We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer get away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Hialeah, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“summer get away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

close to water and pink buses who take you to the river. Hotel is dated but clean and safe. Restaurants close early. fun place For the price you pay is good. For Luxury is not but we went to sleep only so it sues our need and did not brake the bank

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your response and thank you for letting others know where we are located. The owners are working on getting updates for the rooms. Sometimes, it can seem to be a slow process, however, they are working on getting updates for all the rooms, like flat screen TVs and such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    19
    8
    39
See reviews for
40
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a great place for location everything was near by and we had the best time . Front desk staff was very accommodating and check in was quick . Breakfast bar was great and had ample selections for food even had bananas . It was a little out dated but nice and the room was huge I thought that was great .

Room Tip: Check with office about Internet security !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so glad that you had so much fun. Thank you so much for sharing that with us and our other customers. We hope that you have a chance to come visit with us again and that the next time is just as good as this one or even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, GA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are a college student on spring break you might be able to suffer through this motel - otherwise AVOID IT! The rooms were dirty, the bath towels were transparent, and the soap was a joke! My husband and I stayed two nights (we did not make the reservations - another couple did it) and did not even receive clean towels for the second day. And, yes, we had placed the first day's towels on the floor. Of course, no clean sheets or shampoo or anything else was replaced. The same "care" was given to the other couple but they called downstairs to complain and received everything. My husband went downstairs to the desk but the older lady was eating at the desk and there was a young child there so he came back to the room. There was a "superior" continental breakfast - the milk for the cereal was dated a month old - and the tables were not cleaned off either morning (sticky and nasty). We could not wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: not at this location - but there is a Jameson Inn around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your response. It helps to know where we need to improve on. We do want to apologize for the stay that you had. Not having a proper clean room or room service. We have been going though staffing difficulties. Which is no excuse for the unclean room that you had or not having room service. All these issues has been brought to the attention of the owner and we are working on improving our staff, along in getting them properly trained. As far as the towels, the owner is ordering new towels, sheets, pillow cases and etc.
Again thank you for your response. We truly apologize again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is nasty! Upon check in the lady wanted to jack up the price from what was quoted! Another couple was there and the same thing happened to them. I went to check in and the room is SOOOOOOOO old and I requested a NON smoking room and I walked in the room and it smelled like someone just lit one up in there! DO NOT GO HERE your wasting your money and it is not closed to the shops!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
All opinions matter to us, even yours. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It has been brought to the attention of owners about the price difference. As far as the smoke smell in the room, we do inform the customers that they are in a non-smoking room, however, sometimes, some how it doesn't stop them from doing it. We do charge them and do our best to get the smell out. It is difficult to get that smell out in just a few hours. We do apologize. We also try to switch out the rooms if you are unhappy with the room, if possible and available.
Again thank you for your response and we do again apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

People always want to look at the negative side of everything, and never see a positive. Whenever we have stayed at the Econolodge, as a matter of fact this past Thursday night, We found our room to be very clean, welcoming, and the Housekeeping Staff the next morning to be very nice, polite, and considerate to our needs as well. The Front Desk Staff, what a wonderful job, from the breakfast they assisted with, to the time of our checkout. Maybe This Person "Debbie242" didnt sleep well the night prior, or she just needed to go to another hotel, that would fit her specific needs better such as the Walddorf Astoria,or something similiar.
Myself and my Family has been coming to this hotel, ever since this used to be the Comfort Inn back some years ago, and the Quality of our stay has not decreased what so ever. There was a Gentleman Manager back then named Stephen, and he had an Assistant Manager also back then her name was Debbie also, real pretty older lady at the time. Still as for me and my family we so thankful that Helen has the Econolodge in its city as a wonderful motel business. I did this past Thursday notice that the entire motel staff has changed, except for the motel owner and his wife, everyone else that was there, even the lady that was at the front desk (Dawn) is now gone. I guess changes have been made, good or better who is to say, but go by Econolodge, after all "Seeing is Believing"..............Happy Family"

Room Tip: Both sides on the ground floor are the best rooms, one side is the pool side, the other side is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate your loyal business. We try to keep our customers happy. We look forward to your next visit. We do hope that it is as good if not better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The worst of the worst!!! The place is so dirty - carpet is really bad - bed sheets are nasty - pillows are stained - the furniture is in bad condition. The parking lot had a lot of cigarette's on the ground - trash in the trash cans over flowing - the grass had not been cut. The breakfast bar was dirty. The breakfast containers looked like they had not been cleaned in a few years! The lobby restroom was so dirty. No soap or towels in there either. Drive by this place!!! And the stories the employees could tell about the place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Your opinion matters, thank you for the review. It helps to know where we need to improve. We do sincerely apologize for the stay that you had with us. Your review has been brought to the attention of the owners. They are working on getting the hotel properly staffed. The hotel has been having some staffing problems. The owners have also been ordering new supplies for the hotel. We do apologize again for the inconvenience. We do appreciate you letting us know about your stay, so we can do our best to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Front Desk Girl was GREAT we got there kinda late on a Friday night & were ready for bed she was very quick getting our information, checking us in, & getting us our keys. She deserves a raise for sure, I mean I don't know what the girl makes but she is awesome at what she does & I'm all about giving credit where credit is due! Thanks to my insomnia I slept for about 3 hrs & woke up wanting to tell her what a good job she did last night so I found this review sight & started typing. =)) I can't remember her name but she was the only one besides who I assume was the owners at the front desk Friday June 21, 2013!! =)) Thanks for great service!! We may even stay a second night after I try & talk my husband into it in the morning! =)) We LOVE Helen!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. I am showing this to my boss to see if it works in getting a raise. Ha Ha not likely, however, thank you. I really enjoy meeting new people and enjoy my customers, getting to know them and how I can help them enjoy themselves more. The customers make my day and my job. The customers make my job worth it. I look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen near Unicoi State Park, Piedmont College and Truett-McConnell College,features spacious guest rooms that has standard features hairdryers, coffeemakers, refrigerators, wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, and cable television. Some rooms have whirlpool bathtubs. Seasonal outdoor pool, and a meeting room are available at Hotel Helen GA. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is located in Alpine Helen, GA at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest. You'll find Downtown Alpine Helen with all its shops, restaurants, attractions and the Helen Festhalle a short 2 minute drive from the hotel. The Swiss inspired accommodations of the Econolodge await your arrival in scenic White County, GA located alongside the Chattahoochee River. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is adjacent to the new Helen Water Park and only minutes from Unicoi State Park, Anna Ruby Falls and the Cabbage Patch Kids Babyland General Hospital. Whether shopping in one of the many local Artisans shops, tubing down the Chattahoochee River, hiking up to Anna Ruby Falls or golfing at Innsbruck a pleasant nights stay will round out the enjoyment of a day well spent. The Econo Lodge Hotel near Chattahoochee offers all guests complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Deluxe Continental Breakfast and USA Today. Every room offers an iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, hairdryer and 25" TV with premium cable making you feel at home the minute you arrive. Centrally located in Helen Georgia, the Econo Lodge is your perfect lodging choice for a wonderful trip to Alpine Helen and the upstate Chattahoochee Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Helen
Econo Lodge Helen
Helen Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.