We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Meadows Grill

Bear Meadows Grill
715 N Main St, Hiawassee, GA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Cuisines: American
Description: Telephone (706) 896-0520
Restaurant details
Description: Telephone (706) 896-0520
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

So excited to find fried green tomatoes on the menu, but they were a disappointment. They have more batter than tomato :( The rest of the food was good, but nothing special. I placed a special order for my son and they were very accommodating. Unfortunately, we arrived on a night that they host a private party that has a trivia night. There are several other restaurants in town, so I don't think we'll be going back to Bear Meadows.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

GREAT burgers......taste like they just came off the grill!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food - Fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you are looking for consistently good food, you have arrived.

It is difficult to select a favorite entree because we are fond of so many. The half pound hamburger is the best buy in town. Co-owner and chef Al was known for his burgers in South Florida. He has now shared that skill with the North Georgia Mountains. The fried clam dinner is unparalleled anywhere. But then again so are the barbeque ribs and chicken wings. You must also try Al's special cole slaw.

Co-owners Christine and Al have created an atmosphere that is unique in the professional circuits. People gravitate to Bear Meadows because it is obvious that you are welcome there and not just because of the business you bring.

Treat yourself to a meal at Bear Meadows. You will be glad that you did.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The owners, Christine and Al are the most friendly people as are their wait staff. Christine manages the dining room which is tastefully decorated and Al manages the kitchen. We go there quite often and have never had a bad meal. The ribs are outta this world - fall right off the bone and the salads are great too. Then, there's this brownie sunday dessert that's awsome. Great to share w/ a cup of coffee w/ your sweetie!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Special dishes each night. Nice pieces of cod for the fish and chips. Good merlot at reasonable price. Very clean with outstanding service. Trivia on Tuesday evenings. Staff works very hard to make sure customer is satisfied. Glad to have this restaurant in Hiawassee. We will return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Meadows Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bear Meadows Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Meadows Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.