We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dawn rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Helen
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dawn rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We came to Helen last night from Atlanta, GA for the first time ever. On our way here we ended up hitting a deer and damaging the side of the car. We were already so upset about that, then we pulled into a hotel close to this one. I won't get into details but it was so awful we ended up checking out before showering in the morning because of how filthy the place was. I checked online for a different hotel nearby and stopped by here. We were greeted by Dawn at the front desk. Man, she has excellent customer service! She got us a room and I had never been so happy about staying at an Econolodge. Everything is clean, towels are clean, AC works, tv works, clean bed sheets, plenty of parking, close to everything. We went downstairs to get something and Dawn came out on her break and hung out out with us. :) We will definitely be staying here every single time we come up here. Thank you Dawn for saving our first weekend in Helen!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you guys for all the great comments. We are so sorry that your weekend started out bad. We do hope that you got your car fixed. As far as me (Dawn) hanging out with you, I enjoyed it a lot. We do hope that when you come back that come back and visit us. Oh make sure you say hello to me. Thanks so much for the comments glad that I made your weekend better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    18
    6
    32
See reviews for
35
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Ended up spending three nights at this establishment, even though we had booked only one night through Travelocity up front. They gave us a good rate on extra nights (I have had times when rates skyrocket later). The rooms were clean. only complaints is no extra toilet paper or tissues in the rooms, so have to ask each day for more supplies. the fridge did not have a freezer section to freeze our ice pack for our cooler. (not an issue for some, i'm sure).Internet went down a couple of times, but came right back up and worked well (and fast) most of the time. Our GPS couldn't find the hotel and we missed the sign on the main street (can't see from hotel from there). Welcome Center was opened and helped us find it. but you might want to write down directions and not depend on the GPS. Couldn't beat the price for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so glad that you decided to stay with us and stay the extra nights with us. We want to thank you for your comments. We know now that we need to keep extras around for people staying longer than a day, thank you for that. We also could have given you more. I really don't know why you didn't, however, the next time you come visit, we will be sure if you are staying more than one night that you have everything that you need. As far as not having a freezer, we would have been happy to put your ice packs in our freezers. We have done that for our customers before and when they leave they pick them up. We do hope that you come back soon to see us. We would be very happy to store your ice packs for you, just ask the front desk to do so. We have a freezer in the office.
Thank you again for your comments, it really does help and we do try to listen to our customers and what they say.
Come back soon, now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillard, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed two nights while we were there. Staff was very friendly and eager to help, even enjoyed our daughters being there. Room was spacious and very clean. Had no problem getting extra towels or anything even at late hours. Breakfast was good, nice variety. Overall great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 106, close to the office for added convenience. very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the comment. It does help us to know what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you come back to visit again soon. Give us a call anytime.
As far as your daughter, I (Dawn) love children and have grandchildren of my own. They are my world, I know how important it is to also keep the children happy. If it were up to me all of them would be spoiled rotten when they leave here. However, I have to respect the wishes of mommas. You guys come anytime you want to and bring that beautiful princess anytime. I'll be happy to spoil her. dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Started off by not having a bottom floor room available to us. After we requested that we had to have one because of all the stairs....Room wasn't clean!!...Carpet was nasty & sticky feeling to bare feet. Sheets made you itch. Fridge didn't work & left a horrible smell in the room. Bathroom needed to be bleached!!....Worse hotel my family has ever stayed in!!!!

Room Tip: Would not recommended no one to stay here!! Nasty doesn't begin to cover this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your response. It helps us to know where we need to improve. We are so sorry about your experience. Our rooms are not normally like that. At the time you were here we were experiencing staffing problems. I know that is no excuse for what you encountered here at Econo Lodge and we are truly sorry for all the problems. We are fully sfaffed now and we have very wonderful housekeepers now. We are training them properly. As far as the bottom floor problem, a lot of times the company's do not make not or inform our hotel. It is a good idea to contact the hotel directly for special request to be sure that you get what you need and want. We are so sorry about not having a room on the bottom floor for you. Please call the hotel directly if you would like to give us another chance. I do hope that you would changer your mind and give us another chance to help you experience Helen again. Again we apologize for your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and simple, and the beds were comfortable. The complementary breakfast was great- cereal, muffins, fruit, bagels, oatmeal, and juice. But the best part of our stay was Dawn, the wonderful woman at the front desk. She was so courteous and accommodating to us and made our stay more pleasant. I'd come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the comments. We are so glad that you and your brother enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you the next time you are in town.
I also enjoyed having you and your brother stay here. You two were a delight. Hope to see you soon.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOTHAN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very nice and she had no problem showing us the room we were getting in advance so we could decide. She also gave us a very good nightly rate so we decided to stay both our nights here instead of traveling further and staying in another town. The whole stay was wonderful. Area was quiet, room was clean and smelled fresh when we went in. We did not do breakfast here but the lady gave us all the details when we checked in. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we visit Helen in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115..cant speak for the other but it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the comment. We are so please that you decided to stay the 2 nights with us. We had no problem showing the room in advance. Our goal is to make you happy and to try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We do hope to see you again, hope that your next stay is just as pleasant. Thank you for staying with us. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I went here on our weekend getaway trip with my husband. The check-in process was easy and the price was good.room was tidy but not as clean as I wouldn't prefer. Tray that the cups and soap sit on was dirty and had a dead bug on it. I didn't need the cups or soap so that wasn't a huge deal but it was less than desirable. Overall the stay was good and the location is great for tubing pickup. Cleaning could be a little better but I would still consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, it helps to know where we need to improve. I will be sure to bring, the room not being clean enough, to the attention of the owners. We are going through a staff change right now. I am so sorry that the room was not up to standers. We are working on getting the right staff and training them properly. I do hope that you do give us another chance. We are working on improving, and your review helps to know where.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-0405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen near Unicoi State Park, Piedmont College and Truett-McConnell College,features spacious guest rooms that has standard features hairdryers, coffeemakers, refrigerators, wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, and cable television. Some rooms have whirlpool bathtubs. Seasonal outdoor pool, and a meeting room are available at Hotel Helen GA. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is located in Alpine Helen, GA at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest. You'll find Downtown Alpine Helen with all its shops, restaurants, attractions and the Helen Festhalle a short 2 minute drive from the hotel. The Swiss inspired accommodations of the Econolodge await your arrival in scenic White County, GA located alongside the Chattahoochee River. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is adjacent to the new Helen Water Park and only minutes from Unicoi State Park, Anna Ruby Falls and the Cabbage Patch Kids Babyland General Hospital. Whether shopping in one of the many local Artisans shops, tubing down the Chattahoochee River, hiking up to Anna Ruby Falls or golfing at Innsbruck a pleasant nights stay will round out the enjoyment of a day well spent. The Econo Lodge Hotel near Chattahoochee offers all guests complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Deluxe Continental Breakfast and USA Today. Every room offers an iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, hairdryer and 25" TV with premium cable making you feel at home the minute you arrive. Centrally located in Helen Georgia, the Econo Lodge is your perfect lodging choice for a wonderful trip to Alpine Helen and the upstate Chattahoochee Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Helen
Econo Lodge Helen
Helen Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.