Hiawassee area. We can't wait for our visit this weekend, especially to enjoy the wonderful foliage this time year. The Ridges has become our favorite place to visit.

Room Tip: Definitely want to try and get one of their suites facing the lake, but any one of their rooms are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are thrilled to have had the pleasure of hosting you at The Ridges Resort twice this fall! Thank you so much for allowing us this privilege, and we so appreciate your very kind comments and genuine excitement about your experience! I'm delighted that you were able to take advantage of some of our onsite amenities as well as the beautiful hiking trails nearby. I will certainly share your feedback with our team, and are proud to be your "favorite place to visit." We look forward to seeing you often!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the sales staff, to the front desk to the housekeeping staff, to restaurant management and staff; it was some of the best customer service I've had in a long time. The hotel conditions were execellent and the food from the Oak Restaurant was surprisingling marvelous. The view from the balcony of my room was breathtaking. That's a lot of accolades but all were genuinely earned and deserved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your fabulous feedback about your experience to our special property. I was proud to read your comments about the fantastic customer service, as our team is truly special and cares about exceeding all of our guests' needs and expectations. I will certainly share all of your comments with them, as I agree, they are well deserved. We can't wait to welcome you back again, hopefully very soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our second trip to the Ridges and it was for an anniversary weekend getaway! The weather was wonderful and we loved the relaxing atmosphere of this resort. Dinner at the "Oaks" was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Be sure and stay on the "lakeside" to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so glad that you celebrated your second anniversary with us at The Ridges Resort - and that we could welcome you back for your return visit! We look forward to more celebrations and return visits soon! And thank you for your kinds words about the resort and your dining experience. I will certainly share them with our team!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile


My wife and I came up to check out the fall colors and lucked out by catching the season near peak. Our room was comfortable and clean and the public areas were very comfortable for a place to enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail and read a good book. The inn is located on a lake and the grounds are beautiful in the fall. A gas fireplace in a large stone chimney provides a touch of elegance. While too rustic to be optimal for my taste, it was still very comfortable. The inn has a small fitness room and a good restaurant. In addition to the restaurant bar the lobby has a tiny but adequate bar. The lobby bar is a full service bar with limited choices, but they offered to get anything we wanted from the restaurant bar. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the rooms, hallways, and common areas were very clean. We will definitely return, maybe next fall.

RGinTally

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to join us this fall and that you caught the "peak" of color in our beautiful mountain setting! Thank you for your kind comments about your experience. We strive to provide our guests with a very comfortable, relaxed lodge and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the beautiful fireplaces, bars, and dining room. We look forward to welcoming you back next fall, if not sooner, for what we hope will become an annual tradition for you!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We paid for our grandson and his family to stay here recently. The resort is beautiful and the rooms outstanding. They had a lake view balcony and watched a wedding taking place out on the lake. This is close to several cities, like Helen, GA, Hayesville and Franklin, NC. Also a nice drive to the Highlands which is very scenic with waterfalls and great shops in the town square. They were delighted with their stay, and the "8 o'clock smores around the fireplace" in the massive lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing the gift of a visit to our resort for your grandson and his family. We are delighted that they enjoyed their stay with us. I truly appreciate your sharing their experience with us. I hope that you, too, will be able to treat yourselves to a visit to our special lakeside mountain lodge soon! We would love to share some s'mores around the bonfire with you as well!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridges Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridges Resort & Marina

Address: 3499 Highway 76 West, Hiawassee, GA 30582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridges Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the peaceful shores of Lake Chatuge in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia, you'll find the scenic escape of The Ridges Resort & Marina. Just two hours from Atlanta, our lakeside oasis is filled with recreational activities from boating to championship golf. Whether you're looking to recharge, spend some family time, or find the perfect corporate retreat, choose The Ridges Resort & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Ridges Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridges Resort And Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina Hotel Hiawassee
Ridges Hotel Hiawassee
Fieldstone Resort Hiawassee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridges Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.