We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Meadows Grill

Bear Meadows Grill
715 N Main St, Hiawassee, GA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: Telephone (706) 896-0520
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone (706) 896-0520
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Big disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

My family and I were starving for dinner and used tripadvisor to find a place for dinner. We passed up places ranked higher than this place and ended up here. Our waitress sat us down and took at least 10 minutes to come back for our drink orders. Once after she brought our drinks out she said she'd be right back to take our order.. At least 15 minutes had passed. We thought about getting up and leaving. Throughout our entire meal she was extremely inattentive and never once came out to see how we were or if we needed anything. My sister even had to walk inside and ask the hostess for some BBQ sauce.

The food was nothing spectacular. I ordered the grilled chicken sandwich and that's what I got. Grilled chicken on a bun with tomato and lettuce. Again, it was nothing special. Disappointing menu overall. I wouldn't go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

So excited to find fried green tomatoes on the menu, but they were a disappointment. They have more batter than tomato :( The rest of the food was good, but nothing special. I placed a special order for my son and they were very accommodating. Unfortunately, we arrived on a night that they host a private party that has a trivia night. There are several other restaurants in town, so I don't think we'll be going back to Bear Meadows.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

GREAT burgers......taste like they just came off the grill!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food - Fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you are looking for consistently good food, you have arrived.

It is difficult to select a favorite entree because we are fond of so many. The half pound hamburger is the best buy in town. Co-owner and chef Al was known for his burgers in South Florida. He has now shared that skill with the North Georgia Mountains. The fried clam dinner is unparalleled anywhere. But then again so are the barbeque ribs and chicken wings. You must also try Al's special cole slaw.

Co-owners Christine and Al have created an atmosphere that is unique in the professional circuits. People gravitate to Bear Meadows because it is obvious that you are welcome there and not just because of the business you bring.

Treat yourself to a meal at Bear Meadows. You will be glad that you did.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The owners, Christine and Al are the most friendly people as are their wait staff. Christine manages the dining room which is tastefully decorated and Al manages the kitchen. We go there quite often and have never had a bad meal. The ribs are outta this world - fall right off the bone and the salads are great too. Then, there's this brownie sunday dessert that's awsome. Great to share w/ a cup of coffee w/ your sweetie!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Meadows Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bear Meadows Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Meadows Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.